User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Will a Delux Delux DLP-34A power supply support a GTX 550ti?

  1. #1

    Question Will a Delux Delux DLP-34A power supply support a GTX 550ti?

    Can you please tell me if its safe to run a GTX 550 Ti off a Delux DLP-34A( Delux 450 watt ones that come with their server cases). Im running an Intel E7500 with two HDDs and the usual other components. I dont have any extra pci cards running and all my case fans are powered from a separate source(hudai, but i feel it puts less strain on my aging psu....).

  2. #2
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rabjohn View Post
    Can you please tell me if its safe to run a GTX 550 Ti off a Delux DLP-34A( Delux 450 watt ones that come with their server cases). Im running an Intel E7500 with two HDDs and the usual other components. I dont have any extra pci cards running and all my case fans are powered from a separate source(hudai, but i feel it puts less strain on my aging psu....).
    if the psu is quite old then it will be a bit tight for your setup. by tight i meant risky. I am guessing a reliable power output range of 240 to 260watt from the 12V rail or even lower. sticker spec is pretty much useless fyi. But if u r a casual gamer or have A/C in your room u just might be able to get away.

    If u intend to keep this psu, open up the psu and clean all the dust with a blower. that helps it to get rid of excess heat. sometimes psu manufacturer mentions actual wattage in the pcb. u should be able to find it if u have the patience.
    Last edited by minitt; June 28th, 2013 at 11:55.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    if the psu is quite old then it will be a bit tight for your setup. by tight i meant risky. I am guessing a reliable power output range of 240 to 260watt from the 12V rail or even lower. sticker spec is pretty much useless fyi. But if u r a casual gamer or have A/C in your room u just might be able to get away.

    If u intend to keep this psu, open up the psu and clean all the dust with a blower. that helps it to get rid of excess heat. sometimes psu manufacturer mentions actual wattage in the pcb. u should be able to find it if u have the patience.
    The PSU has been running for 3 years. And yes, I did just clean the dust in the psu and all other components, a few a days ago. Ended up creating a sandstorm in my room.. Ill see if i can find any mention of watts or amps on the pcb. thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    Do you think it will be able to handle a HD7770?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rabjohn View Post
    Do you think it will be able to handle a HD7770?
    HD 7770 requires less power than GTX 550 Ti . You should be able to run it fine but if possible buy a new PSU just to make sure you have good headroom in terms of power output from the psu.

  6. #6

    Default

    Thanks. Ill try to score a 7770 then. Im saving up for a psu.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    222

    Default

    If it has any 6pin pcie cable, it can run gtx... My students run hd6770(108w) on that PSU .. Gtzx550 is 116w

  8. #8
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dna Mex View Post
    If it has any 6pin pcie cable, it can run gtx... My students run hd6770(108w) on that PSU .. Gtzx550 is 116w
    550ti's tdp is underrated. Its somewhat near 140w in real life. You'll find a tons of discussions about Fermi'r tdp in the old threads
    Welcome to the internet. Where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reznov View Post
    550ti's tdp is underrated. Its somewhat near 140w in real life. You'll find a tons of discussions about Fermi'r tdp in the old threads
    That is what i read as well. Wont risk it with a 550Ti then. Do you think running a HD 7770 off this psu will be safe?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 31st, 2013, 20:08
  2. can a delux DLP-388A power supply handle a 5670.
    By @bhi in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 7th, 2011, 14:55
  3. Replies: 21
    Last Post: February 6th, 2011, 00:17
  4. Closed Delux ATX 450W Power Supply
    By rafaat in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2010, 11:20
  5. Help about Delux 450 W PSU?
    By AmareX in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 13th, 2009, 14:52

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21707 seconds with 14 queries.