User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can you tell me?

  1. #1
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Can you tell me?

    Can u tell me these:-
    1.Difference between INTEL FSB speed of 1600MHz and AMD HT speed of 1.8-2.0GHZ?
    2.What is MT/s ?
    3.if CORE i7 has 4800MT/s speed ,is that means it has a FSB speed of 2.4GHz??
    please anwer these question
    Last edited by Uchiha Obito; January 27th, 2009 at 01:03.

  2. #2
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19" wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: Can you tell me?

    Answer to the question number 1:

    FSB:
    The FSB (Front Side Bus) started out as the parallel bus that connected all components on the motherboard. Since then, point to point serial connections replace the FSB in other connections (SATA, PCI-Express, DMI) and left the CPU as the only connection using the FSB connecting to the FSB. While it is an old and aging technology, it is cheap and easy to implement, and any number of processors can use this single bus at a time. However bandwidth cannot scale up to meet the needs of current generation hardware and is soon becoming the bottleneck in high end systems.
    The current generation FSB is a 64-bit wide parallel bus running at speeds from 266 MHz to 400 MHz. This bus is quad-rate (send 4 bits per clock cycle) so the effective FSB speeds are 1066 MHz to 1600 MHz. It is a direct connection between processor and Northbridge of the chipset.
    for more info visit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Front_side_bus

    HT:
    HT (Hyper Transport) started with the release of the Athlon 64, AMD's direct competition to Intel's Pentium 4, in 2003. AMD figured that the FSB would slow down and kill their efficiency advantage, which was AMD's selling point. By putting the memory controller directly on the processor chip, the FSB was no longer needed to connect processor and memory via the chipset.
    HT is a serial connection much like the PCI-Express bus used for video cards. It has a 32-bit data width in duplex running at speeds from 200 MHz to 2.6 GHz. It achieves this unusually high clock rate via the LDT multiplier, which could vary from 1x to 5x. HT also runs in DDR much like memory today, so that the 2.6 GHz clock produced 5.2 GT/s.
    HyperTransport is able to directly negotiate bit widths and frequency speeds between devices. That means that the 32-bit width can handle 1x 32-bit or 2x 16-bit or 4x 8-bit and any other number of bit widths and frequencies.
    for more info visit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperTransport

    Conclusion:
    So as you can see, FSB and HT is completly two different technology. Comparing them would be much like comparing between a apple and orange! There is no direct way to compare an Intel Processor and an AMD processor just by their FSB and HT value ( but remember HT is way too better than FSB). To compair two processor from those two manufacture.. you must know other specifications like clock speed, clock cycle rate, core multiplier etc.

    Answer to the question number 2:

    (MegaTransfers per SECond) A measurement of bus and channel speed in millions of "effective" cycles per second. MT/sec is a rating of the actual, delivered speed rather than the speed of the interface clock. For example, if timing is derived from both the rising and falling edges of a clock cycle rather than one complete cycle, the effective rate is doubled: a 400 megahertz (MHz) clock yields 800 megatransfers per second (MT/sec). In this case, using 800 megahertz (800 MHz) as a rating would be technically incorrect because it is not the true speed of the clock.

    Many manufacturers today publish the speed of the FSB in megatransfers per second (MT/s), not the FSB clock frequency in megahertz (MHz). This is because the actual speed is determined by how many transfers can be performed each clock cycle as well as by the clock frequency. If a motherboard (or processor) has a FSB clocked at 200 MHz and performs 4 transfers per clock cycle, the FSB is rated at 800 MT/s.

    Answer to the question number 3:

    Technically the answer is NO. It depends on how many clock cycles it does per second. Clock Speed x Clock cycle = FSB

    If you are planning to buy a new processor I suggest an AMD.

    I hope that helped you.



