User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: IP QoS ?

  1. #1
    Banned
    • TaherTheRetard's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • CPU:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • RAM:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Hard Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Graphics Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Display:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Sound Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Keyboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Mouse:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Controller:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Power Supply:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Optical Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • UPS:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Operating System:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Comment:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • ISP:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Download Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Upload Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Console:
      • 136

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    2,880

    Default IP QoS ?

    Can anyone explain how you can use this to game online and also download on other device from the same internet connection and router ?

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    AFAIK QoS is a net prioritizing setting. you can select which services should get the faster and greater bandwidth. like if you frequently use skype you can select VoIP as highest or high, if you frequently play online games select that. or if you watch online videos, select that. you should give high priority to the service(s) you frequently use. or there's mac address option. if you use your android phone frequently than you can type in its mac address and give it maximum bandwidth.

    - - - Updated - - -

    here read this: http://lifehacker.com/5833254/know-y...complete-guide
    My probable next build: Qisan MagicForce 68 (Outemu switch) / Teamwolf Zhuque+ 87 TKL (Outemu) / Monoprice Select series full size (Outemu/Gateron) / Drevo Gramr 84 TKL (Outemu) • Logitech G102 Prodigy • Deepcool Dukase V3 / Thermaltake Versa U21 • Superlux HD 681 • Creative Sound Blaster E1 • LG 22MP68VQ • SteelSeries QcK • Generic executive chair • others TBA

    djrock please don't bother me. You are in my ignore list so I don't have to see literal poop.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    I use IP QoS, dubbed as Bandwidth Management on my TP-Link router to play games when other people on my house uses internet. It does reduce lags, but cannot completely eliminate them. If I turn it off and try to play league of legends and someone on another computer opens youtube, my game would completely freeze or disconnect. But with bandwidth control on, the ping goes from 100 to 200 with high zitter, but at least I don't die untill I get them to stop using youtube.

  4. #4
    Banned
    • TaherTheRetard's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • CPU:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • RAM:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Hard Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Graphics Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Display:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Sound Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Keyboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Mouse:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Controller:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Power Supply:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Optical Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • UPS:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Operating System:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Comment:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • ISP:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Download Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Upload Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Console:
      • 136

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    2,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    I use IP QoS, dubbed as Bandwidth Management on my TP-Link router to play games when other people on my house uses internet. It does reduce lags, but cannot completely eliminate them. If I turn it off and try to play league of legends and someone on another computer opens youtube, my game would completely freeze or disconnect. But with bandwidth control on, the ping goes from 100 to 200 with high zitter, but at least I don't die untill I get them to stop using youtube.
    can you show me the steps?

  5. #5
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gentleman View Post
    can you show me the steps?
    What is your router model, and ISP bandwidth?

  6. #6
    Banned
    • TaherTheRetard's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • CPU:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • RAM:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Hard Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Graphics Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Display:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Sound Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Keyboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Mouse:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Controller:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Power Supply:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Optical Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • UPS:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Operating System:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Comment:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • ISP:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Download Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Upload Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Console:
      • 136

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    2,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    What is your router model, and ISP bandwidth?
    tp link TL WR720N

  7. #7
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    First you should go to the DHCP section on your router and assign fixed IP against the MAC address of each of the devices you connect to the router.

    Then go to the IP QoS settings, tick enable IP QoS and set "Choose Bandwidth Type" to other (I'm assuming you have broadband connection, not BTCL ADSL).

    Then the tricky part. Put the speed of your connection in kilobit per second in "Bandwidth Apply" box. If your line is 1 Mbps, putting 1000 there would be standard. But still, if your connection speed sometimes drop lower than the value you have put there IP QoS will stop working. So it is advisable to put the value a bit lower. I put 1450 for my 1.5 Mbps line, because I know that my connection speed stays above 1450 80% of times. But here is the catch, if you put lower value here, the total bandwidth the router provides to your devices would never go above that. So, you'd have to find the right value for you. And finally, you have BDIX, like 1Mbps international 10Mbps BDIX something, this would go really complicated and you might not be able to use IP QoS without sacrificing the BDIX speed.

    Then in the list below, enter the IP range valuse for different entries, such that the different devices goes into different ranges you are putting here. You might have to set the DHCP reservations on the first step so that you can make the required ranges easily here.

