User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need expert opinion on GTX 580 reccomended PSU issue

  1. #1
    Member
    • sakibchy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P55D -Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7 - 870 @ 4.00ghz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB CORSAIR XMS 1600mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB samsung , 7200rpm ,32m buffer
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 580
      • Display:
      • Dell ultrasharp 2410 , 24" ips display with 1920 X 1200 resolution
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt 7.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • creative 6:1 inspire 6600
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech multimedia ( cheap actually )
      • Mouse:
      • Gigabyte M6900 laser @ 2000dpi
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VX 550 (+12 @ 41 amp)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Benq 24x dvdrw
      • Operating System:
      • WIN 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Win index score, cpu 7.7 , ram 7.6 , GPU 7.9 , HDD 5.9
      • Comment:
      • All those things are put together in my TT ARMOR A60 casing
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 k
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32k

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    24

    Default Need expert opinion on GTX 580 reccomended PSU issue

    Recently I bought a gigabyte GTX 580 OC to replace my old Ati 5870 . My system consists of intel core i7 870 cpu + 8gig ram , ASUS P55 delux MB, couple of 1tb HDD drives , 1 ODD and 7 Led fans , which are powered by a Corsair VX 550 watt psu ( single rail +12v, rated 41 amp ) . Now i never felt that my system would need more power hence i didnt change my PSU until now, as i read on Nvidia website that GTX 580 requires a minimum 600watt psu ! So i bought a new PSU gigabyte superb 720 ( a bad choice ?? ) because i was in a tight budget and thought this would at least serve the purpose and surely would be better than TT lite and TR 2 series . But i couldnt find any authentic review on this PSU in any websites, neither any recommendation or clarification of the quality of this PSU. Besides it has triple +12 V rail ( 18 A ) which confuse me about the max amp it supports over the +12v rails, however upon calculation it says 42amp . many websites says it is completely safe to use a gtx 580 with 550wtt decent psu . Which is exactly what i have too ( Corsair VX 550 ) . Now im really confused and need expert recommendation to pick the right PSU out of these two i have: Corsair VX 550 or the gigabyte superb 720 (610w ) ??!! Please note that i OC my CPU ( 4.00ghz @ 1.37~1.38v) have 4 stick of 1.65v ram and 7 pieces of 200mm led fans )

  2. #2
    Member
    • emroz_2272's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8P67 Pro (B3, Rev 3.0)
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K (Turbo @4.5 GHz) // CM Hyper 212+ (Push-Pull: CM XtraFlo 120mm x 2)
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 (2x4GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial MX100 256GB // Samsung F1 500GB // Toshiba 3 TB // HGST Touro 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte GTX 980Ti Gaming G1
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5+Asus VE247 23.6+Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5 5760x1080 Surround
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab Solo 7C // Panasonic HTF 600
      • Keyboard:
      • Microsoft Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody V3 // SteelSeries QcK Heavy
      • Controller:
      • Generic
      • Power Supply:
      • XFX Black Edition 750W // Seasonic S12II 620W (Backup) // CM HAF 912 Advanced
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24x DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Vantec Nexstar USB 3.0 External 2.5/3.5 Dock
      • UPS:
      • Acme 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Not into benchmarking!
      • Comment:
      • Makes me delirious! :) :p
      • ISP:
      • Agni Online 3/6 Mbps
    emroz_2272's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Gulshan, Dhaka
    Posts
    1,278

    Default

    Please go through this thread for psu suggestions. It also has a very handy psu calculator which considers wattage's for all your components

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1045231/p...psu-calculator

    p.s what sort of problems are you facing with your corsair vx550?

  3. #3
    Member
    • samiulislam16's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-S2H (with crossfire support)
      • CPU:
      • Core i7 860 2.93ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4+4 gb ddr3 1333 bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1tb+250gb, Hitachi 2tb, Transcend 128gb ssd370s
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7870 ghz dualX
      • Display:
      • Asus 22 inch LED MS228H
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtech Hd 8 channel Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Newmen M560
      • Controller:
      • Dilong usb controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltek Toughpower Grand 750w 80+ GOLD
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Webcam A4tech 8mp, transcend 8gb pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sigma 640va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Good enough
      • ISP:
      • Smile/BDcom
      • Download Speed:
      • 150
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200
    samiulislam16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    781

