User Tag List

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Does smile provide Fiber connection in Mirpur-1?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mirpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    12

    Default Does smile provide Fiber connection in Mirpur-1?

    I had a smile connection before, but stopped it due to bad speed and current problem. Now I hear they have increased speed. I have some questions, specifically to people who have smile around Mirpur-1 and who are knowledgeable about their packages.


    • Does smile provide Fiber connection in Mirpur-1? I have seen a lot of mentioning of smile giving fiber connection. Can someone give me absolute answer to whether smile gives fiber line in Mirpur-1?
    • In my apartment, smile is the only broadband provider, but they have not made a system for non-stop connectivity even when the current is gone. I have seen routers in the ground floor of my apartment through which they provide connection. Can I make them to give internet even when the current is gone? How can it be possible?


    I hope that someone gives me clear answers to these questions. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Sure they do, as long as you're willing to bear the cabling costs. One meter of fiber costs BDT 18~, multiply that with however meters you're from their office. Then add 4k for a pair of media converters. Expect 6-10k in spendings, basically.

    For #2, you won't have internet when the power is out. If you want that, you'll have to provide ups/generator backup for the media converter yourself.

Similar Threads

  1. how to open ports on smile connection
    By imon47 in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 19th, 2012, 19:42
  2. Smile at mirpur 10?
    By Sujan0075 in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 30th, 2011, 22:36
  3. I need an smile connection!
    By Marfi in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2010, 23:09
  4. Which one provide better net? Smile or Bdcom?
    By thanda_batash in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2009, 00:29
  5. Smile internet connection
    By rakibmukitur in forum Smile/BDCom
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: October 28th, 2008, 09:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.14815 seconds with 14 queries.