User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hdd error??

  1. #1
    Member
    • MaDDy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock Z77 Pro3
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Team Elite DDR3 1333Mhz 8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128gb SSD + Hitachi 500Gb Sata2
      • Graphics Card:
      • Evga GTX580
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5" L.E.D
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-3 (2:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • Mercury Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
      • Controller:
      • N/A
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte SuperB 720w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Silicon Power 8GB + Corsair Voyager Slider 32GB USB3
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro (x64)
      • ISP:
      • Qubee 512 sky**
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 15 Kbps
    MaDDy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    854

    Unhappy Hdd error??

    Guyz. I am using a Western Digital Caviar GREEN 2tb sata II HDD! As far as i can remember, after purchase i checked its health status with HD Tune pro and found everything OK!! From few days back, i was facing some weird problems like if i open a software, it opens after 3-4 seconds later, also if i turn on a Movie, it hangs/freezes sometimes and even sometimes it hangs the whole PC but few moments later, everything worked fine but the HANG/FREEZE with the MOVIE thing still remains...
    Yesterday i have checked my HDD with HD tune pro and Also the WD software named WD Diagonostic Tool bla bla.. (Forgot the whole name)... And here is the SCREEN shots of HD tune pro and WD HDD tool soft..
    i think i should be worried about it...
    The SMART status is NOT AVAILABLE and the HD TUNE soft showing that my HDD health status is N/A...
    Now guyz, help me with some suggestions like how can i check my HDD that its fully ok or not... Should i go for replacement/ warranty or its quite fine??
    ** I have installed Win7 7 times in 2 days, but the SLOW OPENING thing and the MOVIE FREEZE thing remained....
    *** If i go for warranty procedures then what possible VALID CAUSE should i show to them???
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	104.5 KB 
ID:	25031   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	68.6 KB 
ID:	25032  
    Last edited by MaDDy; September 19th, 2012 at 04:33.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Buddy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 x 4096 MB Apogee DDR3 @1333 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 64GB, 1TB Hitachi HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • XFX Radeon HD 4830
      • Display:
      • Philips 190CW Brilliance
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech HS-100
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Lycosa
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2-RX 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 16x
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Smile
      • Download Speed:
      • 640
      • Upload Speed:
      • 500
    Buddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Try Changing the SATA cable and also plug the cable in different SATA port. If, it's still slow then send it for warranty. They will check the HDD before sending out for replacement.

  3. #3
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Considering you haven't shown us any of the actual values, uhh...

  4. #4
    Member
    • sakibchy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P55D -Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7 - 870 @ 4.00ghz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB CORSAIR XMS 1600mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB samsung , 7200rpm ,32m buffer
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 580
      • Display:
      • Dell ultrasharp 2410 , 24" ips display with 1920 X 1200 resolution
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt 7.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • creative 6:1 inspire 6600
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 tech multimedia ( cheap actually )
      • Mouse:
      • Gigabyte M6900 laser @ 2000dpi
      • Controller:
      • None
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VX 550 (+12 @ 41 amp)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Benq 24x dvdrw
      • Operating System:
      • WIN 7
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Win index score, cpu 7.7 , ram 7.6 , GPU 7.9 , HDD 5.9
      • Comment:
      • All those things are put together in my TT ARMOR A60 casing
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128 k
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32k

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaDDy View Post
    Guyz. I am using a Western Digital Caviar GREEN 2tb sata II HDD! As far as i can remember, after purchase i checked its health status with HD Tune pro and found everything OK!! From few days back, i was facing some weird problems like if i open a software, it opens after 3-4 seconds later, also if i turn on a Movie, it hangs/freezes sometimes and even sometimes it hangs the whole PC but few moments later, everything worked fine but the HANG/FREEZE with the MOVIE thing still remains...
    Yesterday i have checked my HDD with HD tune pro and Also the WD software named WD Diagonostic Tool bla bla.. (Forgot the whole name)... And here is the SCREEN shots of HD tune pro and WD HDD tool soft..
    i think i should be worried about it...
    The SMART status is NOT AVAILABLE and the HD TUNE soft showing that my HDD health status is N/A...?
    Getting the cavier green was indeed a baf choice, it uses the nasty power saving technology (only afew watts!!) Hence have its head parked in within 4 seconds of no hdd use (as if were the pc is turned off) !! Once you give command to read or write ( opening a file etc) the head then reset its position and read data from specific sectors. This put alot pressure on the head and sometimes it gets overheat or voltage spike from a generic psu can lead to catastrophe. This is a know issue with green cavier and everyone who owns it, always flash the hdd with a modified firmware and disable head parking.
    Now about your problem, I think the s.m.a.r.t status feature is turned off in bios. Please check your motherboard bios. And also plug a freash sata cables and powercable to your hdd. Do not use converter on sata port. And please download the correct modified firmware for your hdd and flash it carefully with appreciate software (google it). I'm sure your wd will come back into life. Which power supply are you using, let me know ...