    Finally, put the minimum bandwidths for the ranges. The sum of the minimum bandwidths should be lower or equal to the "Bandwidth Apply" you've set previously.

  8. #8
    Banned
    • TaherTheRetard's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • CPU:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • RAM:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Hard Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Graphics Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Display:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Sound Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Keyboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Mouse:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Controller:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Power Supply:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Optical Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • UPS:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Operating System:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Comment:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • ISP:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Download Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Upload Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Console:
      • 136

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    2,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    First you should go to the DHCP section on your router and assign fixed IP against the MAC address of each of the devices you connect to the router.

    Then go to the IP QoS settings, tick enable IP QoS and set "Choose Bandwidth Type" to other (I'm assuming you have broadband connection, not BTCL ADSL).

    Then the tricky part. Put the speed of your connection in kilobit per second in "Bandwidth Apply" box. If your line is 1 Mbps, putting 1000 there would be standard. But still, if your connection speed sometimes drop lower than the value you have put there IP QoS will stop working. So it is advisable to put the value a bit lower. I put 1450 for my 1.5 Mbps line, because I know that my connection speed stays above 1450 80% of times. But here is the catch, if you put lower value here, the total bandwidth the router provides to your devices would never go above that. So, you'd have to find the right value for you. And finally, you have BDIX, like 1Mbps international 10Mbps BDIX something, this would go really complicated and you might not be able to use IP QoS without sacrificing the BDIX speed.

    Then in the list below, enter the IP range valuse for different entries, such that the different devices goes into different ranges you are putting here. You might have to set the DHCP reservations on the first step so that you can make the required ranges easily here.

    Finally, put the minimum bandwidths for the ranges. The sum of the minimum bandwidths should be lower or equal to the "Bandwidth Apply" you've set previously.
    I skipped this step and assigned a fixed ip from here. Is this ok?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	imaage004.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	28.3 KB 
ID:	34483

  9. #9
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gentleman View Post
    I skipped this step and assigned a fixed ip from here. Is this ok?
    Nope. It'll work just fine.

  10. #10
    Banned
    • TaherTheRetard's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • CPU:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • RAM:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Hard Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Graphics Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Display:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Sound Card:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Keyboard:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Mouse:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Controller:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Power Supply:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Optical Drive:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • UPS:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Operating System:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Comment:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • ISP:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Download Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Upload Speed:
      • CONSOLE MASTER RACE
      • Console:
      • 136

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Khilgaon
    Posts
    2,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    Nope. It'll work just fine.
    i am guessing this is what you meant

    Quote Originally Posted by aaz_swapnil View Post
    It'll work just fine.

    btw tried playing lol with qos on 614kb line dividing it in 200kb and 400kb. I tried downloading something on one pc and tried playing lol on the other one. Had small lags but its negligible but what I noticed that the speed was actually 26kb less than the value i assigned on the qos page. Any idea why ?

    and the isp provides youtube without buffering feature(4MB). If both pc is using youtube how will this work?

  11. #11
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gentleman View Post
    btw tried playing lol with qos on 614kb line dividing it in 200kb and 400kb. I tried downloading something on one pc and tried playing lol on the other one. Had small lags but its negligible but what I noticed that the speed was actually 26kb less than the value i assigned on the qos page. Any idea why ?
    Is it 26Kb lower than the assigned 614 Kb? That might be unavoidable as it is a limitation for the QoS algorithms. I've set 1450Kbps and I get 1300-1400Kbps usually when QoS turned on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gentleman View Post
    and the isp provides youtube without buffering feature(4MB). If both pc is using youtube how will this work?
    If you've set the overall bandwidth to 614Kbps then none of the PC will get the 4MBps speed on youtube. Only 614Kbps will be divided between your two PC's. Or if only one PC is using internet it will get 614 Kbps only. To get the 4MBps speed you would have to temporarily turn of IP QoS, or temporarily change the available bandwidth to 4MBps. And when you set the overall bandwidth to 4MBps, any usage other than youtube will cause lag on your game. I face same problem with my 4Mbps BDIX. There is nothing to do, even advanced firmwares like tomato or DD-WRT cannot solve this. Some super advanced cisco routers with proprietory technology can solve this, but they are out of question considering their price.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.22588 seconds with 14 queries.