    Default

    its gonna ok to use 550w psu but if r gonna oc cpu + gpu then u might get in trouble
    and that giga 720w is just crap period


    Guess what??? scan it??:

    Good enough GAMING RIG

    HApPy GAMing

  4. #4
    Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B75M-D3H rev1.1
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3470 Ivy bridge//Core i5-4200U
      • RAM:
      • Silicon Power 4GB DDR3 @1600 mhz(8-8-8-24-1T) // TwinMOS 4GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD green 500gb// Hitachi 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 960 strix// GT 750M
      • Display:
      • AOC e2043Fsk 20" LED(1600 X 900) DCR 50,000,000:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KRS-86
      • Mouse:
      • Thermaltake azureus
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec VP450P
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD RW+Asus CD RW
      • Operating System:
      • Win 8.1 pro x64
    @nonymous™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    1,490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sakibchy View Post
    Recently I bought a gigabyte GTX 580 OC to replace my old Ati 5870 . My system consists of intel core i7 870 cpu + 8gig ram , ASUS P55 delux MB, couple of 1tb HDD drives , 1 ODD and 7 Led fans , which are powered by a Corsair VX 550 watt psu ( single rail +12v, rated 41 amp ) . Now i never felt that my system would need more power hence i didnt change my PSU until now, as i read on Nvidia website that GTX 580 requires a minimum 600watt psu ! So i bought a new PSU gigabyte superb 720 ( a bad choice ?? ) because i was in a tight budget and thought this would at least serve the purpose and surely would be better than TT lite and TR 2 series . But i couldnt find any authentic review on this PSU in any websites, neither any recommendation or clarification of the quality of this PSU. Besides it has triple +12 V rail ( 18 A ) which confuse me about the max amp it supports over the +12v rails, however upon calculation it says 42amp . many websites says it is completely safe to use a gtx 580 with 550wtt decent psu . Which is exactly what i have too ( Corsair VX 550 ) . Now im really confused and need expert recommendation to pick the right PSU out of these two i have: Corsair VX 550 or the gigabyte superb 720 (610w ) ??!! Please note that i OC my CPU ( 4.00ghz @ 1.37~1.38v) have 4 stick of 1.65v ram and 7 pieces of 200mm led fans )
    superb 720p is basically a 'superb' low end 610w psu. although it is rated rated as 42A/504W in +12v rail but i highly doubt it can bear anything above 30-32A on it under real-world condition. even if it can i'm sure the +12v rail will go down to somewhere like ~11.5v! since it's regulation of the +12v rail is like a joke.
    corsair vx550w is slightly old but still a decent unit. if compared to the superb 720p, it's still far far superior. if you want a real upgrade, get something better since it will be totally unwise to put your power hungry PC on that tiny giga superb.........
    Last edited by @nonymous™; October 22nd, 2012 at 14:42.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Camouflage's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Sniper B5 B85
      • CPU:
      • Core i5-4460 3.2Ghz with Deepcool Mini Cooler in Thermaltake 'Versa-2'' Case
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz 2*4gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Gtx770
      • Display:
      • Samsung 22'' Wide Screen LED-1920*1080
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound blaster Audigy 2ZS
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • HP keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7 XL-747H Spider
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair-HX650W-52A in single 12V Rail with 4 (6+2) pin connectors
      • Optical Drive:
      • HP DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetflash-16gb & Sandisk Cruzer 4gb
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows-7-64 bit Ultimate Edition
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Pro-7.6,GPU-7.9-Windows7 benchmark
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied what i have
      • ISP:
      • Dhakanet,1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 kbps
    Camouflage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,084

    Default

    Itz really totally a wrong decision to move from Corsair(which is indeed a no.1 psu both on popularity & reviews) to so called Giga psus.Giga psus are considered as low end psus as bench reviews says it has huge ripple factor which makes it down the psu brand.Just buy another Corsair Hx or Tx series of 650w & have a tensionless pc gaming.

