User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

  1. #1
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    This is meant for those who r on UPS or planning to get an UPS with a EXTRA

    feature.

    Some UPS comes with a Shutdown feature that shutdown the PC but dosent

    turn itself OFF. So if u download stuff from the net nd leave the PC running

    on UPS for overnight den there is a good chance that the battery will be

    exhausted due to current electricity condition.

    So ive come up with a design which will Turn the UPS off Completely by

    ITSELF when ur computer is turned of (shutdown,hibernation)

    Ill post a step by step DIY if enuf ppl r interested.

    and i have already done it nd its working like a champ & completely safe as

    well.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	111111111.JPG 
Views:	111 
Size:	49.0 KB 
ID:	962   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	111.JPG 
Views:	94 
Size:	80.0 KB 
ID:	963  

  2. #2
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GM965-DS2 | Gigabyte P55A-UD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel E6600 2.4GHz | Intel Core i7 860 @ 2.8Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2 @ 4-4-4-12 | OCZ XMP Edition 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Cavier Black 1TB+Samsung 160GB+Maxtor 80GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX 8800GS | Sapphire HD5850
      • Display:
      • Samsung T200 20inch Widescreen LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative M2600
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech Easy Deluxe
      • Mouse:
      • Microsoft IntelliExplorer 3.0
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 420W | Fortrex 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64bit
      • Comment:
      • its 3years old :( | just bought this one :D
      • ISP:
      • Smile
    LORĐ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,493

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    it will be imba helpful for me, amar UPS ta elec gele jeirokom tit tit kore sound kore (though raat e jai na elec) tate matha dhore shesh xD
    Sylhet e 'net' nai!!!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    ami thik ei jinish tai khujtesilam... but is it simple enough? can a hardware noob like me do it? pic dekhei to voy lagtese :S
    Last edited by dhUro; April 14th, 2009 at 19:22.


  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,027

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    bhaiya can u plz post step-by-step instructions with pictures if possible

    ur idea u'd be off gr8 hlp to torrent downloaders(including me)

    thank u

  5. #5
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    ill post the DIY Guide tomorrow since ive a xam coming ahead.

    To make it simple and clear i have to Write a whole lot of things dats why im not gona post any smaller version. nd i mi8 make a video guide if demand is high enuf.

    and yes its pretty much simple once u get the idea.

    the principal is USE 12V Relay to short/and disconnect the power switch of the UPS.

    nd the relay will be turned on/off by 12V from psu.

    BTW this MOD is specially applicable for Those who have UPS with data cable

    and software


    those who dont have data cable..... well i havent thought bout that but may be its still possible but the cost will be lil higher.

    the current mod will cost 100-140TK AT MAX!!

    neway lets wait til tomorrow.

    nd thnx 4 ur support.
    Last edited by minitt; April 14th, 2009 at 20:25.

  6. #6
    Forum Staff
    • coldfire7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUSTeK P5QPL-AM
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 @ 3200MHz~ w/ TR TRUE Black 120
      • RAM:
      • Transcend JetRAM (2x2GB) 4GB 800MHz DDR2 Kit @ 875MHz~
      • Hard Drive:
      • [P] Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB [S] 3x1TB, 1x2TB, 1x500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX960 AMP
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster S24A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Schiit Fulla 2
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Philips X2/27 + Shure SRH840
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BW Ultimate 2013 MX Blue w/ O-Ring mod
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX518 (6 years+ running ^^) w/ QcK Heavy
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W
      • UPS:
      • Apollo KS-1200F 2000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows NT 6.1
      • ISP:
      • Dual Homed Jinternets (http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6780327218.png)
      • Download Speed:
      • 10m+20m
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10m+20m
    coldfire7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    2,872

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    Nice DIY !!!

    btw, is that a Rahimafrooz UPS?

  7. #7
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    Mod requirement:

    1. 12v DC operated relay which can handle 5A 22o/240 AC ( i used omron relay made in malaysia from stadium @ 100taka. The relay base (50taka) is precisely made for this relay)

    and 5A 28V DC.see the pix for full spec. The relay i used consists of 4

    set of Slots. completely seperated from each other

    2.A relay base to make the mod more professional and safe.

    if u cant find the base or dun want to spend 50 taka then u must solder all the the points by urself. (which i dont recommand)

    3.1 Feet wire X 4 ( make sure they are thick enough to carry 500to 600 watt of electricy or above or according to ur wattage requirement)

    the choice is urs.

