User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Computer Power Consumption and UPS Backup

  1. #1
    Member
    • Muhammad Zunaid's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock H55M-LE
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • G Skill Ripjaws [4GBx2]=8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi Deskstar 500GB+1TB+ WD Cavier Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI 580 TwinFrozrII OC and XFX 9600GT xXx Alpha Dog Edition
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T220
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt Realtek Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt esports KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • Genius standard mouse
      • Controller:
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W [80 PLUS BRONZE]
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster 20x DVD-Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Lide110 Scanner
      • UPS:
      • RA 1000VA + Powertree 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Comment:
      • want to upgrade soon!
      • ISP:
      • LINK3
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Muhammad Zunaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    519

    Default Computer Power Consumption and UPS Backup

    Computer Specs:

    CPU: C2D E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    GPU: MSI 560Ti 2GD5 OC, [core:880MHz, Mem: 4008MHz]
    PSU: TT XT 675 Watt
    HDD: 2 Drives
    ODD: 1 DVD-Writer
    RAM: 3 x 2GB
    Add-in Cards: AverMedia PCI TV-Tuner[analog]
    Case: Space 1500tk ATX case with side panel open and 0 fans

    Monitor: Samsung T220 22" 1680x1050 Display
    Speakers: Altec Lansing 2:1

    now one of my friend had a clamp multimeter lying around and so i thought i would measure the power consumption of my pc. this also has sth to do with the new RA 1000VA Ups i bought recently. the ups not giving expected backup, i decided to see how much power does idle and load situations consume in reality instead of PSU calculators.

    All measurements has been done with the single clamp multimeter i had and all readings are from the mains supply. so no need to factor in the efficiency of my psu at different loads... The readings represent the power being drawn from the mains supply at different scenarios.... The readings are as follows...


    COMPUTER POWER CONSUMPTION

    COMPUTER STATE/SCENARIO
    POWER COMSUMPTION [WATTS]
    COMMENTS [details of the scenario]
    Computer Idle 166-172 CPU usage=1-5%, GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    CPU LOAD/STRESS
    [a]
    226-230 Prime95 [small FTTs torture test], GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [b] 224-228 Prime95 [Blend torture test], GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [c] 244-248 OCCT [linpack][x64], GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [d] 238-242 OCCT [linpack][x32], GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [e] 222-228 OCCT [normal], GPU usage=0-1%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    GPU LOAD/STRESS
    [a]
    412-420 OCCT, [email protected] & 2004MHZ, gpu fans=100%, gpu temp:95c, cpu usage=1-5%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [b] 434-440 OCCT, gpu OC'[email protected] & 2100MHZ, gpu fans=100%, gpu temp:98c, cpu usage=1-5%, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    CPU & GPU LOAD/STRESS
    [a]
    354-364 3DMark 11 Demo, Xtreme Preset [just changed to 1680x1050 res], gpu temp: couldnt monitor, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [b] 240-245 Sleeping Dogs [@Menu], All Settings MAXED, 1680x1050, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    [c] 372-386 Sleeping Dogs [Benchmark], All Settings MAXED[AA:Extreme] [Av.fps-24.7, Max.fps-41.7, Min.fps-14.0] [gpu usage-95-99%, gpu temp:84-86c], 1680x1050, Monitor ON state, Speakers turned ON.
    Monitor ON [ONLY]
    [a]
    15-17 my normal operating settings Brightness-35%, Contrast-75%
    [b] 34-36 my movie watching settings Brightness-100%, Contrast-85%
    Speakers ON [ONLY] 1-24 power consumption changes according to volume. Varying sound volume either through software or speaker control knob changes power consumption.
    Computer SLEEP 30-34 Monitor standby mode, Speakers ON. Casing Power button needs to be pressed to resume windows which takes 15-20 sec.

    now my ups gives a backup of 30-35 mins max when computer is idle, watching a movie or sth gives somewhere around 15-18 mins. i will test backup time some more later on. these are the backup time numbers i remember from a few days back.

