User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How can I set up wi-fi zone while my PC is connected with USB wi-max modem??

  1. #1
    Member
    • jumper_possible55's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • |Gigabyte| H61M-S2PV
      • CPU:
      • |Intel| Core i3-3210
      • RAM:
      • |Twinmos| 4GB DDR 3 1333Mhz @ 9-9-9-15
      • Hard Drive:
      • |Seagate| Barracuda 3 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • |MSI| GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • |Samsung| Bx2230 21.5"
      • Sound Card:
      • |Realtek| HD 7.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • |Creative| 4.1 Surround Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • |Logitech| Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • |A4Tech| MS office
      • Controller:
      • |XBox| 360
      • Power Supply:
      • |Thermaltech| TR2-500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • |Benq| DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • |Apacer| 8GB Flash Drive
      • UPS:
      • |Apollo| 800va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Processor 7.2 | Ram 7.2 | Graphics 7.4 | Gaming Graphics 7.4| Primary HDD 5.9
      • ISP:
      • Link 3
      • Download Speed:
      • 70 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
      • Console:
      • 2
    jumper_possible55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    66

    Default How can I set up wi-fi zone while my PC is connected with USB wi-max modem??

    Hi folks,

    Help me here, stuck in a real pain
    My windows 7 Desktop is internet connected with a Ollo usb wimax modem. Recently I bought an Ipod touch n a Sony smartphone. As they are wifi enabled device, I want to browse net through them also. But the problem is I've no idea whatever I can share my pc internet via a wifi router to them???
    Plz, let me know with any tutorial or your valuable solving idea or is there any router that can help me set up a wifi net browsing zone for my gadgets

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    if u want u can buy a wifi router. im using a SMC 150Mbps 4 port wifi router now.
    all you have to do is connect the ollo modem. share it over the RJ 45(LAN) port. then connect a CAT5/5E cable from ur desktop's LAN card to router's "WAN" port.

    configure the router.
    WAN IP should be set to dynamic.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	this.jpg 
Views:	123 
Size:	64.7 KB 
ID:	29231

    for internet sharing try google or maybe
    knowledgefund.blogspot.com/2013/03/good-afternoon-hope-everyone-is-fine-in.html
    this will help a little

  3. #3
    Member
    • jumper_possible55's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • |Gigabyte| H61M-S2PV
      • CPU:
      • |Intel| Core i3-3210
      • RAM:
      • |Twinmos| 4GB DDR 3 1333Mhz @ 9-9-9-15
      • Hard Drive:
      • |Seagate| Barracuda 3 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • |MSI| GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • |Samsung| Bx2230 21.5"
      • Sound Card:
      • |Realtek| HD 7.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • |Creative| 4.1 Surround Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • |Logitech| Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • |A4Tech| MS office
      • Controller:
      • |XBox| 360
      • Power Supply:
      • |Thermaltech| TR2-500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • |Benq| DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • |Apacer| 8GB Flash Drive
      • UPS:
      • |Apollo| 800va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Processor 7.2 | Ram 7.2 | Graphics 7.4 | Gaming Graphics 7.4| Primary HDD 5.9
      • ISP:
      • Link 3
      • Download Speed:
      • 70 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
      • Console:
      • 2
    jumper_possible55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Thanks mate. will do it as soon as possible. you just made my night!

  4. #4
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    anytime. & dont forget to put a good password in ur wifi router !

  5. #5
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    if u want u can buy a wifi router. im using a SMC 150Mbps 4 port wifi router now.
    all you have to do is connect the ollo modem. share it over the RJ 45(LAN) port. then connect a CAT5/5E cable from ur desktop's LAN card to router's "WAN" port.
    How do you connect an USB modem to a LAN port?

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank3nst3in View Post
    How do you connect an USB modem to a LAN port?
    i said connect the ollo modem! never thought nyone would try n push an usb port into a lan port!
    then "share it" over the RJ45! he has to keep his pc turned on for this procedure!

    or he can try & find ny usb 3G/4G modem supported wifi router.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    i said connect the ollo modem! never thought nyone would try n push an usb port into a lan port!
    then "share it" over the RJ45! he has to keep his pc turned on for this procedure!

    or he can try & find ny usb 3G/4G modem supported wifi router.
    The way you said after OP specified that he has an usb modem, it seemed that you told to connect the usb to lan.

    And you don't your pc turned on always to share internet with a router. You need them connected and the router powered on.

