User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: help me with this worn out rig please!

  1. #1

    Default help me with this worn out rig please!

    I've got this below specified rig currently.
    2.2 ghz core 2 duo, 3 gb DDR2 ram. 1 gb hd4650 (dx10) gfx, G41 motherboard and 320 gb HDD. Till now most of the HD games ran just fine with medium to high setting like crysis warhead,2, all COD, far cry 3, bf3 bla blah. But the newer games are wanting atleast core 2 quad or better options. I don't wanna spend forks of cashes on i5 or AMD's 8 core CPUs. I heard that quad core processors offer much better performance on multi threaded games. I guess all these newer next gen games will utilize this advantage over core i3's dual core systems. Im also thinking about buying hd7750 so that I won't have to buy a beefy PSU. And yeah, about ram, im considering to upgrade to atleast 6 or 8 gb. So what do you guys think? Please give me a good suggestion about cpu and if possible, give me a slight hint about the price I might get if I sell off my whole current system :-)

  2. #2
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    I've got this below specified rig currently.
    2.2 ghz core 2 duo, 3 gb DDR2 ram. 1 gb hd4650 (dx10) gfx, G41 motherboard and 320 gb HDD. Till now most of the HD games ran just fine with medium to high setting like crysis warhead,2, all COD, far cry 3, bf3 bla blah. But the newer games are wanting atleast core 2 quad or better options. I don't wanna spend forks of cashes on i5 or AMD's 8 core CPUs. I heard that quad core processors offer much better performance on multi threaded games. I guess all these newer next gen games will utilize this advantage over core i3's dual core systems. Im also thinking about buying hd7750 so that I won't have to buy a beefy PSU. And yeah, about ram, im considering to upgrade to atleast 6 or 8 gb. So what do you guys think? Please give me a good suggestion about cpu and if possible, give me a slight hint about the price I might get if I sell off my whole current system :-)
    u wanna buy a core2quad?

    if gaming is ur only purpose get an i3. it will perform better than c2q.
    and about gpu atleast take a 7770.

  3. #3
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    if u wanna save money buy a 2nd hand c2Q processor. i guess all c2Q is compatible on ur g41

    but core i3 2nd/3rd/4th generation performs much better than c2Q.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Yaaya's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H81 S2PV
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3 4150
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 4x2 DDR3 1600mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Cavier Blue 1TB+1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire AMD Radeon R7 265 Dual-X 2GB
      • Display:
      • Del 18.5inch LCD
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec VP550C EC 550 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
    Yaaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Hidden Leaf Village
    Posts
    277

    Default

    The thread is in wrong category

  5. #5

    Default

    thanks for the info guys. @redwan - are you using a 7770 currently? what's the resolution you're playing in and PSU specification please?

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    thanks for the info guys. @redwan - are you using a 7770 currently? what's the resolution you're playing in and PSU specification please?
    nope im not using 7770.
    and for 7770 i guess 1280*720/1360*768 would be the best resolution.
    and for psu any branded 400W/450W psu is needed.

  7. #7
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    7770 sapphire er tar jonne to kono bhalo psu lage na!

  8. #8

    Default

    thanks again! helped alot. I might be considering this option now :-)

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Taher furious View Post
    7770 sapphire er tar jonne to kono bhalo psu lage na!
    7770 80W matro. but still i will recommend atleast 400W branded psu.

    http://redwanhasan.blogspot.com/2013...ry-august.html

  10. #10

    Default

    hey how about the HD5850? it seems way better within the nearly same price range.

  11. #11
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    but 7770 sapphire na msi konta jani ucc import korsilo 1year age... kono psu port e silo na. i dont think 7770 needs very good psu. fortex psu 1k/2k diye kinleo chole.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    hey how about the HD5850? it seems way better within the nearly same price range.
    where can u get a 5850 first hand?

  12. #12

    Default

    apparently, it's still available in some shops in multiplan centre.

  13. #13
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    apparently, it's still available in some shops in multiplan centre.
    noi point of buying such a card first hand.

  14. #14
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    get atleast i5 or 4 core amd series because this days new consoles are comming and requiring some extra cores as a result watch dogs and bf4 said minimum 4cores in their requirement and not to say you cant even run bf4 in a dual core .. so core i3 (physical 2 cores logical 2 threads) are kinda weak if you think about future proof upgrade

  15. #15
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    get atleast i5 or 4 core amd series because this days new consoles are comming and requiring some extra cores as a result watch dogs and bf4 said minimum 4cores in their requirement and not to say you cant even run bf4 in a dual core .. so core i3 (physical 2 cores logical 2 threads) are kinda weak if you think about future proof upgrade
    where did u find this?

  16. #16
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    apparently, it's still available in some shops in multiplan centre.
    whats the price? even if its 10k, i would buy a 7770

  17. #17

    Default these newer games and pc setups are so awfully confusing!

    @taher - it's priced around 13k and a special edition costs a thousand more. @sensei - ikr? but affording a core i5 gets too rough for my budget. I've also got 8 core AMD processor on offer just a couple of thousands more than i3 but still I can't really trust AMD enough. the reviews aren't so good, for instance. quad core or i3 seems like the only viable options :3

  18. #18
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    @taher - it's priced around 13k and a special edition costs a thousand more. @sensei - ikr? but affording a core i5 gets too rough for my budget. I've also got 8 core AMD processor on offer just a couple of thousands more than i3 but still I can't really trust AMD enough. the reviews aren't so good, for instance. quad core or i3 seems like the only viable options :3
    WHAT THE! buy a 7770 will u? or wait 1 or 2 month to get very cheap amd R series cards, they will be very good.

    u have budget for 4th generation i3 and mobo? get it!

  19. #19
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    where did u find this?
    2 core 4 threads actually

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by shahriar27 View Post
    @taher - it's priced around 13k and a special edition costs a thousand more. @sensei - ikr? but affording a core i5 gets too rough for my budget. I've also got 8 core AMD processor on offer just a couple of thousands more than i3 but still I can't really trust AMD enough. the reviews aren't so good, for instance. quad core or i3 seems like the only viable options :3
    actually amd fx 6300/ or something cant remember the model are same as i3 2nd and 3rd gen series, and also priced near 13k or search for 2nd hand i5's , you will find something in this budget

  20. #20

    Default

    i5 second hands are still pricey though. do you guys also prefer looking up on windows 7 base score or component score? post your scores if possible with processor version. gosh, im sooo talking like a noob now.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help me with this worn out rig please!
    By shahriar27 in forum CPU
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 24th, 2013, 02:02

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.29811 seconds with 14 queries.