User Tag List

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Need Some Advice

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    621

    Default Need Some Advice

    I bought a new computer recently. The processor is a Core 2 Quad Q6600. It came with an AsRock G41M motherboard, which I believe is it's weakest spot. It also has 4GB RAM. I got a new graphics card, the Gigabyte GTX 560 and I bought a 500W Thermaltake Litepower PSU to power the whole CPU. My main concern is whether the PSU is good enough for me to play games for long stretches at a time without damaging my computer. I'd also like to know which motherboard to buy, but I will have to wait for at least a few months before I can upgrade that.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    There is no point of getting another LGA775 board now, move to a newer platform.
    And yes that PSU should be enough for that system.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXcavator View Post
    There is no point of getting another LGA775 board now, move to a newer platform.
    And yes that PSU should be enough for that system.
    Hey Rakin bro, afaik TT LP 500w gives combined 23A on +12v rails. Isn't that true?
    Then how come this psu can safely handle a 560 along with a Q6600? Sorry if I'm missing any point.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reznov View Post
    Hey Rakin bro, afaik TT LP 500w gives combined 23A on +12v rails. Isn't that true?
    Then how come this psu can safely handle a 560 along with a Q6600? Sorry if I'm missing any point.
    That can't be right, Tt's site lists it as 36A combined on the dual +12v rails, so even if it can't deliver that, it should be able to deliver ~30A which should be enough for that Q6600 and 560. The 560 has a TDP of 160W and the Quad 95W, which still leaves ~180W headroom for other stuff and remember it won't consume so much power in day to day use.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Single Player's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Foxconn H55MXV
      • CPU:
      • Core i3 540
      • RAM:
      • 2+2 GB DDR3 (1333 MHz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • 400 GB Samsung(320+80 @ 7200RPM)
      • Graphics Card:
      • 1 GB HD5570 DDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung 793DF
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio | Creative Sound Blaster Live!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 4400 4:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KRS-86 Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • Havit HV-MS686
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • TT Lite Power W0316
      • Optical Drive:
      • 24x ASUS DVD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • 16GB + 8GB Tanscend
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows7 (x64)
      • Comment:
      • Not gonna upgrade
      • ISP:
      • DFN BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 550-650 Kb/s
    Single Player's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    চেয়ারের উপর
    Posts
    1,917

    Default

    As eXcavator said,you better to move on a new platform.u should look for 2nd hand if u can't afford required money for new mobo n processor.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Oh mine is LP-500NL1NH it gives 23A. Sorry I confused it with the the latest LP 500W variants
    Welcome to the internet. Where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reznov View Post
    Oh mine is LP-500NL1NH it gives 23A. Sorry I confused it with the the latest LP 500W variants
    Oh lol. If his one is the same as yours, I would reconsider getting a new PSU.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Reznov View Post
    Oh mine is LP-500NL1NH it gives 23A. Sorry I confused it with the the latest LP 500W variants
    Oh lol. If his one is the same, I would reconsider and get a new PSU.
    Last edited by Rakin7; November 30th, 2012 at 23:40.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Reznov's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte G31M-ES2C
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
      • RAM:
      • 3GB DDR2 800mhz (2GB+1GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG SP2004C | HITACHI Deskstar 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB GDDR3
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19C300
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH KM-720
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Litepower 500w LP-500NL1NH
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD R/W
      • USB Devices:
      • Adata UV150 (16 GB USB3)
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Mobile ISP
      • Download Speed:
      • Vashae Prokasher Ojoggo
    Reznov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Dinajpur
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXcavator View Post
    Oh lol. If his one is the same, I would reconsider and get a new PSU.
    I dont hope so with a hope that he bought a new one. LP-500NL1NH has been discontinued a long time ago and not even listed in TT's website.
    Welcome to the internet. Where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXcavator View Post
    There is no point of getting another LGA775 board now, move to a newer platform.
    And yes that PSU should be enough for that system.
    What do you mean by a new platform? Any recommendations which you might make to help me best utilize my components?

    And another thing, my PSU is model LT-500P. It is on the thermaltake website.

  10. #10
    Member
    • maheer.dhruba's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H81 S2PV rev 2.0
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 4460 @3.2Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Avexir (2x4)Gb 1333Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 290 4GB OC edition 2GB
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5 inch 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 channel
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Logitech f310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V550 Gold @Thermaltake Spacecraft
      • Optical Drive:
      • samsung DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Corsair 32GB usb 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • I'm Loving it!!! :)
      • ISP:
      • X-link 1Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 128 KBps
    maheer.dhruba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narayanganj, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sammi View Post
    What do you mean by a new platform? Any recommendations which you might make to help me best utilize my components?

