User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Need help abt ocing Q8400

  1. #1
    Moderator
    • Red Devil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge @4.00 GHz with Corsair H75 LC
      • RAM:
      • AVEXIR - Core Series 8GB(4GBX2) 1600MHz @9-9-9-24
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD + Seagate Barracuda (4TB+3TB) HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 960 2GB
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H IPS Panel Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing expressionist ultra MX6021
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Bloody V9C/Razer Goliathus Fragged Control Edition
      • Controller:
      • XBOX One Wireless Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630M || Cooler Master HAF 912 Advance Mid Tower Case
      • Optical Drive:
      • Pioneer DVD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend V60 8GB, Apacer 2GB pen drive
      • UPS:
      • RahimAfroz 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10™ Pro 64 Bit
      • Comment:
      • My PC is my life......
      • ISP:
      • ICC
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4mbps
    Red Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,984

    Default Need help abt ocing Q8400

    guyz.......i want to OC my Q8400.
    i did OC my previous E8400.
    but point is this time i want to do it for a very large margin.........since i have very good cpu cooler.
    so i searched toms hardwere.......& find dis........

    "As long as the voltage applied to the CPU has not increased, the temperatures pretty much will not either.

    Install CoreTemp. Then run it. You will see a setting called VID. That's the default voltage for the chip. Lower is better. Intel's max voltage for a 45 nm CPU is 1.3625 volts. Subtract your VID from that. The difference is how much you can overvolt the CPU.

    Set your BIOS for the VID. Run the FSB up until the system is not stable. Increase the voltage a little, then increase the FSB. Test. Repeat until vcore reaches 1.3625 volts or the temps reach 70 C."


    actually i don't understand it clearly.......plz help me wid it......
    Last edited by Red Devil; November 29th, 2009 at 16:31.

  2. #2
    Member
    • MWApocalypse's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Apacer 3 GB (2 GB+ 1 GB @800 BUS)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX HD4850 512 MB Standard
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20" widescreen LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 400W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 24X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit edition Build 7600
      • Comment:
      • I fell in love with it...
      • ISP:
      • Deltasoft
      • Download Speed:
      • 20-35 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 35
    MWApocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Shewraphara, Dhaka
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Need help abt ocing Q8400

    bro...last para ta asholei confusing....kintu 2nd para r "Lower is Better"...ei kothata shotti....

    amar E5200 te volt initially chilo 1.275(BIOS theke)....tokhon stress test korale temp 100% load e 65 reach korto...kintu pore volt 1.1350 e namanote 100% load e highest 53 reach kore....and i did the stress test for 3 hours.....all this with just the stock cooler.....

    Apni jehetu valo ekta cooler lagaisen...tahole apni BIOS theke FSB baranor pore, voltage komiye stress test kore dekhen pore nahoi voltage bariye dekhlen....amar prothek voltage er jonno 2 hrs kore stress test korte hoisilo....ekporjaiye 1.1350 r niche volt setting dile PC r start hoto na.....tar mane oitai amar ideal voltage....r temperature o onek komse (prai 11 degree celsius)....ami oc korar shomoy shuru te voltage bariyechilam....kintu voltage baranur pore ami stress test 1 hr er beshi korte pari nai....ekporjaye BSOD (blue screen of death) ashto....kintu voltage komanor por e jotokkhon e stress test korechi BSOD ashe nai...r 1.1350 r niche namale to PC r start e hoto na.....

    Apnar jodi voltage komale prob hoi tahole apni voltage bariye stress test diyen...

    valo kotha apni kotho GHz e nite chacchen apnar CPU take?.....

  3. #3
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: Need help abt ocing Q8400

    That quote from tomshardware was written by a n00b. I wont go into details but there were quite a few mistakes. Basically, there is the FSB : DRAM ratio. Firstly, set it to the lowest DRAM speed at the 400 FSP Strap(important). At that ratio, slowly increase the FSB by 5mhz increments. Every 10mhz, go run OCCT for atleast 30mins. When u reach around 3ghz, you might need a bump in northbridge voltage and/or CPU core voltage. Increase them in minor increments (~0.05 max) until u reach stability. Keep in mind that if you do not need voltage, dont raise it, only raise it if theres instability.

    After 3ghz, you might also need to increase CPU PLL voltage(not usually needed at all for dual core CPU's mind u), along with the CPU vcore and northbridge volts further. In case of instability, increase them one at a time, see which one is required for stability. As usual, increase by a tiny amount. Things might start to look a bit shaky after 400fsb, but 450 should be doable provided your motherboard northbridge is upto the task

    I wouldnt want to increase voltages past the following points (regardless of your stock voltage):

    CPU VCore: 1.4 volts
    CPU PLL:1.5 volts
    Northbridge: 1.45
    FSB termination: 1.3 volts

    Btw, if by any chance the 400fsb strap doesnt work, try the 5:6 divider and 333mhz strap, see if that works. Itl have problems hitting beyond 400, but under that should be fine
    Last edited by Mazhar; November 30th, 2009 at 22:25.

Similar Threads

  1. OCing E7400
    By йЦммєя³¹ in forum CPU
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 15th, 2009, 15:45
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 8th, 2009, 00:40
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 23rd, 2009, 21:54
  4. Chekout my new PC!!!! :D.....need help OCing
    By bid_boi in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: March 21st, 2009, 21:25

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.16349 seconds with 14 queries.