User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help with screwed up RAM

  1. #1
    Member
    • Necray's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte EP43-DSEL
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATI Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20' LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH optical
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD Rewritable drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
      • Comment:
      • :)
      • ISP:
      • Smile Silver Package
      • Download Speed:
      • 18
    Necray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenroad
    Posts
    440

    Default Help with screwed up RAM

    My 2GB DDR2 RAM is actually a composite of two 1 GB RAM and it turns out that one of those 1 GB RAM is defective, which hangs my computer whenever I run an application that makes extensive use of RAM. Changing the defective RAM is not an alternative since my mobo supports RAMs with "16 chipsets"(according to a technician of Hayes & Haier, the retailer of my computer) which has gone extinct from the market(at least, he couldn't find it. Not even the manufacturer of the RAM makes it anymore). If I remove the defective 1GB, then everything works fine.

    It seems that the only way to do this is to open the case and remove the defective one and I really don't want to do this since it only hangs my computer when I play games(which I don't do very often). I'm wondering if it's possible to disable the defective one and then play games? This way, I can again enable it after I'm done playing and avail 2GB of memory.

  2. #2
    Noblesse Oblige
    • CvP's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77 V Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770K @3.9GHz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 @2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 256GB SSD; WD Caviar Black 2TB; Hitachi 250GB; Samsung S3 1.5TB; Hitachi 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 980Ti 6GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung 17"+22"+22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio <internal>
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • G7
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X 850W 80Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • External DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Logitech Carl Zeiss Tessar HD 1080p Webcam
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1500VA with Large Lead-Acid Battery
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Everything packed in a NZXT Phantom 820
      • ISP:
      • Link3/Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 10000
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10000
    CvP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    9,019

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    start > run > msconfig > boot.ini > advanced options > MAXMEM it requires a restart AFAIK. it will also not be any help in your case if your "OK" memory isn't in the lower channel.
    The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power.
    Please do not PM me for support. You will NOT get a reply. Post in the relevant forum section.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Necray's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte EP43-DSEL
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATI Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20' LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH optical
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD Rewritable drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
      • Comment:
      • :)
      • ISP:
      • Smile Silver Package
      • Download Speed:
      • 18
    Necray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenroad
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by CvP View Post
    it will also not be any help in your case if your "OK" memory isn't in the lower channel.
    meaning?

  4. #4
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19" wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    I dont get it.. what you will do with 2gb of RAM if you cant play games with em? And I am sure you can find supported RAM for your motherboard in market! Dont listen to those ultra smart sells technicians they are so full of ****. Hynix still make 16 chip RAMs and I am pretty sure other 8 chip RAMS will also work on your MB (from my personal experience, jetflash /trancend works on almost all motherboard).
    Its not wise to use a defective RAM on your system, any time your whole system might crash and cause loss of your valuable documents/files.
    * বাংলাগেমার IRC Chat ব্যাবহার করুন, IRC খুব সামান্য ব্যান্ডউইথ ব্যাবহার করে।
    * কোন পোষ্ট ভাল লাগলে Rep+ দিয়ে পোষ্টারকে উৎসাহিত করুন।


  5. #5
    Member
    • Necray's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte EP43-DSEL
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATI Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20' LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH optical
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD Rewritable drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
      • Comment:
      • :)
      • ISP:
      • Smile Silver Package
      • Download Speed:
      • 18
    Necray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenroad
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    Well I reduced MAXMEM to 768MB and it still didn't work. Any other options?

  6. #6
    Noblesse Oblige
    • CvP's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77 V Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770K @3.9GHz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 @2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 256GB SSD; WD Caviar Black 2TB; Hitachi 250GB; Samsung S3 1.5TB; Hitachi 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 980Ti 6GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung 17"+22"+22"
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio <internal>
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • G7
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic X 850W 80Plus Gold
      • Optical Drive:
      • External DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Logitech Carl Zeiss Tessar HD 1080p Webcam
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1500VA with Large Lead-Acid Battery
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Everything packed in a NZXT Phantom 820
      • ISP:
      • Link3/Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 10000
      • Upload Speed:
      • 10000
    CvP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    9,019

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Necray View Post
    meaning?
    means your faulty RAM should come after the good one.

    look in your mobo body (or manual) to know which one is what channel (0, 1, 2, 3 etc).
    The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power.
    Please do not PM me for support. You will NOT get a reply. Post in the relevant forum section.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Necray's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte EP43-DSEL
      • CPU:
      • Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATI Radeon HD 4850 1GB DDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 20' LCD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH optical
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD Rewritable drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
      • Comment:
      • :)
      • ISP:
      • Smile Silver Package
      • Download Speed:
      • 18
    Necray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Greenroad
    Posts
    440

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by CvP View Post
    means your faulty RAM should come after the good one.

    look in your mobo body (or manual) to know which one is what channel (0, 1, 2, 3 etc).

    looks like the "ok" RAM is after the faulty one. I'll interchange their positions.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by CvP View Post
    start > run > msconfig > boot.ini > advanced options > MAXMEM it requires a restart AFAIK. it will also not be any help in your case if your "OK" memory isn't in the lower channel.

    dosent the OS sees the memory as a whole???

  9. #9
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default Re: Help with screwed up RAM

    No.It may show like that in the my computer or dxdiag.But they are seen differently.
    And an offtopic post to all the n00bs that think win 7 can utilize 4 gB ram,Ms just decided to show the available ram not the useable one after having to reply to a kazillion support mails.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20132 seconds with 13 queries.