User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Blank Display

  1. #1
    Banned
    • Overlord's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z370 Pro4
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 8400 under CM Hyper 103
      • RAM:
      • Geil 8GB DDR4 2400
      • Hard Drive:
      • SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1660 Super
      • Display:
      • MSI Optix MAG241c 24 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • MicroLab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Gamdias Mechanical
      • Mouse:
      • Corsair Harpoon
      • Controller:
      • USB Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22X DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Weli Power 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Console:
      • 128

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,249

    Default Blank Display

    Yesterday while watching movie my display gone blank but in background movie was running. Then restarted, after a while same problem again. Removed the GPU, cleaned and checked the thermal paste, it was in sufficient amount. And the GPU temp is also ok. Tried with Built in GPU, no problem at all and ran quite a time, its totally fine. Then re attached the gpu and again after a while monitor goes blank. It goes blank randomly.

    GPU : MSI GTX 970 (5 years old)
    PSU : Corsair VS450 (5 years old)

    My suspicion : Faulty PSU or the GPU gone EOL.

    Anyone please any suggestions? What exactly the issue here.

  2. #2
    Member
    • optimus prime's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI K9A2C-ff v1
      • CPU:
      • AMD 64X2 5200+
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1T Hitachi+750GB Samsung+500GB Hitachi
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI 4850 512MB DDR3 & 4830 512MB DDR3 in Xfire
      • Display:
      • ASUS MS228
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F6000(5:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH 747H
      • Controller:
      • Chinese
      • Power Supply:
      • Valuetop 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS
      • UPS:
      • MICRO 1000VA(Customized)
      • ISP:
      • BTCL
      • Download Speed:
      • 1024
      • Upload Speed:
      • 256

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    364

    Default

    No way to tell for sure, could be the psu. Test the gpu in another rig.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus rog strix B360
      • CPU:
      • I5-8400
      • RAM:
      • Gskill tridentz 8gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • 128gb ssd+WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • LG 22inch ips panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec neoeco 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    199

    Default

    Generally a blank screen like your situation indicates towards a failing gpu.However the psu could be at fault also.

    I'm fairly positive it's the gpu but still check it on another rig to confirm..

  4. #4
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI MEG X570 Ace
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 3950X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentZ Neo 4x8GB DDR4 3600
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD SN750 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • AMD 5700XT
      • Display:
      • LG GL850-B
      • Sound Card:
      • SMSL M200/SP200
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • DCA Aeon 2 Closed
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 Rapidfire
      • Mouse:
      • G502 SE
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic Prime Plus Titanium 650W
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,942

    Default

    Sounds like a GPU memory issue. Blast the whole GPU with contact cleaner and if that doesn't help, try the oven bake method (google it)

  5. #5
    Banned
    • Overlord's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z370 Pro4
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 8400 under CM Hyper 103
      • RAM:
      • Geil 8GB DDR4 2400
      • Hard Drive:
      • SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1660 Super
      • Display:
      • MSI Optix MAG241c 24 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • MicroLab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Gamdias Mechanical
      • Mouse:
      • Corsair Harpoon
      • Controller:
      • USB Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22X DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Weli Power 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Console:
      • 128

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    GPU is ok. tested in another rig for 2 hours. I think its the new nvidia driver issue. The PSU is also fine.
    Last edited by Overlord; January 28th, 2020 at 04:19.

  6. #6
    Member
    • TRazerK's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Prime Z370-A
      • CPU:
      • i7 8700k
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws 16GB 2400 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB + Samsung 950 Pro Evo 250GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Asus VX24AH 1440p 60Hz
      • Keyboard:
      • Cougar Puri TKL
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V750
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • ISP:
      • MyInternet
      • Download Speed:
      • 20480
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20480
    TRazerK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Overlord View Post
    GPU is ok. tested in another rig for 2 hours. I think its the new nvidia driver issue. The PSU is also fine.
    So the other rig was on old nvidia driver?
    And what player do you use to watch movies? VLC? Have you tried with any other player?
    So this doesnt happen while playing games?

  7. #7
    Banned
    • Overlord's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z370 Pro4
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 8400 under CM Hyper 103
      • RAM:
      • Geil 8GB DDR4 2400
      • Hard Drive:
      • SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1660 Super
      • Display:
      • MSI Optix MAG241c 24 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in HD Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • MicroLab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Gamdias Mechanical
      • Mouse:
      • Corsair Harpoon
      • Controller:
      • USB Gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22X DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Weli Power 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 25 Mbps
      • Console:
      • 128

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    So the other rig was on old nvidia driver?
    And what player do you use to watch movies? VLC? Have you tried with any other player?
    So this doesnt happen while playing games?
    Reinstalled windows and applied a new hotfix driver. No issues now.

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks for that,I will give it a try

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20562 seconds with 13 queries.