User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GPU + CPU myth created by me and my friend :)

  1. #1

    Cool GPU + CPU myth created by me and my friend :)

    Lets go to the point straight.

    My friend has HD5770. He bought it from clickbd ( second hand , under my influence ). He had a p4 psu (400W lekha) and after installing the card, it works but gets overheat and pc shuts down. I had my 500W Thermaltech with me so i replaced and ran fine for a week. So we 2 *wisely* accepted that its a psu problem. So he agreed to buy one.

    He was in low budget , plus i had a devil idea So i told him to buy another valueTop 500W and do deul psu thing ( dont laugh ). I short circuit the valuetop and plugs it to multiplug. Use 6 pin converter and dedicate the psu only to GPU. Another psu is separated as it is (400W likha ta) and works as primary. I knew nothing about synchronization thing but my gut told me something could blow out. But i assured my friend that everything is under control . I turned the valueTop first and the card start running on max fan speed. Then i switched on the computer and everything worked perfectly

    Most important factor is , he is still using this configuration for a year and nothing's blown / damaged. I checked the performance in Hitman Absolution and FC3. My Thermaltech 500W lightweight and this duel thing makes same performance ( did a fps check by Fraps and used Furmark )

    By being enthusiastic with the idea , i exchanged my psu with his 2 psu's and ran in my system ( HD 6850 ) for a month. Same performance as far gameplay is concerned.

    Btw , me and my friend are both noobs in hardware. So we both are confused by this questions :

    1. Should the 500W Thermaltech outperform duel psu ? Or psu's does not affect performance ?
    2. The idea of us that one dedicated psu for GPU will serve better , or is just an illusion ?
    3. Shouldn't the card blown out for the first place ? i mean i googled and every forum says so.
    4. Is it necessary ? Or totally unnecessary ? I mean i have mixed experience. His old 400W cant run the pc for a long time , mine got hot and shut down. But the valueTop can run both of our system without duel config. But we noticed a slight fps drop (5-6 frames in sleeping dogs only , in other game same ) , nothing major.

    We both are excited to hear things from you guys ! I know you guys are pro , coz you helped me to build a pc and thats the only smart thing in my room

  2. #2
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    Dual psu electricity bill baraite pare but logically jinish ta safe but arektu vitore gale you guys are lucky ar generic psu chalaite vaggo o lage jai howk dual psu akta temporary use er jonne ok but not for permanent solution ar 2ta dual psu te cable management o horrible hoise i guess so imo single psu is always good but dual for testing or temporary but dont use it as permanent

  3. #3
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    @cowboysaif thermaltake sells dedicated PSU which works in parallel with primary psu. In ur case u have basically followed the same principal.
    Such setup will work until one of the PSU's rail deviates greatly from the other psu. N you will be surprised that many people already tried dual psu with no ill effect. at least I haven't heard anything negative. But this is a messy setup.

    If u want to start both PSU together, try splicing the green (psu1) +Green (psu 2) and black (psu1) +black (psu 2)

    black wire can be any black wire.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks. I'll keep it in my mind

  5. #5
    Member
    • Rawkill's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z77 Extreme 6
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz/ Phanteks PH-TC14PE
      • RAM:
      • Kingston Hyper X Genesis 2 x 4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB x 2
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Geforce GTX 970 Gaming 4GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H 23-inch IPS Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster ZX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80ohm, Oppo HA-2 Amp, FnD 6000U 5.1 Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G502 Spectrum, Razer Goliath Speed Extended (Overwatch Edition)
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F510 Rumblepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Harry Potter (HP) DVD-RW
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
      • Comment:
      • Cooler Master HAF - X
      • ISP:
      • Dot Internet
      • Download Speed:
      • 550-600 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200-2500 KB/s
    Rawkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Dee vai help korte pare. As far as I remember he did something like this. @Dee


  6. #6
    Member
    • optimus prime's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI K9A2C-ff v1
      • CPU:
      • AMD 64X2 5200+
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1T Hitachi+750GB Samsung+500GB Hitachi
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI 4850 512MB DDR3 & 4830 512MB DDR3 in Xfire
      • Display:
      • ASUS MS228
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F6000(5:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH 747H
      • Controller:
      • Chinese
      • Power Supply:
      • Valuetop 500W
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS
      • UPS:
      • MICRO 1000VA(Customized)
      • ISP:
      • BTCL
      • Download Speed:
      • 1024
      • Upload Speed:
      • 256

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Tried this many years ago...works fine ...u can use a relay switch to start & stop both psu at the same time with the power button

Similar Threads

  1. CoD 8 help created dedicated server MW3 Teknogods
    By teamj3f in forum Call of Duty
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 13th, 2012, 16:57
  2. Post ur own created gif and swf
    By sadi_warhead in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 16th, 2009, 01:18
  3. Show us ur own created site
    By sadi_warhead in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 24th, 2009, 22:29
  4. Download My created Mp3 tones
    By Ic3_STrik3R in forum Music
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: January 25th, 2009, 07:48
  5. BanglaGamer- facebook group created
    By Noob™ in forum Announcements
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: April 17th, 2008, 05:51

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.18681 seconds with 14 queries.