User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: To have a dedicated Nvidia gpu as physx with a Amd gpu do i need lucid hydra in mobo

  1. #1

    Default To have a dedicated Nvidia gpu as physx with a Amd gpu do i need lucid hydra in mobo

    Is lucid hydra available with every lucid virtue mobo or its special chip in mobo ..is msi z68 gd65 g3 have this option (i can't find it)

  2. #2
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    dat_thread_title.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    dat_thread_title.
    You guys are so onto rules that can't answer a thread ..if you don't have ans then don't waste my page with your opinion about thread quality ..sick of this site ...where members are more interested in out of topic discussion than any real one ...let moderator do their job ..or if you guys are really that jobless then apply for one before giving moderator advice for free ..Maybe this kind of attitude from a gang of members are reducing post count in this site cz people really don't want to be embarrassed just cz they want to know something ,you guys really need to go to other foreign site if possible learn some forum attitude .instead making it your bedroom site
    Last edited by Robin Sultan; September 25th, 2012 at 12:56.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    • Muradd9's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Msi B75MA-P45
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470
      • RAM:
      • 8GB 1600MHz Twinmos Twister
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB + Toshiba 2TB +Samsung 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Msi GTX660Ti Oc 2GB DDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung P2250 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative I-Trigue L-3500 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech M235 Wireless
      • Controller:
      • Generic
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Superb 550P 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • Creative muvo TX
      • UPS:
      • RA Luminous ion 1500va(1200W)pure sine-wave ips
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 ultimate 64
      • Comment:
      • 9007B server case
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion Wimax
      • Download Speed:
      • 128
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32
    Muradd9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bogra
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Sultan View Post
    You guys are so onto rules that can't answer a thread ..if you don't have ans then don't waste my page with your opinion about thread quality ..sick of this site ...where members are more interested in out of topic discussion than any real one ...let moderator do their job ..or if you guys are really that jobless then apply for one before giving moderator advice for free ..Maybe this kind of attitude from a gang of members are reducing post count in this site cz people really don't want to be embarrassed just cz they want to know something ,you guys really need to go to other foreign site if possible learn some forum attitude .instead making it your bedroom site
    Bro clam down . B+
    Amar mone hoi thread title e je question ta koreso oitar answer o oi title mean korte @Hamilton bro "dat_thread_title" bolese.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Lucid Virtu and Lucid Hydra are completely different things. Lucid Hydra is a tech similar to AMD's Crossfire and nVidia's SLI technology which combines several graphics cards to produce a single output and higher performance. Unlike AMD's CF and nVidia's SLI, Lucid Hyrdra allows you to link cards from different manufacturers together (Example - an AMD card and an Nvidia card together).

    While on the other hand, Lucid Virtu is a piece of software that takes advantage of the Z68/Z77 chipset's support for hybrid graphics. There are two key elements of Virtu – firstly, unlike the company's Hydra system of combining the performance of any two graphics cards, there’s no Lucid hardware involved in Virtu. Secondly, you’ll need to install the Virtu software to get the benefits of hybrid graphics. Virtu is referred to as ‘virtual GPU’ software, as it allows you to install two disparate graphics drivers on one installation of Windows, and switch between them and their attendant hardware based on what you’re doing.The key to this is working out what the system is doing at any one time, so Virtu inserts the Lucid Multi GPU Abstraction Layer between Windows and the two graphics drivers. Virtu appears to default to using the Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge Processor Graphics (PG) for every task, only firing up the GeForce or Catalyst driver and hardware when it sees a DirectX call. We wanted to see how this system works in practice and how best to set it up. Immediately, we thought of a few questions and problem areas, such as whether performance drops due to switching from one GPU to another. We were similarly intrigued in LucidLogix claim that the discrete graphics card goes into idle mode when not used, and wanted to see whether Virtu delivers lower consumption, in what kinds of situations.

    And no, Lucid hydra only comes with select motherboards, namely the MSI Big Bang Series.
    Anyway, you don't need either for a dedicated PhysX mod, rather just this and a compatible physX system software.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1 (Currently dead) | Intel DH55TC
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 Ghz (Currently not used) | intel Core i7 860 @ 3.3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600 MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    ^ This, and please read the sticky thread on Physx under the GPU section, you'll find your answers.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Sultan View Post
    You guys are so onto rules that can't answer a thread ..if you don't have ans then don't waste my page with your opinion about thread quality ..sick of this site ...where members are more interested in out of topic discussion than any real one ...let moderator do their job ..or if you guys are really that jobless then apply for one before giving moderator advice for free ..Maybe this kind of attitude from a gang of members are reducing post count in this site cz people really don't want to be embarrassed just cz they want to know something ,you guys really need to go to other foreign site if possible learn some forum attitude .instead making it your bedroom site
    bla bla bla bla bla bla

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Muradd9 View Post
    Bro clam down . B+
    Amar mone hoi thread title e je question ta koreso oitar answer o oi title mean korte @Hamilton bro "dat_thread_title" bolese.
    ho bhai xD

  8. #8
    Member
    • gsshaun's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Core i5-3450
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 2X4 GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Sandisk Ultra 64GB SSD+Hitachi 500GB, 7200Rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 760 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony 42" KDL W654A+Viewsonic VX2260
      • Sound Card:
      • AVR Sony STR DH-520 + Creative Xfi Xtreme gamer
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Magnat Monitor Supreme 2*200+2*100+1*250 Passive Book-shelf Speaker + JVC HA RX-500
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect USB
      • Mouse:
      • Lexma
      • Power Supply:
      • Value Top 500 watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • DVD Rom, ASUS
      • USB Devices:
      • Trascend 320 GB HDD, External
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7, 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • BTCL
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 320 Kbps

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    90

    Default

    No, you only need 2 pciex slots. Check this thread, http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=119217

Similar Threads

  1. nvidia as physx & amd as gpu which mobo will allow it
    By Robin Sultan in forum Motherboard
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 29th, 2012, 00:58
  2. Lucid Hydra Technology?!
    By sayemcom in forum Motherboard
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 21st, 2010, 10:47
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 29th, 2010, 21:29
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 10th, 2010, 17:13
  5. NVIDIA Shuns Lucid Hydra
    By shaikh_imtiaj in forum GPU
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 19th, 2009, 12:49

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20366 seconds with 14 queries.