User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: does wifi router need a pc to run?

  1. #1
    Member
    • genius's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GA-H61M-S2PV
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • 2gb 1333mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • hitachi 500gb 7200rpm
      • Display:
      • 19 inch
      • ISP:
      • teletalk 3G
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    100

    Default does wifi router need a pc to run?

    Do I need to run my PC along with the router?

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    You need a PC to configure it (if it doesn't configure automatically), once thats' done, you don't need the PC

  3. #3
    Member
    • Badhon_raj's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • G1.Sniper B6 / B75 D3H
      • CPU:
      • i5 4460 / i5 3470
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 / 3x4GB corsair XMS
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500GB Toshiba + 2TB WD Red / 1TB WD blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • HD 7770 GHz / R7 370
      • Display:
      • Philips 17'' 1440x900/ Samsung S22B300B
      • Sound Card:
      • on board / Asus Xonar DGX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic RP-HTF600 / Sony MH1c / Sony XB500
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech MK520 / K350
      • Mouse:
      • M510 / M570 + G400s
      • Controller:
      • Sony DualShock 4
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 500W / TT ToughPower 500w
      • Optical Drive:
      • DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Generic 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 / Win 10
      • ISP:
      • SB Internet
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Badhon_raj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,139

    Default

    you can change configurations from mobile phone as well. But for the initial setup, you'll need to connect via ethernet/lan port.

  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    Answer: Nope

    But for initial configuration, you need to access the control panel page of the router(using a PC connected via LAN/USB) to configure it with the internet connection you are using(Static IP, PPPoE, Dynamic IP) etc etc.

  5. #5
    Member Shoaib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Khulna
    Posts
    1,319

    Default

    বাংলালায়ন বা টেলিটকের মত USB মডেম ইউজ করতে কমপক্ষে কত দামের রাউটার লাগবে? (Sorry for hijacking your thread @genius )

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shoaib View Post
    বাংলালায়ন বা টেলিটকের মত USB মডেম ইউজ করতে কমপক্ষে কত দামের রাউটার লাগবে? (Sorry for hijacking your thread @genius )
    I have seen couple of modem that supports USB modem. Those modem has price range between 2000-3500

  7. #7
    Member Shoaib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Khulna
    Posts
    1,319

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LynAs View Post
    I have seen couple of modem that supports USB modem. Those modem has price range between 2000-3500
    Can you give some link?

  8. #8
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LynAs View Post
    I have seen couple of modem that supports USB modem. Those modem has price range between 2000-3500
    ami khujsilam age... pai nai
    name/link please

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Taher furious View Post
    ami khujsilam age... pai nai
    name/link please
    Quote Originally Posted by Shoaib View Post
    Can you give some link?
    TP link as far as i can remember. You should be able to get them from IDB

  10. #10
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Taher furious View Post
    ami khujsilam age... pai nai
    name/link please
    MR3220.

    Market price: 2.4K.

    Vanguard Price: ...... la cosa esta dura the women get down, if you know what I mean Call me. DALE!


Similar Threads

  1. Sale (Used) TP-LINK TL-W727N Wifi Receiver + 150Mbps Wifi B/G/N router
    By VANGUARD in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 11th, 2013, 10:20
  2. Want to buy a wifi router
    By maheer.dhruba in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: August 1st, 2013, 01:43
  3. Need help regarding WiFi Router
    By Noropishach in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 9th, 2012, 03:37
  4. Wifi router within 6.5k
    By ochin in forum Help - General Shopping
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 19th, 2012, 23:16
  5. Need Wifi Router within 3500tk
    By minitt in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 27th, 2010, 03:48

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21635 seconds with 14 queries.