User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Use pendrive as ram !!!

  1. #1
    Member
    • cybervirus007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • G31M-ES2C [gigabyte S-series]
      • CPU:
      • celoron 430 @ 1.8Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 1 GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte 8400GS
      • Display:
      • DELL-1708FP flat panel
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2:1 [creative]
      • Keyboard:
      • perfect
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • 200w
      • Operating System:
      • windose XP sp-2
      • Comment:
      • only cool thing is my LCD. chack it out at google
      • ISP:
      • IS pros
      • Download Speed:
      • 40-50
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10-20
    cybervirus007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Klhilgaon,Dhaka
    Posts
    111

    Red face Use pendrive as ram !!!

    hey jader pc puraton tara ei kaj ta korte paren.

    to do this u need a pendrive.

    new pc tew korte parben but pc slow hobe coz new ram gulate 800 BUS thake.
    and ekta valo pendrive e 400-480 BUS er moto thake.


    JA JA KORTE HOBE-

    * apner pendrive ta ekta unused usb port a lagan.
    *pendrive ta formet koren. name er jagay "ram drive" lekhen.

    *ekhon my computer e right click koren.den "properties" e ckick koren.
    *advance tab a click koren.then performance er settings e click koren.["performance options" new box asbe]
    *performance options er advanced tab e jan.
    *"virtual memoty" jaigay change click koren.[new window open hobe]
    *then o khan theke "ram drive"(volume Label) click koren.
    *"paging file size for selected drive" option tai custom select koren.

    initial size (MB) = <ur pendrive size-5MB>
    maximum size (MB) = <same as initial size>

    *then "set" click koren.
    *then shob window te ok click kore bear hon.

    apner pc restart dite hobe.

    after that you can see the change.

    but shob settings change na kore pendrive khulben na.

    settings change korar jonno-
    *my computer e right click koren.den "properties" e ckick koren.
    *advance tab a click koren.then performance er settings e click koren.["performance options" new box asbe]
    *performance options er advanced tab e jan.
    *"virtual memoty" jaigay change click koren.[new window open hobe]
    *then o khan theke "ram drive"(volume Label) click koren.
    *"paging file size for selected drive" option tai nopaging file select koren.
    *then set click koren.
    *PC restart dibe then itz done.


    ___________________________________________

    Q/A-

    Q: will this boost my game speed ?
    A: YES. IF ur pc is old. 800 BUS ram thakle naw korte pare.

    Q:can i use the pendrie ?
    A: No. Untill u re-change the settings.[u can but some problem might show up running ur PC]

    ___________________________________________

    HAVE ANY OTHER QUS. ???
    Last edited by cybervirus007; September 26th, 2009 at 17:21.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    its will give Worse performance during sequential read/write.

    rather u can keep both the default page file + da 1 u suggested.

  3. #3
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&amp;D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    hdd thk pen-drive a read/write speed besi thake naki???

    ---------- Post added at 20:44 ---------- Previous post was at 20:41 ----------

    er cheye RAM er kisu ongsho niye ekta ram-disk banay (~128 MB) , oi ta k windows er temporary folder hisabe select kore dile perf onek barbe...
    Vous n'avez pas vraiment connaître quelqu'un qu'en le combattant.

  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by saadbillah View Post
    hdd thk pen-drive a read/write speed besi thake naki???

    ---------- Post added at 20:44 ---------- Previous post was at 20:41 ----------

    er cheye RAM er kisu ongsho niye ekta ram-disk banay (~128 MB) , oi ta k windows er temporary folder hisabe select kore dile perf onek barbe...
    kemne kore eita? and is it safe?

  5. #5
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&amp;D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    ami korsilam aage ekbar xp te , tokhon prob hoy nai...

    ram disk er driver microsoft.com ei pawa jae, but temporay folder (documents and settings\user\local settings\temp) change korar jonno ekta utility soft use korte hoisilo....
    Vous n'avez pas vraiment connaître quelqu'un qu'en le combattant.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    yep,this will cause a good amount of problem due to the high rate of data transfer....
    +1 to minitt

  7. #7
    Noblesse Oblige
    • CvP's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77 V Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770K @3.9GHz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 @2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 256GB SSD; WD Caviar Black 2TB; Hitachi 250GB; Samsung S3 1.5TB; Hitachi 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 980Ti 6GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung 17&quot;+22&quot;+22&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio &lt;internal&gt;
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • G7
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X 850W 80Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • External DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Logitech Carl Zeiss Tessar HD 1080p Webcam
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1500VA with Large Lead-Acid Battery
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Everything packed in a NZXT Phantom 820
      • ISP:
      • Link3/Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 10000
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10000
    CvP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    9,019

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    using pen drive as ram is an epic fail (most of the times).

    what you can do is: ReadyBoost! (how to enable)

    then again, having 1GB+ ram means this is not needed at all as RAM is always many times faster than your Flash drive.
    The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power.
    Please do not PM me for support. You will NOT get a reply. Post in the relevant forum section.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5&quot; 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20&quot; for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    you use pen drive as a ram you will experience in loss of transformation speed.

    i used once that V30 series stayed under 10MB/s while now always it stays at 60MB/s.

  9. #9
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    using PD as RAM is useless...unless u have a very fast PD that manages ultra-fast transfer rates...it is not going to be much of a help

    HD is faster than a PD...regarding transfer rates...it is more advisable to use the HD for paging since it is more faster & also u dont have to remove HDDs like PDs

  10. #10
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5&quot; 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20&quot; for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Use pendrive as ram !!!

    hm.
    RB does PG in PD.
    but slows transfer rate.
    but we all use PD for speed man and portability.
    then why bother for RAM.:S

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 27th, 2009, 10:54
  2. Want to Exchange a usable LENO Mouse (Optical) vs a Pendrive of Any Size
    By Mad Monk in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 7th, 2009, 01:43

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21869 seconds with 14 queries.