User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Sapphire hd 6970 power Requirements details please.

  1. #1
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default Sapphire hd 6970 power Requirements details please.

    I ve been using an HD 5850 with my current core i7 860 CPU with a TT TR2 500W power Supply, no problems at all.

    now i want to upgrade to a 6970. ..and was wondering if the power supply is going to be an issue.
    Could anyone tell me-
    1. how much +12v amps are needed for a 6970.. and also another qus.

    2. is my i7 860 going to bottleneck a 6970.

    thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    I'm pretty sure it won't bottleneck and I think you should atleast go for a 650W non modular psu.

  3. #3
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    I'm pretty sure it won't bottleneck and I think you should atleast go for a 650W non modular psu.
    thank u.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1 (Currently dead) | Intel DH55TC
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 Ghz (Currently not used) | intel Core i7 860 @ 3.3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600 MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    If your PSU can handle a HD 5850, i don't see why it shouldn't be able to handle the HD 6970, and furthermore, there's nothing wrong with "modular" power supplies, modular power supplies are great, as you can avoid cable clutters by taking off the unnecessary cables, what you should be looking for is a single rail PSU, but it isn't an absolute necessity.

    Edit; I see now that you're using a TT TR2 500W, even if it is one of the newer revisions of TR2, that processor of yours makes things a bit difficult as the processor itself draws 95W power, so what you should be looking at is atleast a 600W PSU to stay safe as Hamilton has pointed out, I dunno if the TT Smart 550W are available right now.
    Last edited by Fox Mulder; December 9th, 2012 at 13:43.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Paladin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Z77 Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570k with water cooler
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1600Mhz 4+4GB Dual Channel
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB SSD+ WD 3TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • AMD Sapphire 7970 3GB
      • Display:
      • Dell 23 inch IPS
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar DX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake Toughpower XT 675 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • Two Asus DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Segate 3TB for Backup
      • UPS:
      • RahimAfroze
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Grameen Phone
      • Download Speed:
      • 30KBPS
      • Upload Speed:
      • 30KBPS
    Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    112

    Default

    HD 6970 will work fine with 500w PSU.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    I'm pretty sure it won't bottleneck and I think you should atleast go for a 650W non modular psu.
    Why not go for Modular PSUs?

  7. #7
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default

    i was wondering if i keep the psu and add the extra money and go for a 7850.
    thats a good alternative..what do u guys think?

  8. #8
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shohag2018 View Post
    i was wondering if i keep the psu and add the extra money and go for a 7850.
    thats a good alternative..what do u guys think?
    Better option.
    The HD7850 consumes less power too.

  9. #9
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXcavator View Post
    Why not go for Modular PSUs?
    sorry, mistakenly wrote Non Modular instead of Modular XD

  10. #10
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    You can go for gtx 660 by adding only 2k extra and i am pretty sure your psu can handle this gpu too

  11. #11
    Member
    • shohag2018's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-USB3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 860 OC'[email protected] 3.5ghz (TT Frio OCK).
      • RAM:
      • a-DATA 8GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung evo 250gb SSD+1 TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 970 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony Bravia 26inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 ll Nokia BT stereo 503 ll Nokia BT Stereo 505
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech bloody b314
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3m
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 wired original
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung dvd-rw
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 8GB.
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 pro x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Cinebench r15- 600, Unigine valley- 54fps
      • Comment:
      • Going under renovation, Next is CPU-mobo!
      • ISP:
      • Aftab IT
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4 mbps
    shohag2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,966

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blood stain child View Post
    You can go for gtx 660 by adding only 2k extra and i am pretty sure your psu can handle this gpu too
    thanks for the suggestion.

Similar Threads

  1. Sale (Used) Sapphire and XFX 6970
    By Hemlock in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 17th, 2012, 11:38
  2. info needed for sapphire hd 6970
    By evan.igniters in forum GPU
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 6th, 2011, 20:41
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2011, 23:23
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 20th, 2009, 03:02
  5. Batman - Arkham Asylum System Requirements and Details
    By Leaving BG in forum Upcoming PC Titles
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: May 13th, 2009, 00:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.22385 seconds with 14 queries.