User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

  1. #1
    Member
    • |Blaze|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DX 58SO Extreme
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 930 OCed to 3.4 Ghz (Stock: 2.8 GHZ)
      • RAM:
      • Transcend DDR3 1333 DIM 2GB 3X = 6 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2X 500 Gb Hitachi SATA 16 Mb Cache
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD6970
      • Display:
      • ViewSonic VX1937WM 19'' LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 5.1 T-Series (6200) / TT Shock One
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Luxemate 525
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga / Razer DA
      • Power Supply:
      • XFX ProSeries 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 22 X DVDR/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB (Flash Drive), Transcend 1 TB PHDD.
      • UPS:
      • Ideal 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 5.9 WEI
      • Comment:
      • "Good" enough.
      • ISP:
      • Ollo, AIT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64, 34
      • Upload Speed:
      • 16, 38
      • Console:
      • 132
    |Blaze|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    171

    Default Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Well after i got the new rig , both my PCS are next to each other connected by LAN 9not directly but rather the DSL cable was divided into two by the cable guy -.-) They are now connected via homegroup. So.. the new PC is connected to the net via WAN PPPoE (Dialing with a username and pass) , and I want the other PC to to be able to use the same net but rather shared... So any help pls ?

  2. #2
    Member
    • |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz. LGA1366 Bloomfield with 8MB L3 Cache and 4.8GT/s QPI
      • RAM:
      • 3x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz. Performance RAM in triple channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 160GB SATA II HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Spaahire Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung T220 22" LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 8-channel HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-4 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Dell Laptop Mouse 800Dpi
      • Controller:
      • Clone PS2 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair TX650W PSU
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 20X Dual-Layer DVD-Burner with LightScribe; Lite-on 16X DVD-ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StorJet C 500GB & WD Elements 160GB
      • UPS:
      • Well 1200VA Generic
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Experience Index: 5.8(HDD); rest are 7.5+
      • Comment:
      • Too much for me!
      • ISP:
      • Mango TeleServices
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40Kbps
    |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Judging your situation...Mmm...Use Nat32! Yes currently Nat32 or an internet connection sharing (ICS) soft can solve your problem. Just Google it. The free (trial) version will work fine without much limitations. Both PCs have to be on. The process is described below:

    1) Install Nat32 in the pc with internet connection. On the interface screen, do the following.
    2) Select the PPPoE connection first(not the old PC-new PC LAN one) and set it as the internet gateway.
    3) Select the "old PC-new PC LAN" and set it as the private gateway. Leave the rest of the settings as is. Once set up, a box will come on the lower right corner f screen.
    4) Write down the default gateway address from the box and if shown the DNS server address too.
    5) On the other PC do not install Nat32. Just change the IP (OR IPv4) settings:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IP.JPG 
Views:	27 
Size:	99.2 KB 
ID:	2876
    Use an IP address next to the default gateway written down earlier (e.g. If default gateway is 192.168.1.1 use IP 192.168.1.2)
    The subnet mask will come automatically
    The DNS server should be same as default gateway (Or otherwise if DNS server was noted down earlier)
    6) Save the settings and keep both PCs on
    7) Go to google.com and test if internet is set up correctly
    8)Voila!

    N.B. Things would have been much simpler if only you had a router.

  3. #3
    Member
    • |Blaze|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DX 58SO Extreme
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 930 OCed to 3.4 Ghz (Stock: 2.8 GHZ)
      • RAM:
      • Transcend DDR3 1333 DIM 2GB 3X = 6 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2X 500 Gb Hitachi SATA 16 Mb Cache
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD6970
      • Display:
      • ViewSonic VX1937WM 19'' LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 5.1 T-Series (6200) / TT Shock One
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Luxemate 525
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga / Razer DA
      • Power Supply:
      • XFX ProSeries 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 22 X DVDR/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB (Flash Drive), Transcend 1 TB PHDD.
      • UPS:
      • Ideal 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 5.9 WEI
      • Comment:
      • &quot;Good&quot; enough.
      • ISP:
      • Ollo, AIT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64, 34
      • Upload Speed:
      • 16, 38
      • Console:
      • 132
    |Blaze|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Will give it a try