    And another thing, my PSU is model LT-500P. It is on the thermaltake website.
    by new platform he meant moving on to the new LGA1155 sockets


  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Thanks for all the help guys. I was really worried about my PSU overheating and maybe burning up. But I am now quite certain that won't be happening. As for the motherboard, I will post here and get your opinions before I decide on which to buy. This is truly a great forum for us gamers. Noobs and pros alike. Let's keep up the good work.

    Update - I am quite concerned about my PSU burning up. I have been very cautious but it is getting to the point of paranoia. Please tell me if this is possible or not. I play games like Blur, FIFA 13, NBA 2K13, Driver San Francisco, GTA IV and Skyrim frequently. Should I turn off my pc for a little while in between and let the whole CPU cool down or will it be able to cope up? I am very scared as the shopkeeper told me that there is a slight chance of my PSU burning.
    Last edited by sammi; December 1st, 2012 at 04:38.

  12. #12
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    Have you seen anything happen to your PC? Why exactly are you worried? If it's because the shopkeeper said so then don't worry, then are wrong almost all the time

  13. #13
    Member
    • shafi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z170 gaming 7, apple macbook pro late 2013 retina/ apple ipad air/iPad pro 9.7 iPhone 7+
      • CPU:
      • CORE i7 6700K WITH coolermaster hyper 212 evo/intel haswell i7 2.3 ghz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill RipJaws v 3000 32gb ddr4/16 gb ddr3 1600 mhz on mac
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 evo 250gb+1tb+wd ezex 1tb, trancend 35t3 3 tb, Wd black 5tb, 950 pro, muskin 1tb
      • Graphics Card:
      • gigabyte gtx 1080 xtreme sli/ intel iris pro+ nvidia gt 750m 2gb gddr5
      • Display:
      • samsung ku 6290 4k uhd tv, Dell S2716DG
      • Sound Card:
      • Sound blaster zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Akg k7xx,Samson sr 850, audio technica ath m50x, ,dt 990 pro, hd 598
      • Keyboard:
      • corsair vengeance k95 rgb
      • Mouse:
      • logitech g500s, g700s,g502,g402, deathadder chorma on razer goliathus speed edition
      • Controller:
      • ps4, xbox one controller
      • Power Supply:
      • corsair rm i 1000w
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • 32 gb trancend, 64gb sandisk, 16gb kingston
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 education, mac osx maverick 10.9.1
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • wei- cpu and ram-7.6 on stock, gfx-7.9
      • Comment:
      • thanks a lot to omnipotent creator(as a muslim allah) for my awesome rig, xbox one and ps4
      • ISP:
      • Teksavvy 60mbps unlimited
      • Download Speed:
      • 9.2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload
      • Console:
      • 128
    shafi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,712

    Default

    if bd shopkeepers tell u to move right, u should definitely adjust urself to the left, cuz there is no doubt a trap is hidden and is waiting for u to be impaled, so don't pay heed to their bullshits, they told me when i was a student of class nine while getting a crappy xfx 9600 gt from them(they also convinced me at that time that xfx is far better than asus) that if it didn't get proper power, it might be burned out, and burning a gfx card is not that easy unless u pour some petrol onto it and ignite by a lighter or match,
    but i would like to suggest that for a gtx 560 500w isn't that much, u haven't plenty of rooms to oc the gpu as well as giving a chance of chilling out to ur psu, so getting a 500w+ psu would be beneficial, but its all upto u
    iam using a gtx 560 sli setup, and 750w was plenty enough for this rig, but still i bought a 850w to ensure that i may not fall into trouble when i will oc my gpu in future and also it has got plenty of room to run my gpus without any stretch
    Last edited by shafi; December 1st, 2012 at 12:48.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shafi View Post
    if bd shopkeepers tell u to move right, u should definitely adjust urself to the left, cuz there is no doubt a trap is hidden and is waiting for u to be impaled, so don't pay heed to their bullshits, they told me when i was a student of class nine while getting a crappy xfx 9600 gt from them(they also convinced me at that time that xfx is far better than asus) that if it didn't get proper power, it might be burned out, and burning a gfx card is not that easy unless u pour some petrol onto it and ignite by a lighter or match,
    but i would like to suggest that for a gtx 560 500w isn't that much, u haven't plenty of rooms to oc the gpu as well as giving a chance of chilling out to ur psu, so getting a 500w+ psu would be beneficial, but its all upto u
    iam using a gtx 560 sli setup, and 750w was plenty enough for this rig, but still i bought a 850w to ensure that i may not fall into trouble when i will oc my gpu in future and also it has got plenty of room to run my gpus without any stretch
    I wont be overclocking anything since I am not an expert at it and don't want to brick my system. Also, I am getting the performance which I require so I don't see any need for that yet (Maybe when GTA V comes out). I haven't been getting any warning signals from my CPU either but I was worried about the shopkeeper. Anyway now I can rest assured that I am most probably safe. As long as my graphics card remains unharmed I am completely at ease. Thank you guys for all the help. I really appreciate it.

