User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CUDA vs OPENCL

  1. #1
    Member
    • Mushfiq_assassin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE GA-H61M-S2PV
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3 2120 3.3 Ghz (2nd gen.)
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 8gb 1333 mhz bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 500 gb Cavier Black 7200 rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • SAPPHIRE HD 7750 1 GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • LG FLATRON E1942 18.5 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH PS2 Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • GIGABYTE USB Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • GIGABYTE POWERROCK EX 450 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • SAMSUNG 24x DVD-RW
      • UPS:
      • MERCURY ELITE PRO 800 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT
      • Comment:
      • satisfied
      • ISP:
      • KS network
      • Download Speed:
      • 30-40 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Shitty

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    17

    Default CUDA vs OPENCL

    Ami onk age thekei sunsi j only nvidia cuda and physx support kore.....ati/amd kore na
    amd physx er equivalent kisu ekhn o ber korte pare nai.....
    but ami sure na j nvidia cuda r amd er opencl ki eki jinish??
    cuz wiki says so.....
    jodi tai hoy taile to cuda er same performance radeon o dibe....
    can anyone explain this .....

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    They are definitely not the same thing, but they might be able to the same thing. Don't really know technical details, but PhysX is completely nvidia property, so no AMD cards will never be able to produce PhysX effects unless they license it out. OpenCL is platform neutral and should produce same effects on different cards.

  3. #3
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    PhysX effects requires a number of cuda cores to perform and only nvidia gpu's has cuda cores so its nvidias one sided advantage. And i dont know about this open cl thing technicaly thats why cant say anything but even i didnt see any games used it in game setting may be its a programme for work station fire pro gpus. But amd uses steam processor kinda weaker than cuda cores thats why you cant run physx effects with a amd gpu or it will run slow but physx effects can be run with processors cores but it will be unplayable .many people used to run physX with a amd gpu pairing with a hybride nvidia gpu as a physx card and then amd gpus can run physx games but the all systems are very complicated and the person who want to do that have to have a good ideas on this to do this work

  4. #4
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B75M-D3H rev1.1
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3470 Ivy bridge//Core i5-4200U
      • RAM:
      • Silicon Power 4GB DDR3 @1600 mhz(8-8-8-24-1T) // TwinMOS 4GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD green 500gb// Hitachi 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 960 strix// GT 750M
      • Display:
      • AOC e2043Fsk 20" LED(1600 X 900) DCR 50,000,000:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KRS-86
      • Mouse:
      • Thermaltake azureus
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec VP450P
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW+Asus CD RW
      • Operating System:
      • Win 8.1 pro x64
    @nonymous™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    1,490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mushfiq_assassin View Post
    Ami onk age thekei sunsi j only nvidia cuda and physx support kore.....ati/amd kore na
    amd physx er equivalent kisu ekhn o ber korte pare nai.....
    but ami sure na j nvidia cuda r amd er opencl ki eki jinish??
    cuz wiki says so.....
    jodi tai hoy taile to cuda er same performance radeon o dibe....
    can anyone explain this .....
    first of all opencl is not a amd exclusive thing. it is mainly developed by apple and can be used in all available instruction sets(intel,amd,nvidia,arm... etc) to perform computational works, where CUDA SDK is only applicable for CUDA instruction sets/CUDA core........
    Last edited by @nonymous™; January 22nd, 2013 at 23:27.

  5. #5
    Member
    • proton_chain's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • 4x4GB DDR3-1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 6.5TB (3TB+2TB+1TB+.5TB)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia Geforce GTX 760 4GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung Syncmaster 22 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • TT Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Bloody V3M
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony Optiarc DVD burner
      • USB Devices:
      • Blue Yeti USB Microphone
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
    proton_chain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mushfiq_assassin View Post
    Ami onk age thekei sunsi j only nvidia cuda and physx support kore.....ati/amd kore na
    That's right.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mushfiq_assassin View Post
    amd physx er equivalent kisu ekhn o ber korte pare nai.....
    There isn't any. To be honest, game developers simply are not so interested about it. In fact, it's being used more extensively outside the gaming industry (in workstation software for GPU accelerated physics simulation).
    Quote Originally Posted by Mushfiq_assassin View Post
    but ami sure na j nvidia cuda r amd er opencl ki eki jinish??
    Similar? Yes. Same? No.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mushfiq_assassin View Post
    jodi tai hoy taile to cuda er same performance radeon o dibe....
    Highly unlikely. They use different approaches, so processing power is likely to mismatch.


  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    U will find "Stream" processor in ATi cards that is similar to nVIDIA's "CUDA".
    There are different programs that supports either CUDA or Stream to get a bit more acceleration.


    Google it & u will find many interesting things.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Shrapmeth's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-750 2.67 Ghz OC'ed @ 3.73 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4x2 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster SA300
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative X-Fi Platinum
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4 Tech
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 875W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD/RW
      • UPS:
      • PowerGuard 2000Va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • Comment:
      • Trying to make it more future proof. :)
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-650
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300-650
    Shrapmeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka,Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    @proton_chain Off-topic: Where did you get that Lockheed Martin signature? It's really cool.

  8. #8
    Member
    • proton_chain's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • 4x4GB DDR3-1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 6.5TB (3TB+2TB+1TB+.5TB)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia Geforce GTX 760 4GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung Syncmaster 22 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH440
      • Keyboard:
      • TT Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Bloody V3M
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony Optiarc DVD burner
      • USB Devices:
      • Blue Yeti USB Microphone
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Amber IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 384 KB/s (day), 786 KB/s (night)
    proton_chain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shrapmeth View Post
    @proton_chain Off-topic: Where did you get that Lockheed Martin Signature? It's really cool.
    Thanks, I made it myself.


  9. #9
    Member
    • Mushfiq_assassin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE GA-H61M-S2PV
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3 2120 3.3 Ghz (2nd gen.)
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 8gb 1333 mhz bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 500 gb Cavier Black 7200 rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • SAPPHIRE HD 7750 1 GB GDDR5
      • Display:
      • LG FLATRON E1942 18.5 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH PS2 Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • GIGABYTE USB Mouse
      • Power Supply:
      • GIGABYTE POWERROCK EX 450 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • SAMSUNG 24x DVD-RW
      • UPS:
      • MERCURY ELITE PRO 800 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT
      • Comment:
      • satisfied
      • ISP:
      • KS network
      • Download Speed:
      • 30-40 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Shitty

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    U will find "Stream" processor in ATi cards that is similar to nVIDIA's "CUDA".
    There are different programs that supports either CUDA or Stream to get a bit more acceleration.


    Google it & u will find many interesting things.
    please give me some useful links....

Similar Threads

  1. Adobe CS6 supports OpenCL acceleration
    By FilClaw in forum Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 11th, 2012, 13:32
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 29th, 2010, 21:29
  3. nVidia’s VP for CUDA and PhysX moves to AMD?
    By SHÅîTÅN™ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 31st, 2010, 18:14
  4. NVIDIA CUDA Emulator for every PC
    By Red Devil in forum GPU
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: April 9th, 2010, 13:42
  5. CUDA & PhysX are here!
    By coldfire7 in forum GPU
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 14th, 2008, 11:14

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21747 seconds with 14 queries.