  4. #4
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19&quot; wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Use CCProxy, Its easy and hassle-free!!
    * বাংলাগেমার IRC Chat ব্যাবহার করুন, IRC খুব সামান্য ব্যান্ডউইথ ব্যাবহার করে।
    * কোন পোষ্ট ভাল লাগলে Rep+ দিয়ে পোষ্টারকে উৎসাহিত করুন।


  5. #5
    Member
    • |Blaze|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DX 58SO Extreme
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 930 OCed to 3.4 Ghz (Stock: 2.8 GHZ)
      • RAM:
      • Transcend DDR3 1333 DIM 2GB 3X = 6 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2X 500 Gb Hitachi SATA 16 Mb Cache
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD6970
      • Display:
      • ViewSonic VX1937WM 19'' LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 5.1 T-Series (6200) / TT Shock One
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Luxemate 525
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga / Razer DA
      • Power Supply:
      • XFX ProSeries 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 22 X DVDR/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB (Flash Drive), Transcend 1 TB PHDD.
      • UPS:
      • Ideal 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 5.9 WEI
      • Comment:
      • &quot;Good&quot; enough.
      • ISP:
      • Ollo, AIT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64, 34
      • Upload Speed:
      • 16, 38
      • Console:
      • 132
    |Blaze|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	246.7 KB 
ID:	2877 This is what it looks like on the new PC with the connection... hmmm

  6. #6
    Member
    • |Blaze|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DX 58SO Extreme
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 930 OCed to 3.4 Ghz (Stock: 2.8 GHZ)
      • RAM:
      • Transcend DDR3 1333 DIM 2GB 3X = 6 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 2X 500 Gb Hitachi SATA 16 Mb Cache
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD6970
      • Display:
      • ViewSonic VX1937WM 19'' LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS 5.1 T-Series (6200) / TT Shock One
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Luxemate 525
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga / Razer DA
      • Power Supply:
      • XFX ProSeries 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 22 X DVDR/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB (Flash Drive), Transcend 1 TB PHDD.
      • UPS:
      • Ideal 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 5.9 WEI
      • Comment:
      • &quot;Good&quot; enough.
      • ISP:
      • Ollo, AIT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64, 34
      • Upload Speed:
      • 16, 38
      • Console:
      • 132
    |Blaze|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    @ Amarex , care to explain the setup steps pls ?

  7. #7
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19&quot; wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Quote Originally Posted by blazephoenix View Post
    @ Amarex , care to explain the setup steps pls ?
    Setup process with CCProxy is really simple. Just install this software in the main pc (where the primary/main net connection will b used), run it and explore the options. See the help files for details. Best thing about this is, others PCs need no software even CCProxy, just setup a proxy path, plus you can limit the BW, add username/pass, or mac based filtering!!
    * বাংলাগেমার IRC Chat ব্যাবহার করুন, IRC খুব সামান্য ব্যান্ডউইথ ব্যাবহার করে।
    * কোন পোষ্ট ভাল লাগলে Rep+ দিয়ে পোষ্টারকে উৎসাহিত করুন।


  8. #8
    Member
    • |-&lt;NOSALIS&gt;-|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz. LGA1366 Bloomfield with 8MB L3 Cache and 4.8GT/s QPI
      • RAM:
      • 3x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz. Performance RAM in triple channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 160GB SATA II HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Spaahire Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung T220 22&quot; LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 8-channel HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-4 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Dell Laptop Mouse 800Dpi
      • Controller:
      • Clone PS2 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair TX650W PSU
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 20X Dual-Layer DVD-Burner with LightScribe; Lite-on 16X DVD-ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StorJet C 500GB &amp; WD Elements 160GB
      • UPS:
      • Well 1200VA Generic
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Experience Index: 5.8(HDD); rest are 7.5+
      • Comment:
      • Too much for me!
      • ISP:
      • Mango TeleServices
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40Kbps
    |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    @AmareX No Nat sharing software requires you to set up the same software on the other PC.

    @Blazaphoenix Bro I guess you have a little problem. Go to Start>All Programs>NAT32>NAT32 Config. When selecting the primary interface (internet gateway) do not select the dialup connection. Select the LAN through which you dial up. Hope you get it. Then on secondary interface, select the "new pc-old pc connection" and on the same screen, on the lower right corner there will be a checkbox indicating "Use this adapter as private interface". Select that checkbox. Click next and leave other settings as default. Now you will get the screen you have posted above. This time instead of MTL, you will have something else. On a second line or so you will have "Default Gateway 192.168.x.x". Write that down.

