User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

  1. #1

    Default using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    hey,

    u mite have seen this other thread by me where wanted some info about hd monitors... but i'm not reely getting one, as firstly, i'm moving soon... and i'll also be leaving the country in august, and secondly, the ones that i did find where either some crappy ones or weren't hd at all. now, i was reely happy when i found out that i can actually use the hd tv that i'm getting as a monitor with my pc so i just wanted to clarify..

    - is it actually possible?
    - has anyone done it?
    - what kind of wires and stuff are required?
    - will it cause any problems for the pc or the tv?

    btw, i'm using the radeon hd3850 and i'm getting a sony bravia 40" V-series.

    now... since i mite use this big monitor/tv ... i definitely need a wireless mouse and keyboard... so i wanted to know, what is the best wireless keyboard and mouse u can get in dhaka and from where?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    • cRush's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit IP35P
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz (Oc @ 3.11Ghz ) 2*4MB Cache
      • RAM:
      • 2*2GB Transcend DDR2 Ram @800Mhz (Oc @840 Mhz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Hitachi HDD + 500 GB Samsung F3 HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Palit GTX560 Ti Sonic 1GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster932B 19" LCD Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • RealTek HD 7.1 Soundcard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech Headphones+ Creative 5:1 Surround Sound
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Anti-RSI Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Genius G500 Laser 2500dpi
      • Controller:
      • Sony Sixaxis
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTek 420W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus SATA DVDRW drive + Asus IDE DVD-combo Drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 RTM 64Bit
      • Comment:
      • IT RAWKS :D
      • ISP:
      • Local (STAR ISP)
      • Download Speed:
      • 32 - 40
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40 - 60
      • Console:
      • 144
    cRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    3,618

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    Quote Originally Posted by tofu View Post
    hey,

    u mite have seen this other thread by me where wanted some info about hd monitors... but i'm not reely getting one, as firstly, i'm moving soon... and i'll also be leaving the country in august, and secondly, the ones that i did find where either some crappy ones or weren't hd at all. now, i was reely happy when i found out that i can actually use the hd tv that i'm getting as a monitor with my pc so i just wanted to clarify..

    - is it actually possible?
    - has anyone done it?
    - what kind of wires and stuff are required?
    - will it cause any problems for the pc or the tv?

    btw, i'm using the radeon hd3850 and i'm getting a sony bravia 40" V-series.

    now... since i mite use this big monitor/tv ... i definitely need a wireless mouse and keyboard... so i wanted to know, what is the best wireless keyboard and mouse u can get in dhaka and from where?

    thanks
    Hmm its possible. I've done with exactly the TV you are getting.

    There are many options. But for the best pictures you should do this :
    Use a HDMI cable and a HDMI-to-DVI converter to connect with your graphics card.


    HDMI cable.

    HDMI to DVI converter.

    or if you dont want to do that you can use the standard VGA cable that comes with your monitor to connect .

    VGA cable. (also known as HD-15 pin)
    but trust me you want to use HDMI! because its far better !

  3. #3
    Member
    • Pyro.Dynamics-'s Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Deluxe (Intel X-58 Based)
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 945
      • RAM:
      • OCZ Gold 6 GB (3 x 2GB), 1600 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • SeaGate 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX 9800GTX+ 1GB X2 = 2GB SLI
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 46"
      • Sound Card:
      • Intel SoundMAX Built-in 7.1 SmartCard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5.1 Surround
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Anansi
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Naga Molten Edition
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 850W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Zinger Burger
      • UPS:
      • MICRO
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista Ultimate x58
      • Comment:
      • Cooler - CoolerMAster V8; Casing - Thermaltake M9
      • ISP:
      • Link3 1 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 110-140 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40-60 KB
      • Console:
      • 2
    Pyro.Dynamics-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Azeroth
    Posts
    3,312

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    I'm using it right now on a permanent basis. You need a DVI to VGA converter and that's all. You'll figure out the rest.

    Steene / Lightstrike - Level 80 Rogue/Paladin - Bloodcraft Blizzclone US
    Anestean - Level 80 Paladin - AlphaWoW EU
    Pyro.Dynam1cs - Garena - Main competitive account
    DietPepsicola - Garena - Trolling, "secret" pub owning account.