    This thread is actually like a continuation of a previous thread here http://banglagamer.com/showthread.ph...tware-problems

    @Vanguard i couldn't open the ups b4 as there was a sticker which would have been broken if i opened the case of the ups. but now, since they opened it, i can easily look around the innerds of the ups as i please. the batteries are luminous [the battery has no serial or any unique number whatsoever] and they have a peculiar mark [within the red circle of last pic] on the each side of the top part of each battery making me believe that the RA technicians may have 'opened' the top part of the battery to do sth. don't know for sure, well

    here are some pics of the innerds of my new ups....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Circuit.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	74.9 KB 
ID:	24954   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Batteries.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	58.0 KB 
ID:	24955   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Batteries TOP.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	62.3 KB 
ID:	24956   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Batteries TOP ZoomIn.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	24957  
    Last edited by Muhammad Zunaid; September 14th, 2012 at 02:55.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Hamilton's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 4770 3.9Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR3 1600hz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 256GB Adata SSD + 2TB WD Blue + 1TB Samsung
      • Graphics Card:
      • Nvidia GTX 1070 FE 8GB
      • Display:
      • Asus VS228N 21.5" Full HD.
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go PRO!
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Genius GS 500V/ Steeseries Siberia V2/ Logitech Ultimate Ears 200.
      • Keyboard:
      • Roccat Arvo
      • Mouse:
      • Steelseries Sensei/ Roccat Taito mTw
      • Controller:
      • 2 Gamepads with no Analog Stick/XBOX 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX 650W.
      • Optical Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7/ Linux
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 3DMARK Score, X2151.
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • Smile, BD.COM
      • Download Speed:
      • 75KBPS(Variable)
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100+KBPS(Variable)
    Hamilton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mohammadpur
    Posts
    3,293

    Default

    correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't your GPU being bottlenecked by the CPU?

  3. #3
    Member
    • Muhammad Zunaid's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock H55M-LE
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • G Skill Ripjaws [4GBx2]=8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi Deskstar 500GB+1TB+ WD Cavier Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI 580 TwinFrozrII OC and XFX 9600GT xXx Alpha Dog Edition
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T220
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt Realtek Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt esports KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • Genius standard mouse
      • Controller:
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W [80 PLUS BRONZE]
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster 20x DVD-Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Lide110 Scanner
      • UPS:
      • RA 1000VA + Powertree 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Comment:
      • want to upgrade soon!
      • ISP:
      • LINK3
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Muhammad Zunaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton View Post
    correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't your GPU being bottlenecked by the CPU?
    yes i know... very much bottlenecked... i mean playing most games, my gpu is at 50-70% while cpu is at 99-100% constant load... i am waiting for haswell[ for nxt year october or november upgrade] or maybe 2nd hand SB i5...

  4. #4
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    @zunaid , next time while claiming warranty, do a trick, tell the home service man to open the battery, then use a ball point pen and write something over the battery, write so hard that it puts deep scratch mark over the plastic cover............... then you would be able to know that whether they actually changed it or not Change na korle nogode kaner niche chotkana. Elakay nishchoi porichito polapan/ friend circle ase, right?

  5. #5
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    How much did this unit cost you?
    EDIT : Nevermind, I got the answer from the previous thread.

Similar Threads

  1. List of Computer Hardware Retailers at BCS Computer City
    By minitt in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: May 4th, 2013, 11:27
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 17th, 2012, 21:06
  3. PSU (Computer Power Supply Unit) একটু হেল্পান
    By rifathussain in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2011, 14:18
  4. Need a Good Backup power (UPS/IPS)
    By Vah in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 20th, 2011, 03:05
  5. Lets Calculte Our Pc's power consumption
    By saif in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 21st, 2010, 01:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20743 seconds with 15 queries.