  6. #6
    Member
    • sakibchy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P55D -Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7 - 870 @ 4.00ghz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB CORSAIR XMS 1600mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB samsung , 7200rpm ,32m buffer
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 580
      • Display:
      • Dell ultrasharp 2410 , 24" ips display with 1920 X 1200 resolution
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt 7.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • creative 6:1 inspire 6600
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech multimedia ( cheap actually )
      • Mouse:
      • Gigabyte M6900 laser @ 2000dpi
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VX 550 (+12 @ 41 amp)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Benq 24x dvdrw
      • Operating System:
      • WIN 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Win index score, cpu 7.7 , ram 7.6 , GPU 7.9 , HDD 5.9
      • Comment:
      • All those things are put together in my TT ARMOR A60 casing
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 k
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32k

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by emroz_2272 View Post
    Please go through this thread for psu suggestions. It also has a very handy psu calculator which considers wattage's for all your components

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1045231/p...psu-calculator

    p.s what sort of problems are you facing with your corsair vx550?
    Im yet to install the gpu in my mobo since i havent got yet . I bought with from the guy in dhaka, but im in sylhet and a friend is bringing it for me before eid. But i wanted to take precaution this is why i posted it here. Thankz for the calc though. I checked some psu calc before and some other guys from sites like overclock.net, guru3d and techpower up also ensured that , a high end quality 550 is more than enough for 580gtx if no Overclock take place at the system. Im thinking to get a TT 700-750 Watt . Please any recommendation would be appreciated for other models and price should be around 10k .

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Camouflage View Post
    Itz really totally a wrong decision to move from Corsair(which is indeed a no.1 psu both on popularity & reviews) to so called Giga psus.Giga psus are considered as low end psus as bench reviews says it has huge ripple factor which makes it down the psu brand.Just buy another Corsair Hx or Tx series of 650w & have a tensionless pc gaming.
    Thankz. But corsair PSU isnt available in bd . is it ? i dont know which psu to pick from bd. All i can see is thermaltake and some other god knows what brand psu (like value top or fortex ) . Please if you know where i can find brand new corsair or antec psu... let me know.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Shrapmeth's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5-750 2.67 Ghz OC'ed @ 3.73 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4x2 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster SA300
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative X-Fi Platinum
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4 Tech
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower 875W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD/RW
      • UPS:
      • PowerGuard 2000Va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 x64
      • Comment:
      • Trying to make it more future proof. :)
      • ISP:
      • Antaranga
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-650
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300-650
    Shrapmeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka,Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sakibchy View Post
    Thankz. But corsair PSU isnt available in bd . is it ? i dont know which psu to pick from bd. All i can see is thermaltake and some other god knows what brand psu (like value top or fortex ) . Please if you know where i can find brand new corsair or antec psu... let me know.
    Corsair might be available not sure check the PSU Price List Thread. Thermaltake PSU's are good atleast. Plus, There are a few Coolermaster PSU's in IDB. Don't know if they're still available or out of stock.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Camouflage's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Sniper B5 B85
      • CPU:
      • Core i5-4460 3.2Ghz with Deepcool Mini Cooler in Thermaltake 'Versa-2'' Case
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz 2*4gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Gtx770
      • Display:
      • Samsung 22'' Wide Screen LED-1920*1080
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound blaster Audigy 2ZS
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 5:1
      • Keyboard:
      • HP keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7 XL-747H Spider
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair-HX650W-52A in single 12V Rail with 4 (6+2) pin connectors
      • Optical Drive:
      • HP DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetflash-16gb & Sandisk Cruzer 4gb
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows-7-64 bit Ultimate Edition
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Pro-7.6,GPU-7.9-Windows7 benchmark
      • Comment:
      • Satisfied what i have
      • ISP:
      • Dhakanet,1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 kbps
    Camouflage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    1,084

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sakibchy View Post
    Thankz. But corsair PSU isnt available in bd . is it ? i dont know which psu to pick from bd. All i can see is thermaltake and some other god knows what brand psu (like value top or fortex ) . Please if you know where i can find brand new corsair or antec psu... let me know.
    I heard Computer Source will bring HX & TX series of Corsair but dont know when.For further information when it will be available call them.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 20th, 2012, 07:00
  2. Opinion please..
    By musvi in forum Motherboard
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: January 14th, 2012, 18:20
  3. RPG opinion
    By Speed in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 26th, 2010, 20:40
  4. Which FTP Client is the Best in Your Opinion ??
    By The Dark Defender in forum Trash
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 27th, 2009, 05:35
  5. Need Your Opinion !
    By EBL.Mantis in forum Gaming Community of BD
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 7th, 2009, 23:40

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21882 seconds with 14 queries.