    --------------------
    tools required for the mod.

    1. total 10 fingers.

    2.star screw driver.

    3.Soldering iron and led wire => for soldering cable joints

    optional tools: handy but not exclusively required.

    1. Digital multimeter

    2. Spare PSU for test purpose only.

    3. electricity tester ( the typical tester dat we poke in the socket to check electricity)

    --------------------

    Procedure:

    Step1: 1st try to identify the power switch in ur UPS. this switch is responsible to turn on/off the UPS.

    take a look at the PIX to identify this switch fuction.

    in my case 1&2 (set1) is for AC and 3&4(set2) is for turning on/off speaker(beep beep nd other functions) signaling.however both set needs to be turned on and off together.

    so u can not or should not turn on set 1 while keeping set 2 off. or vice versa.

    In your case things might be even more simpler. (u mi8 have the switch woking for AC only). So, inspect urself.


    Step2: Now that u have understood the power switch. U need to connect 2 piece of wire to 1 and 2 .see the pix.

    Now connect 2 wire to 3 & 4.


    All THE CABLE JOINTS MUST BE SOLDERED TO AVOID LOOSE CONNECTION.

    So in total ull have 4 wire coming out from the UPS. (1,2)and (3,4)

    (i have 6 wire. becaz i connected two wire for 2 and two wire for 1 so dat i can utilize 1 extra slot on the relay for redundency purpose[optional])


    Step3: 1.0 Now take a look at the relay with pin numbers crafted on the bottom of it.


    follow the pictures which should be able to guide u through.



    Step3:1.1 (optinal) when a relay looses power the megnetic coil discharges elctricity that goes back to PSU. We dont want that. But modern PSU should be able handle this quite nicely.

    Still im using it ...just in case...as a safe bet.


    (Its better if u can find a relay which has a resistor or diode built-in. u can aviod step 3 if u can find these.)

    anyway in order to protect the psu from relay backfire voltage u have to connect a Diode (IN4001) between the 12V line which will be powering the relay. Follow the layout on the
    PICTURE.

    So, if every thing is done properly, 1st turn the power switch of UPS to ON and turn ur PC ON which will pass 12V to relay and the relay will short the 1,2 and 3,4 (they r

    already shorted since u manually turned the UPS switch on just a while ago. So once the PC is on u can safely turn the UPS switch to OFF but ur PC is still running since the
    role of UPS power switch is shifted to relay and the relay is in ON mode. NOw when a shutdown is initiated by the UPS software or any other software or manual shutdown , the UPS will only turn off after the PC shutdown.

    For those who dont have a UPS monitoring software to initiate shutdown on power failure can go for 1 additional MOD which ill discuss later on.

    That is all for now. and ill be glad to to assist u if u still need any.

    Thnx for going through this DIY.

    Minitt.

    (@ moderator can u pls make this as 2nd post 4m the eginning so dat ppl can easily spot)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	switch.JPG 
Views:	80 
Size:	68.5 KB 
ID:	972   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connect.JPG 
Views:	69 
Size:	41.8 KB 
ID:	973   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connect 2md.JPG 
Views:	68 
Size:	50.7 KB 
ID:	974   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relay.JPG 
Views:	71 
Size:	166.3 KB 
ID:	975   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DIODE small.JPG 
Views:	96 
Size:	29.3 KB 
ID:	976  

    Last edited by minitt; April 16th, 2009 at 12:26.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    the pix of relay base
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relay base.JPG 
Views:	39 
Size:	360.0 KB 
ID:	977  

  9. #9
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Auto turn off UPS MOD!!

    looks like ppl got scared......

Similar Threads

  1. Grand Theft Auto IV
    By Asif in forum Sand Box
    Replies: 302
    Last Post: January 16th, 2015, 13:12
  2. Win 7 - Turn Off and Disable Hibernation - Save 2 GB Space
    By rafaat in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: May 29th, 2009, 18:14
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: December 27th, 2008, 10:56
  4. Auto Downloading :|
    By abir in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 14th, 2008, 20:44
  5. Auto LogOff
    By xk::v (G®immjaw) in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 9th, 2008, 23:24

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.23178 seconds with 15 queries.