    * বাংলাগেমার IRC Chat ব্যাবহার করুন, IRC খুব সামান্য ব্যান্ডউইথ ব্যাবহার করে।
    * কোন পোষ্ট ভাল লাগলে Rep+ দিয়ে পোষ্টারকে উৎসাহিত করুন।


  3. #3
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Can you tell me?

    sabash
    thank you
    but don;t you think 125Wis too high TDP?
    and amd providership doesn't well exsit in BANGLADESH
    where as 790G chipset in india is 7400Rupee and in bd it is too high
    so not every one can buy the AMD welly though it is Efficient

  4. #4
    Member
    • AmareX's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA P35 DS3L All Solod Capasitor OCMaster
      • CPU:
      • Intel E5200 OCed 4 GHz + ASUS Silent square Cooler
      • RAM:
      • Apogee 4 GB DDR2 1066 bus at dual channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1000 GB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Built in
      • Display:
      • LG Flatron W1942S 19" wide 16:10 LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtec 8 channel digital
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing 2:1 + Razer Barracuda 5:1 Headphone
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech GameMaster
      • Mouse:
      • Verbatim Rapier V2 3200 DPI Laser
      • Controller:
      • XFX XGear
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVDRW + Samsung DVDROM
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 4 GB Pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sendon Extreme 1000 VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • Comment:
      • I am satisfied :)
      • ISP:
      • GP
      • Download Speed:
      • 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30
    AmareX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Between α and Ω.
    Posts
    3,034

    Default Re: Can you tell me?

    You are always welcome.
    Yes .. you are right about it! Normally AMD is much more cheap than Intel.. but Intel gives sellers more profit and thats why Bangladeshi profit hungry sellers dont sell AMD and lead distributors dont import AMD! And also there are some people think Intel is the only processor world have!
    But it wasnt always same.. ami jokhon AMD kini tokhon price bes kom silo.. abar kisu din age multiplan center e bes low price e AMD paoya jeto (ekhono jay but price high). Asole AMD er valo importer nai bole product o paoya jay na .. warrenty o paoya jay na
    Best jodi baire theke AMD anate paren!
    * বাংলাগেমার IRC Chat ব্যাবহার করুন, IRC খুব সামান্য ব্যান্ডউইথ ব্যাবহার করে।
    * কোন পোষ্ট ভাল লাগলে Rep+ দিয়ে পোষ্টারকে উৎসাহিত করুন।


  5. #5
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: Can you tell me?

    the simple fact is that there is a memory controller which basically handles the communication between the CPU and the RAM. In Core2, and previous generations, this was located on the motherboard(underneath the heatsink smack in the center of the motherboard basically), so the communication was from the CPU>>Memory Controller>>RAM and vice versa. Whereas from Athlon 64 onwards (and intel from i7 onwards) the memory controller is located on the CPU itself. Hence, communication is from CPU>>FSB only, and vice versa. So the latency (latency referes to the time, in cycles, taken for a command to be taken, executed and sent to/from the memory, in basic terms) is reduced since there isnt a northbridge in the middle as a bottleneck

    And to anwser ur last question, Core i7 does not have an fsb, it uses a technology very similar to AMD's Hypertransport, called Quickpath, but instead of utilising two banks of DDR2 memory which hypertransport uses, it utilises 3 banks of DDR3 memory (even though AMD's upcoming AM3 socket will have DDR3 support)

    So when it says 4800MT/s, it refers to the speed of the Quickpath interconnect which connects various components (not only the CPU/RAM, but the graphics cards etc aswell) similar to AMD's Hypertransport. This does not mean its the memory bandwidth, but the speed of communication throughout the carious components the quickpath si connected to. The memory bandwidth itself will only depend on the memory speed, as in, as you increase memory speed the total bandwidth will automatically increase there is no tinkering to be done with the FSB speed to increase to get more bandwidth, the only variable is the memory speed(some other factors are there, but thats going into further complicated details). So basically, FSB is outdated and this is an entirely new way of communication, not only from the CPU/FSB but the other components aswell

    and if you really want an AMD system, ill have some of the parts of my current system for sale this summer...check my rig for more details
    Last edited by Mazhar; February 2nd, 2009 at 01:44.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default Re: Can you tell me?

    mazhar bhai will you come to bd this summer?
    if u come to BD this summer we can make some deal
    and as i am and wnt to be a repured buyer and seller,if u can give me ur mail-ID to me by PRIVATE MASSAGE it would be very helpful

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20516 seconds with 13 queries.