User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: My first ever Overclock

  1. #1
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Lightbulb My first ever Overclock

    I just overclocked my stock 1.6GHz Celeron 420 to 2GHz. I learnt about overclocking frm various guides. Im a newbie at this. Here's what i did.

    1. At first i went to BIOS and entered the CPU Configuration tab and disabled these 4 options --> C1E Support, Max CPUID Value Limit, CPU TM Function, Execute Disable Bit.

    2. Then I increased my CPU Frequency from 200 to 250.

    3. Restarted PC and opened CPU-Z. It says core frequency at 2 GHz. See Validations for more info.

    CPU-Z VALIDATIONS

    1. STOCK-CLOCKED specs.
    2. OVER-CLOCKED specs.

    Temperatures taken with RealTemp after OC

    Idle @ 45-49C
    Load @ 50-59C [played COD6]

    So how safe is my OC? i forgot about info of RAM clocks... so i need to know these things-->

    1. RAM Clocks.. they increased frm 400MHz to 500MHz.. umm is it safe/normal..?
    2. CPU Core Voltage. It should increase as I'm increasing my core frequency, shouldn't it?

    PS : i switched back to my stock clocks just to be sure.

    thanks
    XTR

  2. #2
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19" wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    Congrats. First of all, ur oc is safe. U need to raise core voltage if u raise core clock but for the oc u did (only 400 mhz) default voltage is enough. Increasing ram bus a little is ok. U can low ram multiplier to control it. Stress with prime 95 or memtest to see if ur ram can handle the oc u did. Last, lets see if u can hit 3/3.2 good luck

  3. #3
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    thanks @marex bhaiya. Relieved to know its safe i didnt change the ram bus tho. My DRAM Frequency is set to AUTO in BIOS... (three options are there... AUTO/800/667) And how do i access the RAM Multiplier..? Is the AUTO option liable for the 100MHz RAM bus increase?

    oh btw... about CPU Core Voltage, i didnt do anything there either... After increasing CPU freq to 250, i exited BIOS... :/ now CPU-Z shows CPU Core Voltage is at 1.352V. where at stock it was at 1.24V... is tht okay?

    Thanks again
    Last edited by ScS :: XTR; November 28th, 2009 at 21:34.

  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    there should be FSBRAM multis, lower the multi & then up the FSB...once you start increasing the clocks...the RAM will automatically clock up & then try to link it near the RAMs default MHz

  5. #5
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    Thnx again. But i cant access the multiplier... I mean the FSB : RAM multi... Not needed tho. Im pretty satisfied i finally reached 2 GHz, thanks for help

  6. #6
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    OK i did some research on the net. heres what i have done more -->

    1. My RAM freq was at 500MHz. As it is DDR, its running at 1000MHz. So I wanted to lower it. I found the FSB:RAM Multiplier. I set it to 3:5 [it was 1:2]. Now my RAM freq is at 417MHz. And its running at 834MHz. I forgot the RAM timings tho. When i come back home i will post it. Does Tighter RAM timings result in higher performance? or looser timings are good?

    2. Installed new NVIDIA Forceware. I got increasing amount of performance. With lowest settings, i get 40FPS all the time in COD6.

    waiting for reply. CPU Temps are at 60C top load. Isnt 65C the limit for OC-ing?

  7. #7
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    65C is not only OC limit it is simple limit.

    anyway Idle e valo temp thakle kono problem nai as you will not game for the whole day.:zz:

  8. #8
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    Sumon bhai apnar RAM timings ta ektu den kindly

  9. #9
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock


  10. #10
    Member
    • ScS :: XTR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • abit IP35-E [P35 Chipset+ICH9]
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend Jetram 2x2GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD6870 (GPU/Mem clock 900/1050 MHz)
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 LED 18.5" 1366x768 16:9
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Play! USB 5.1 High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2500 2.1 / Sony MDR-EX082 Walkman IEMs / Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • X5 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Delux Dragon T6 M615 2000 DPI / SteelSeries Kinzu V2 Pro / SteelSeries QcK Mass Mousepad
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad 2
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec Basiq Plus 550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Super Writemaster DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend JetFlash 700 16GB USB 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • Finally time to GAME!!
      • ISP:
      • Smile Broadband
    ScS :: XTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,206

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    if 65 is simple limit, i will try OC-ing to 2.2GHz. But gotta buy a new case fan for tht. ok thnx everyone for helping. I appreciate everyone's help. Live long BG, live long gamers

  11. #11
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: My first ever Overclock

    are tumi ei mobo te RAM multiplier ta komai nie celeron 420 take easily 2.6GHz e tulte parba.

    COD nischoi saradin khelba na.

    just check the IDLE temp.

    load temp niye chinte korte hobe na.

    gaming e load temp kisuta charai gele problem nai.

    many have seen OCing celeron 420 @3.04GHz with stock cooler easily.

    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=133172

    this guy has done it by putting a Q660 FAn on it.

Similar Threads

  1. BG Overclock Archive!!
    By minitt in forum CPU
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: December 26th, 2010, 15:27
  2. How should you overclock your card?
    By Hamilton in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 10th, 2009, 09:18
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 24th, 2009, 00:22
  4. how to overclock my ati radeon 9250!
    By Mohaan in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 21st, 2009, 01:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.22690 seconds with 14 queries.