  8. #8
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank3nst3in View Post
    The way you said after OP specified that he has an usb modem, it seemed that you told to connect the usb to lan.

    And you don't your pc turned on always to share internet with a router. You need them connected and the router powered on.
    sorry about it, seems like it helped him. got no problem if u cant understand. also the link that i gave has almost everything.

    & u cant share 3G/4G usb modem's internet via ny simple wifi router. u have to keep ur pc turned on for doing it.

    like i said. but if ur router supports USB modem u can do that just by keeping the router on.

  9. #9
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • |Gigabyte| G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • |Intel| Core 2 Quad Q-8400 @ 3.46 Ghz with Thermaltake Frio Ock
      • RAM:
      • |Transcend| 4 GB(2x2) DDR2 864MHz @ 5-7-7-20
      • Hard Drive:
      • |Samsung| Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA, |Samsung| Spinpoint F4 2TB, |Hitachi| HGST 2TB(64MB Cash)
      • Graphics Card:
      • |AMD| Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • |Samsung| B2230 22 inch LCD Monitor ♥
      • Sound Card:
      • |Realtek| ALC883 7.1 HD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • |Microlab| 2.0 Solo 7c Speakers / |A4Tech| Headphone / |Logitech| Webcam
      • Keyboard:
      • |A4Tech| Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • |A4Tech| 800 DPI
      • Controller:
      • |Genious| Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • |Thermaltake| Litepower 400W
      • Optical Drive:
      • |Asus| CD Rom, |HP| DVD/CD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • |Transcend| JF V30 / 2 GB
      • UPS:
      • |Apollo| 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • |Windows 7| Ultimate 64-bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Processor 7.4 | Ram 7.4 | Graphics 7.4 | Gaming Graphics 7.4| Primary HDD 5.9
      • Comment:
      • Love my PC! muahhhh!! ♥
      • ISP:
      • X-press Technologies Limited
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20 Mbps
    Vиms Vm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    294

    Default

    will this router (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/d...TL-MR3220#spec) work with usb Wimax modem? @redwan hasan

  10. #10
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vиms Vm View Post
    will this router (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/d...TL-MR3220#spec) work with usb Wimax modem? @redwan hasan
    it should. never tried though so cant assure u.it supports many ZTE modems it should support i guess.

  11. #11
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    & u cant share 3G/4G usb modem's internet via ny simple wifi router. u have to keep ur pc turned on for doing it.

    like i said. but if ur router supports USB modem u can do that just by keeping the router on.
    You're confusing.

  12. #12
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank3nst3in View Post
    You're confusing.
    If ur router got an usb port u can hook up the modem & use it without nything else.

    but if ur router doesnt have ny usb port u have to use the wan port. desktop will work as a sharing device that will share the usb modem over the lan port.

  13. #13
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    If ur router got an usb port u can hook up the modem & use it without nything else.

    but if ur router doesnt have ny usb port u have to use the wan port. desktop will work as a sharing device that will share the usb modem over the lan port.
    LOL I know, I have used routers. But I have no idea what you're saying.

  14. #14
    Member
    • Nirzhar Uchiha's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock B75 Pro3-M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 @3.40 ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2x 4 GB Transcend 1333 mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Toshiba 1TB + Adata 128gb SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 770 2GB OC
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP65HQ 22" 1080p IPS LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-fi Titaniium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • On Ear: Sony MDR XB950BT / IEM: Soundmagic es18
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Octane Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech M280 Wireless
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One + DualShock 4
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 600w [80+ Bronze]
      • UPS:
      • TechFine 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
      • Comment:
      • Bought it on 5 may,2012 from elephant road.. upgrading started on February,2013 :)
      • ISP:
      • SkyView Online [3 mbps]
      • Download Speed:
      • 370 kBps [International] 11mBps [Local]
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200/200 kBps [International/local]
    Nirzhar Uchiha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vиms Vm View Post
    will this router (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/d...TL-MR3220#spec) work with usb Wimax modem? @redwan hasan
    People over multiplan centre said those tp link routers dnt work with Wimax 4g modems .. and i havent found anyone who ve used that router with wimax..

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 26th, 2013, 22:10
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 20th, 2013, 22:28
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 31st, 2012, 14:38
  4. Want to Exchange Exchange Qubee USb modem for Banglalion USB Modem
    By Akash434 in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 19th, 2011, 10:22
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2010, 14:16

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26689 seconds with 15 queries.