User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Working 2 LAN cards

  1. #1
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default Working 2 LAN cards

    Hey guys, I have two lan cards, one on Mobo, one is PCI....

    I want to use both lan cards, one for internet (which is using), and another for LAN with another PC for Data sharing and LAN games (not internet Sharing)...

    While I managed to work both LAN cards, it wasn't working properly... after setting 2nd Lan card for Data sharing, Internet was not working, 2nd one was working.... When I disabled the 2nd Card, Internet was working.

    Now how can i fixed it...

    My PC's OS is Windows Vista SP2 & the other one is Windows XP SP3. I set the Ip's and gateways different for each card, subnet mask was same....!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    • Pyro.Dynamics-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Deluxe (Intel X-58 Based)
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 945
      • RAM:
      • OCZ Gold 6 GB (3 x 2GB), 1600 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • SeaGate 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX 9800GTX+ 1GB X2 = 2GB SLI
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 46"
      • Sound Card:
      • Intel SoundMAX Built-in 7.1 SmartCard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5.1 Surround
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Anansi
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga Molten Edition
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 850W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Zinger Burger
      • UPS:
      • MICRO
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista Ultimate x58
      • Comment:
      • Cooler - CoolerMAster V8; Casing - Thermaltake M9
      • ISP:
      • Link3 1 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 110-140 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40-60 KB
      • Console:
      • 2
    Pyro.Dynamics-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Azeroth
    Posts
    3,312

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    you should have 2 different Network Connection icons indicating that they are operate separately.

    Just mind the MAC addresses and configure the IPs accordingly. For example if you've given your MAC for LAN Card 1 to your ISP make sure that LAN Card has the Isp's LAN Cable plugged in and the Isp's provided setting set to it's properties.

    And, about LANing with the other PC, jsut use the standard LAN protocol address 192.168. bla bla to set up the otehr connection, adn make sure you've plugged it in the right socket.

    There's a downfall to this though. People might be able to manipulate your PC's folders. I mean your Internet peers might be able to access the files you're sharing with your other computer since the shared folder will be shared on both networks.

    Steene / Lightstrike - Level 80 Rogue/Paladin - Bloodcraft Blizzclone US
    Anestean - Level 80 Paladin - AlphaWoW EU
    Pyro.Dynam1cs - Garena - Main competitive account
    DietPepsicola - Garena - Trolling, "secret" pub owning account.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    • abir's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G41M-ES2L | Intel 965 HP
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 2.7GHz 800MSB| Intel T5670 Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz 800MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • (2+2) 4GB DDR II (800MHz) | 1GB RAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320 GB SATA Samsung | 160GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon 4770 512MB | Intel GMA X3100
      • Display:
      • DELL Inspiron 18.5" LCD |14.1" TFT LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Builtin Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Slimstar 355 Gaming Keyboard | A4Tech Anti RSI (USB PS2)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech 7K Office (USB)| HP
      • Power Supply:
      • Deluxe DLP 388A 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 16X DVD Drive & Liteon DVDW| Asus DVD RAMRW LightScribe
      • USB Devices:
      • 4GB Apacer Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • OVO 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 | Windows XP SP2 & Ubuntu 9.04
      • ISP:
      • Smile Internet (Bronze)
    abir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Azimpur
    Posts
    7,913

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Here is the guideline:

    1. One lan card is for ur ISP and other is for ur local lan.
    2. Keep the Internet Lan configuration unchanged, as u will need it to access internet.
    3. Set up the other other lan card:
    IP: 192.168.0.1
    Subnet:255.255.0.0
    4. Now connect another PC with it CAT5 cross cable. Set configuration:
    IP: 192.168.0.2
    Subnet:255.255.0.0
    5. If u r using Windows XP goto network and setup a small home/office network. turn on file/printer sharing if u need to share files with them.

    u r done, hope it helps

    "Game after game after game, I realized what is most important of my life - FOOTBALL.."
    I bleed red, Man Utd 4ever..
    ---------------------
    অনেক দূরের একলা পথে, ক্লান্ত আমি ফিরি তোমার কাছে, মুখোশ খুলে বসে রই জানলার ধারে..

  4. #4
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    thank you both.... I will try in the morning & see..!!!

    also, since my isp is a shared network, there a possiblility that they can access my folders... Is there anyway to limit the access to that certain PC...??? will the password protected sharing help ??

  5. #5
    Moderator
    • abir's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G41M-ES2L | Intel 965 HP
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 2.7GHz 800MSB| Intel T5670 Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz 800MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • (2+2) 4GB DDR II (800MHz) | 1GB RAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320 GB SATA Samsung | 160GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon 4770 512MB | Intel GMA X3100
      • Display:
      • DELL Inspiron 18.5" LCD |14.1" TFT LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Builtin Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Slimstar 355 Gaming Keyboard | A4Tech Anti RSI (USB PS2)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech 7K Office (USB)| HP
      • Power Supply:
      • Deluxe DLP 388A 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 16X DVD Drive & Liteon DVDW| Asus DVD RAMRW LightScribe
      • USB Devices:
      • 4GB Apacer Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • OVO 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 | Windows XP SP2 & Ubuntu 9.04
      • ISP:
      • Smile Internet (Bronze)
    abir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Azimpur
    Posts
    7,913

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Quote Originally Posted by ABDmaster View Post
    thank you both.... I will try in the morning & see..!!!

    also, since my isp is a shared network, there a possiblility that they can access my folders... Is there anyway to limit the access to that certain PC...??? will the password protected sharing help ??
    yap u can set that up using advanced sharing.
    Windows 7 by default sets in that way.
    in XP use advanced sharing while sharing.

