User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: what does it mean cpu ration status unlocked

  1. #1

    Default what does it mean cpu ration status unlocked

    so i was moving around bios found out my core i3 cpu ratio status is unlocked what does it really mean

  2. #2
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrock View Post
    so i was moving around bios found out my core i3 cpu ratio status is unlocked what does it really mean
    it's probably the core clock multiplier. multiplying the FSB/bus with the core clock multiplier gives the clockspeed of the CPU.
    if u go to CPU-Z u can see the core speed, multiplier and bus speed.
    unlocked means that u can change it and get your CPU speeds higher (~overclocking). but this will heat your CPU and don't do it unless u have a good cooler.

    btw, which i3 do u have? afaik i3s are multiplier locked.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MusharratC View Post
    it's probably the core clock multiplier. multiplying the FSB/bus with the core clock multiplier gives the clockspeed of the CPU.
    if u go to CPU-Z u can see the core speed, multiplier and bus speed.
    unlocked means that u can change it and get your CPU speeds higher (~overclocking). but this will heat your CPU and don't do it unless u have a good cooler.

    btw, which i3 do u have? afaik i3s are multiplier locked.
    core i3 2120 but i don't see any k written anywhere in the bios .i have an overclocked mobo should i try some easy overclocking .is there any soft that help 2-3 mhz overclocking without going into detail

  4. #4
    Member
    • MusharratC's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990FXA G65
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 w/ CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1866MHz, 9-9-9-24-1T
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 840 Evo 250GB+WD Blue 1TB SATA3
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R7 260X 2GB GDDR5 OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Prachin JVC UX T1
      • Keyboard:
      • Havit something-something-don't-care
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g403, Mionix Naos 7000, Bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Almost ashol xb360c, Tepmara v2.1
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Dead Powertree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit Insider Preview
      • Comment:
      • An ALMOST decent rig!
      • ISP:
      • Evergreen Online Ltd.
    MusharratC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrock View Post
    core i3 2120 but i don't see any k written anywhere in the bios .i have an overclocked mobo should i try some easy overclocking .is there any soft that help 2-3 mhz overclocking without going into detail
    no i3 is overclockable afaik. but if your still interested read on.

    NOTE: i'm not really an expert in this so u might wanna take help from someone who knows a bit more about overclocking.

    anyway, imo it's best to overclock from the BIOS but if u "have to" use a software for CPU overclocking u might wanna check out Intel Desktop Control Center or motherboard overclocking softwares.

    also a 2-3 Mhz overclock won't really boost your CPU performance. but u might wanna do it just for the fun of it. try doing it by increasing the fsb/bus first. i'm NOT sure how an i3 has an unlocked multiplier or how will the chip react to change of multiplier.

    and REMEMBER overclocking will make your CPU generate more HEAT so make sure to have an eye on the temps and have good cooling.

  5. #5
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrock View Post
    so i was moving around bios found out my core i3 cpu ratio status is unlocked what does it really mean
    no i3 is overclock able.
    if the core clock of an i3 is 3.1GHz and does not have turbo boost like this

    then you can adjust its ratio upto 31(i guess).
    you can downclock ur cpu.

    and if u still want to overclock you can adjust the 100MHz base clock.
    but you wont get much from this.

    like 103MHz base clock, that will result in 31*103MHz=3193MHz.

Similar Threads

  1. Your FB Nation Status
    By Speed in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2011, 01:48
  2. about Status Message
    By s.a_rocky in forum Feedback
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2009, 21:07
  3. SC2 status update
    By CvP in forum Upcoming PC Titles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 18th, 2009, 03:34
  4. What is the current status of bd gamers ?
    By Insanity in forum CS: Source
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: December 25th, 2008, 02:31
  5. DotA 6.53 : Status Update by IceFrog
    By CvP in forum DotA Maps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 1st, 2008, 08:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17618 seconds with 14 queries.