  15. #15
    Member
    • maheer.dhruba's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H81 S2PV rev 2.0
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 4460 @3.2Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Avexir (2x4)Gb 1333Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 290 4GB OC edition 2GB
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5 inch 1080p
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 5.1 channel
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech bloody v3
      • Controller:
      • Logitech f310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V550 Gold @Thermaltake Spacecraft
      • Optical Drive:
      • samsung DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Corsair 32GB usb 3.0
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • I'm Loving it!!! :)
      • ISP:
      • X-link 1Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 128 KBps
    maheer.dhruba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narayanganj, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    @sammi ...shopkeeper re maro gulli...ora ulta palta kotha bole maximum tym..


  16. #16
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    Listen, no component of your PC will die from use with showing prior signs. If you ignore those signs then yes your GPU and CPU are at risk. There are a LOT of checks in place, so it'll be your fault if you ignore those signs and continue using the PC in the risky way.

    Since there are no signs of trouble, you are good

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    Listen, no component of your PC will die from use with showing prior signs. If you ignore those signs then yes your GPU and CPU are at risk. There are a LOT of checks in place, so it'll be your fault if you ignore those signs and continue using the PC in the risky way.

    Since there are no signs of trouble, you are good
    What kind of checks are there which I should look out for and what kind of signs can I expect? I touch my CPU's outside, near the PSU, from time to time and it feels quite cool or slightly warm but the air which it blows out is very cool. I have been assuming that this is a good sign, but I do not look inside.

    EDIT. I forgot to mention before but my PSU is 500W Thermaltake BLACK EDITION. Not the normal one. I'm not sure if this makes a big difference or not, but just thought it was worth mentioning.
    Last edited by sammi; December 2nd, 2012 at 05:55.

  18. #18
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,791

    Default

    The signs will be your PC suddenly crashing with some error code. Touching components will not tell you anything. During heavy load those will be hot anyway.

  19. #19
    Member
    • shafi's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z170 gaming 7, apple macbook pro late 2013 retina/ apple ipad air/iPad pro 9.7 iPhone 7+
      • CPU:
      • CORE i7 6700K WITH coolermaster hyper 212 evo/intel haswell i7 2.3 ghz
      • RAM:
      • GSkill RipJaws v 3000 32gb ddr4/16 gb ddr3 1600 mhz on mac
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 evo 250gb+1tb+wd ezex 1tb, trancend 35t3 3 tb, Wd black 5tb, 950 pro, muskin 1tb
      • Graphics Card:
      • gigabyte gtx 1080 xtreme sli/ intel iris pro+ nvidia gt 750m 2gb gddr5
      • Display:
      • samsung ku 6290 4k uhd tv, Dell S2716DG
      • Sound Card:
      • Sound blaster zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Akg k7xx,Samson sr 850, audio technica ath m50x, ,dt 990 pro, hd 598
      • Keyboard:
      • corsair vengeance k95 rgb
      • Mouse:
      • logitech g500s, g700s,g502,g402, deathadder chorma on razer goliathus speed edition
      • Controller:
      • ps4, xbox one controller
      • Power Supply:
      • corsair rm i 1000w
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • 32 gb trancend, 64gb sandisk, 16gb kingston
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 education, mac osx maverick 10.9.1
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • wei- cpu and ram-7.6 on stock, gfx-7.9
      • Comment:
      • thanks a lot to omnipotent creator(as a muslim allah) for my awesome rig, xbox one and ps4
      • ISP:
      • Teksavvy 60mbps unlimited
      • Download Speed:
      • 9.2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Don't upload
      • Console:
      • 128
    shafi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,712

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sammi View Post
    What kind of checks are there which I should look out for and what kind of signs can I expect? I touch my CPU's outside, near the PSU, from time to time and it feels quite cool or slightly warm but the air which it blows out is very cool. I have been assuming that this is a good sign, but I do not look inside.

    EDIT. I forgot to mention before but my PSU is 500W Thermaltake BLACK EDITION. Not the normal one. I'm not sure if this makes a big difference or not, but just thought it was worth mentioning.
    for me when my corsair tx 850w got damaged, whenever i played a game which could utilize sli properly and system hog, i got blackscreens and error message saying "Display driver has stopped working and recovered" and turning sli off solved those problems but components got unusual high temps.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help / Advice.
    By fishd990 in forum GPU
    Replies: 107
    Last Post: February 6th, 2015, 14:34
  2. Need advice about GPU!
    By conFuSeD in forum GPU
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: November 27th, 2011, 23:54
  3. New rig advice
    By EaGL1337 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: August 25th, 2010, 11:06
  4. Need Advice
    By Uchiha Obito in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: April 12th, 2009, 02:13
  5. Want to buy a GPU please advice
    By LynAs in forum GPU
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: February 19th, 2009, 17:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.29277 seconds with 14 queries.