  5. #5
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    @MaDDy , use crystal disk info

  6. #6
    Member
    • MaDDy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock Z77 Pro3
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Team Elite DDR3 1333Mhz 8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128gb SSD + Hitachi 500Gb Sata2
      • Graphics Card:
      • Evga GTX580
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5" L.E.D
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-3 (2:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • Mercury Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
      • Controller:
      • N/A
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte SuperB 720w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Silicon Power 8GB + Corsair Voyager Slider 32GB USB3
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro (x64)
      • ISP:
      • Qubee 512 sky**
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 15 Kbps
    MaDDy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddy View Post
    Try Changing the SATA cable and also plug the cable in different SATA port. If, it's still slow then send it for warranty. They will check the HDD before sending out for replacement.

    Sorry bro, was absent from this section...
    Changed the sata cable thrice.... NO CHANGE! Different port?? Done, NO CHANGE! Warranty? Yes, wanted to to that, but what possible reason should i show them or tell???

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    Considering you haven't shown us any of the actual values, uhh...
    Actual values??? Bujhlam na! -_-

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by sakibchy View Post
    Getting the cavier green was indeed a baf choice, it uses the nasty power saving technology (only afew watts!!) Hence have its head parked in within 4 seconds of no hdd use (as if were the pc is turned off) !! Once you give command to read or write ( opening a file etc) the head then reset its position and read data from specific sectors. This put alot pressure on the head and sometimes it gets overheat or voltage spike from a generic psu can lead to catastrophe. This is a know issue with green cavier and everyone who owns it, always flash the hdd with a modified firmware and disable head parking.
    Now about your problem, I think the s.m.a.r.t status feature is turned off in bios. Please check your motherboard bios. And also plug a freash sata cables and powercable to your hdd. Do not use converter on sata port. And please download the correct modified firmware for your hdd and flash it carefully with appreciate software (google it). I'm sure your wd will come back into life. Which power supply are you using, let me know ...
    Hmm, if its the fact then i am misinformed about the CAVIER GREEN....
    S.M.A.R.T feature is ON in BIOS as i checked that first.... I am not using any converter for the HDD, About the FIRMWARE and FLASHing... Will try later as i don't have any further store device's to put my necessary files. (Backup) I am using the Gigabyte Superb 720w PSU.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by N.p. Shawon View Post
    Hey can make it ok, contact 01677892220 thank you.
    R u gonna repair it or some tricks i am missing?? ??

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    @MaDDy , use crystal disk info
    Hmm, thanks, try kore feedback dichhi....

    - - - Updated - - -

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	209.3 KB 
ID:	25564
    @Hamilton it worked i think, here is the screen shot....
    Btw, don't know much about this software... is the readings OK??? Though i think so, but also want to know your opinion...

  7. #7
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    No, it is not.

    3 relocated sectors = the disk is dying, or is in the way to death.

    Claim RMA and put it to rest, that's all you can do.

  8. #8
    Member
    • MaDDy's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock Z77 Pro3
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Team Elite DDR3 1333Mhz 8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128gb SSD + Hitachi 500Gb Sata2
      • Graphics Card:
      • Evga GTX580
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5" L.E.D
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab TMN-3 (2:1)
      • Keyboard:
      • Mercury Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Microsoft Intellimouse 3.0
      • Controller:
      • N/A
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte SuperB 720w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Silicon Power 8GB + Corsair Voyager Slider 32GB USB3
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro (x64)
      • ISP:
      • Qubee 512 sky**
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 15 Kbps
    MaDDy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    No, it is not.

    3 relocated sectors = the disk is dying, or is in the way to death.

    Claim RMA and put it to rest, that's all you can do.
    Thanks a lot... That is the suggestion i needed....

Similar Threads

  1. Runtime Error!!! Help......
    By Rumen in forum Software
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: January 27th, 2012, 12:45
  2. Error:IP looking UP .
    By HeLL]deathknight in forum Garena Central
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 6th, 2011, 17:18
  3. crc error
    By CHR.Overload in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 21st, 2009, 01:58
  4. Cpu Fan error
    By shahriar in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 20th, 2009, 13:52
  5. Error
    By Coming back to life in forum Feedback
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 27th, 2008, 03:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21600 seconds with 15 queries.