    "Game after game after game, I realized what is most important of my life - FOOTBALL.."
    I bleed red, Man Utd 4ever..
    ---------------------
    অনেক দূরের একলা পথে, ক্লান্ত আমি ফিরি তোমার কাছে, মুখোশ খুলে বসে রই জানলার ধারে..

  6. #6

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    You also can turn the function off by tweaking your firewall settings and thus prevent unwanted access

  7. #7
    Member
    • Pyro.Dynamics-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Deluxe (Intel X-58 Based)
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 945
      • RAM:
      • OCZ Gold 6 GB (3 x 2GB), 1600 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • SeaGate 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX 9800GTX+ 1GB X2 = 2GB SLI
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 46"
      • Sound Card:
      • Intel SoundMAX Built-in 7.1 SmartCard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5.1 Surround
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Anansi
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga Molten Edition
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 850W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Zinger Burger
      • UPS:
      • MICRO
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista Ultimate x58
      • Comment:
      • Cooler - CoolerMAster V8; Casing - Thermaltake M9
      • ISP:
      • Link3 1 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 110-140 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40-60 KB
      • Console:
      • 2
    Pyro.Dynamics-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Azeroth
    Posts
    3,312

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Quote Originally Posted by FATAL1TY View Post
    You also can turn the function off by tweaking your firewall settings and thus prevent unwanted access
    Yea but very unsafe this way.

    Imo take a little time to configure Advanced Sharing.

    And did it work?

    Steene / Lightstrike - Level 80 Rogue/Paladin - Bloodcraft Blizzclone US
    Anestean - Level 80 Paladin - AlphaWoW EU
    Pyro.Dynam1cs - Garena - Main competitive account
    DietPepsicola - Garena - Trolling, "secret" pub owning account.

  8. #8
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    nah... didn't work.... If I enable the 2nd LAN card... the 1st card wont work..... thats is my internet stop working.... 2nd Lan card still works...!!!!

    it set as abir stated in his guildline..... didnt do any password protection yet...!!! What could be the problem???

  9. #9

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Pyro.Dynamics- View Post
    Yea but very unsafe this way.

    Imo take a little time to configure Advanced Sharing.

    And did it work?
    Yes it did

  10. #10
    Moderator
    • abir's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G41M-ES2L | Intel 965 HP
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 2.7GHz 800MSB| Intel T5670 Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz 800MHz FSB
      • RAM:
      • (2+2) 4GB DDR II (800MHz) | 1GB RAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320 GB SATA Samsung | 160GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon 4770 512MB | Intel GMA X3100
      • Display:
      • DELL Inspiron 18.5" LCD |14.1" TFT LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Builtin Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Genius Slimstar 355 Gaming Keyboard | A4Tech Anti RSI (USB PS2)
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech 7K Office (USB)| HP
      • Power Supply:
      • Deluxe DLP 388A 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 16X DVD Drive & Liteon DVDW| Asus DVD RAMRW LightScribe
      • USB Devices:
      • 4GB Apacer Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • OVO 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 | Windows XP SP2 & Ubuntu 9.04
      • ISP:
      • Smile Internet (Bronze)
    abir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Azimpur
    Posts
    7,913

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Quote Originally Posted by ABDmaster View Post
    nah... didn't work.... If I enable the 2nd LAN card... the 1st card wont work..... thats is my internet stop working.... 2nd Lan card still works...!!!!

    it set as abir stated in his guildline..... didnt do any password protection yet...!!! What could be the problem???
    did u change any mac id?
    the problem sounds u r setting same id for both lan cards

    "Game after game after game, I realized what is most important of my life - FOOTBALL.."
    I bleed red, Man Utd 4ever..
    ---------------------
    অনেক দূরের একলা পথে, ক্লান্ত আমি ফিরি তোমার কাছে, মুখোশ খুলে বসে রই জানলার ধারে..

  11. #11
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Well, its working now... I had to set 2nd one network type as Public (in Vista)..!!! 1st one set as Private...!!

    its ok now...!!!!

  12. #12
    Member
    • Pyro.Dynamics-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Deluxe (Intel X-58 Based)
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 945
      • RAM:
      • OCZ Gold 6 GB (3 x 2GB), 1600 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • SeaGate 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX 9800GTX+ 1GB X2 = 2GB SLI
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 46"
      • Sound Card:
      • Intel SoundMAX Built-in 7.1 SmartCard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5.1 Surround
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Anansi
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga Molten Edition
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 850W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Zinger Burger
      • UPS:
      • MICRO
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista Ultimate x58
      • Comment:
      • Cooler - CoolerMAster V8; Casing - Thermaltake M9
      • ISP:
      • Link3 1 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 110-140 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40-60 KB
      • Console:
      • 2
    Pyro.Dynamics-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Azeroth
    Posts
    3,312

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Nice to hear that.

    Steene / Lightstrike - Level 80 Rogue/Paladin - Bloodcraft Blizzclone US
    Anestean - Level 80 Paladin - AlphaWoW EU
    Pyro.Dynam1cs - Garena - Main competitive account
    DietPepsicola - Garena - Trolling, "secret" pub owning account.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Working 2 LAN cards

    Congrats Comrade..
    Game On!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Present price of graphics cards
    By sameev29 in forum GPU
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: May 19th, 2011, 15:03
  2. Best Graphics Cards For The Money: July '09
    By kabir_sharif2000 in forum GPU
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 22nd, 2009, 16:11
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 15th, 2009, 00:04
  4. Suggest Gfx Cards for around 15000tk...
    By HolySlayer in forum GPU
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: December 6th, 2008, 23:58
  5. NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX Cards on Sale !!!
    By Black Neon in forum GPU
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 5th, 2008, 08:29

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.24993 seconds with 14 queries.