User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: cpu temp issue

  1. #1
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default cpu temp issue

    im using an intel 3550 cpu...which runs @1.6GHz for most of the times...idle temp--> 40-43C and at high stress level (IBT) --> 49C and at very high level temp --> 51C...i havent tried maximum yet and cpu-z never showed my cpu clock raised to 3.3GHz (which should be stock clock speed!!!)..im using ASrock z77 extreme4..can anyone help me with this low clock and high temp issue??

  2. #2
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    I think its ok with your stock cooler.

  3. #3
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    I think its ok with your stock cooler.
    im using CM evo

  4. #4
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1 (Currently dead) | Intel DH55TC
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @ 3.8 Ghz (Currently not used) | intel Core i7 860 @ 3.3 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600 MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,182

    Default

    Probably CPU-Z could do with an update, as the processor is of a newer architecture, it might take some time before the monitoring softwares start to show the correct values, you might uncheck any power saving options that might be enabled from control panel though I doubt that's the case, your processor is probably working at it's rated speed and your temps look fine.

  5. #5
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Still its ok!!!!!!!
    Because Ivy Bridges are hot runners.
    Still you might want to try to reset your cooler. May be you applied too much thermal paste paste. Check the cooler fan airflow direction.

  6. #6
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    what about the clock speed?? its only 1.6 GHz

  7. #7
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Ya that is weird!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Play a recent game with max settings.
    Monitor the results and let us know. Temp, Max CpU fan speed, frquency etc.
    OR u can try Prime 95 or IBT.

  8. #8
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    Ya that is weird!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Play a recent game with max settings.
    Monitor the results and let us know. Temp, Max CpU fan speed, frquency etc.
    OR u can try Prime 95 or IBT.
    i tried IBT at standard, high and very high stress levels...max temp with HWmonitor was 51C...but the clock speed never exceeded 1.6 GHz

    - - - Updated - - -

    i went to BIOS and set everything to default..now my clock speed shows 3300MHz but the temps r really high....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IBT x high stress.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	694.3 KB 
ID:	24242Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IBT x maximum stress level.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	729.1 KB 
ID:	24243


    temps reaching 67C which is very close to Tcase of this cpu (which is 67.4C)...

    at idle its ~42C though..which is normal i guess cause i got the same idle temps with CPU clock @ 1.6 GHz

  9. #9
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Try rei-nstalling the cooler.
    Just apply 1 drop of thermal paste.
    Last edited by fahimspider; August 10th, 2012 at 20:45.

  10. #10
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    will using a new thermal paste help to reduce temp? if so which one should i use?

  11. #11
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    you can use stock one (one with cooler master cooler) or Thermaltake. Dont know which one is better.
    I used stock one with coolermaster cooler.

    - - - Updated - - -

    here is a link with i5 3550 load temp with stock cooler. May be it can help you release your tension.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...r,3204-13.html

    Tj Max - 105c

  12. #12
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    whats Tj manx and T case?

  13. #13
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    As far I know T case is optimum temp and Tj Max is the maximum temp CPU can handle. At or above Tj Max CPU will throttle or shut down.

    Correct me if i am wrong. But this is what i understand.

    whats your room temp? it has effect on cpu temp.

  14. #14
    Member
    • terrygr8_007's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASrock z77 extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i5 3550 cooled by CM hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2x4GB 1600BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda st 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7850 OC edition
      • Sound Card:
      • built-in
      • Power Supply:
      • CM GX650
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    As far I know T case is optimum temp and Tj Max is the maximum temp CPU can handle. At or above Tj Max CPU will throttle or shut down.

    Correct me if i am wrong. But this is what i understand.

    whats your room temp? it has effect on cpu temp.
    for some strange reasons my cpu temp isnt that high anymore...59C max with intel burn test (maximum stress level)...anything on that?

  15. #15
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    may its your room temperature is the problem. OR
    It may be Thermal paste burn in period. (usually 2 weeks or more)

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP!!!] GPU temp problem
    By OoAIDoO in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2012, 00:30
  2. ECS GTX 550Ti Temp......:O
    By musvi in forum GPU
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: March 31st, 2012, 15:13
  3. cpu temp and core temp
    By Md. Asif in forum CPU
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: October 19th, 2011, 04:12
  4. Confused about cpu temp!
    By shahriar in forum CPU
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 7th, 2009, 22:49
  5. cpu temp too high
    By shahriar in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2009, 02:23

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.24188 seconds with 15 queries.