  4. #4
    Member
    • omi_1080's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q SE PLUS
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Quad [email protected]
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB Trascend DDR2 800
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi 160 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Powercolor Radeon HD 4870 1 GB PCS+
      • Display:
      • Samsung p2250 22 Inch LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • VIA HD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Epraizer
      • Keyboard:
      • Microsoft
      • Mouse:
      • Microsoft
      • Power Supply:
      • Deluxe 500 Watts
      • Optical Drive:
      • LITE ON DVD RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista 64 Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 14200 3D Mark 06
      • Comment:
      • Gets my job done
      • ISP:
      • NUS
      • Download Speed:
      • 150-1000 KB/s

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    As [TH7][cRu$h] has mentioned, you can definitely do it. I have my samsung hdtv hooked up to my pc!

    HDMI cables are expensive, but worth it as image quality is superior to vga and will allow hd resolutions like 1080p or 720p (depending on your hd tv). But if your hd tv supports DVI input, then you could go for that as it might be cheaper. As far as I know, HDMI and DVI uses the same video processing algorithm and so has similar picture quality. HDMI carries audio signals which DVI doesn't.

    Using vga cable for hd tv is not worth it at all. Even if its cheaper, you will likely be limited to below standard resolutions and image quality. Go for HDMI!

  5. #5

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    yes yes yes!!! i do have those!!! just need to buy the hdmi cable... but that's not a worry cause we were planning to buy m for most of the tvs anyways. but i do have the hdmi to dvi converter.

    now can someone please recommend me some wireless mouse and keyboards?

    thanks for all the help so far.

  6. #6
    Member
    • cRush's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit IP35P
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz (Oc @ 3.11Ghz ) 2*4MB Cache
      • RAM:
      • 2*2GB Transcend DDR2 Ram @800Mhz (Oc @840 Mhz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Hitachi HDD + 500 GB Samsung F3 HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Palit GTX560 Ti Sonic 1GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster932B 19" LCD Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • RealTek HD 7.1 Soundcard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech Headphones+ Creative 5:1 Surround Sound
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech Anti-RSI Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Genius G500 Laser 2500dpi
      • Controller:
      • Sony Sixaxis
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTek 420W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus SATA DVDRW drive + Asus IDE DVD-combo Drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 RTM 64Bit
      • Comment:
      • IT RAWKS :D
      • ISP:
      • Local (STAR ISP)
      • Download Speed:
      • 32 - 40
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40 - 60
      • Console:
      • 144
    cRush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    3,618

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    Quote Originally Posted by tofu View Post
    yes yes yes!!! i do have those!!! just need to buy the hdmi cable... but that's not a worry cause we were planning to buy m for most of the tvs anyways. but i do have the hdmi to dvi converter.

    now can someone please recommend me some wireless mouse and keyboards?

    thanks for all the help so far.
    you'll probably get a cable with ur tv. so no worries

  7. #7

    Default Re: using an hd tv as a monitor and q's about wireless mouse and keyboard?

    Wireless keyboard and mouse is a pain to find, I mean I could only managed to find ones based on IR, which is crap if you want to use them for a slightly distant place (with hdtv, you would want to sit back on your couch or your bed). I have two HDTV setups at home now, I use microsoft wireless on one, logitech on the other.

    I find microsoft to be the better solution, find it in IDB, but I would recommend you look for wifi/bluetooth based wireless keyboard mouse, I am really upset with my IR ones.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2012, 03:56
  2. Want to Buy A4tech X7 Mouse+Gaming Keyboard
    By dipanzan in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: September 30th, 2009, 10:40
  3. Closed [SOLD OUT] Wireless headphone 5 in 1 on sale
    By DEVIL DESTROYER in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 12th, 2009, 02:18
  4. [SOLD OUT] Selling Xbox360 wireless controller.
    By xK::CREATOR in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: August 1st, 2008, 21:24
  5. [SOLD OUT] selling Xbox360 Wireless Controller.
    By xK::CREATOR in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 9th, 2008, 14:58

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20065 seconds with 14 queries.