    Go to the second PC. Go to IP settings. Set the IP that is next to the gateway. The subnet mask will come automatically. Set the default gateway here. The DNS server should be same as default gateway, usually. Click OK all the way and check if it works. I have tested it on at least 9 PCs or so on different networks and have recommended it to my friends. Inshallah it will work.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    Do u have lan card on both PC? if yes then simply make 1 crossed Cable. (just tell ur cable guy that u wana connect 2 pc DIRECTLY without any hub or switch)

    NO software is needed whatsoever. Since OS already has a feature to address your problem.

    Note that the PC with Net connection has to be on all the time. Now simply go to properties of the connection that holds the Internet access and select Allow this connection to be shared with other PC (you'll find something similar like this) This feature is built within the OS both in XP and windows 7 and is called ICS- Internet connection sharing. (u may wana check if the service is on in ur service list) (RUN>services.msc hit enter)

    As for the 2nd PC that will share the connection, simply leave everything to Automatic for IP and DNS.

    So basically what happens is the 2nd PC sees ur 1st PC(the one has direct net access) as a gateway. However if both the pcs are used the total Bandwidth will split between them. Therefore, this is completely legal and safe.
    Last edited by minitt; May 6th, 2010 at 01:31.

  10. #10
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5KPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Dual Core E5400
      • RAM:
      • Transcend + Kingston = 4 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 250 GB Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 + Samsung F3 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built-In
      • Display:
      • AOC F22 22&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Live 4.1/Logitech G35
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • Delux
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Lite Power 400 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • BUSTED !
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB
      • UPS:
      • DigitalX 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Gave up on PC......at least for now
      • ISP:
      • IS PROS
      • Download Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Average: 24 Kbps
      • Console:
      • 16
    йЦммєя³¹'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    +23° 45' 10.07", +90° 23' 5.39"
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    i put another LAN card in my PC
    Internet line comes and gets into my built-in LAN
    while another cable comes out of my 2nd LAN card
    and gets into the 2nd PC's LAN card
    now network guys tell me that the 2nd PC
    is suppose to get the Internet automatically
    but it doesn't btw, sharing is possible between the PCs but not Internet
    i don't know much about sharing and network guys don't know their
    way around windows seven much
    btw, both PCs are running Windows Seven
    and i did whatever minitt bhai said
    help would be really appreciated
    01000010011000010111101001101001011011100110011101100001001000010010000100100001 001000000011101001010000

  11. #11
    Member
    • |-&lt;NOSALIS&gt;-|'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz. LGA1366 Bloomfield with 8MB L3 Cache and 4.8GT/s QPI
      • RAM:
      • 3x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz. Performance RAM in triple channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 160GB SATA II HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Spaahire Radeon HD 4890OC 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung T220 22&quot; LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 8-channel HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-4 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Dell Laptop Mouse 800Dpi
      • Controller:
      • Clone PS2 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair TX650W PSU
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 20X Dual-Layer DVD-Burner with LightScribe; Lite-on 16X DVD-ROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend StorJet C 500GB &amp; WD Elements 160GB
      • UPS:
      • Well 1200VA Generic
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Windows Experience Index: 5.8(HDD); rest are 7.5+
      • Comment:
      • Too much for me!
      • ISP:
      • Mango TeleServices
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40Kbps
    |-<NOSALIS>-|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Connecting To The Internet through another PC (Need Help)

    You need to configure Windows ICS (internet connection sharing) first. Whatever you do before you configure it, you can't browse internet. Go to this link: http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/

Similar Threads

  1. GP Internet
    By Flame in forum ISP
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: June 1st, 2011, 19:42
  2. problem with connecting windows 7 to IS PROS
    By Arman.Zmn in forum Internet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 18th, 2009, 19:07
  3. Gp Internet
    By Shetu in forum ISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2009, 13:44
  4. abt gp internet
    By saadbillah in forum ISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 17th, 2009, 11:57
  5. HElp with gp internet
    By areek in forum Trash
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 27th, 2008, 14:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.25765 seconds with 15 queries.