User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Setting up Wifi router & some questions

  1. #1
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19"/Lenovo 15.6"
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default Setting up Wifi router & some questions

    I am planning to setup a wifi router in my home in order to share my broadband connection.
    I ve some question and query regarding this, as follows:

    - Using Wifi router to connect to internet, will it cause my latency to increase in any extent? and specially will it hamper my online gaming experience?
    - If there is a barrier between router and PC/Laptop will it cause any hamper to wifi frequency? Again, will it increase latency? Like I m planning to setup my router in my entrance room, there is a dining room between that room and my room without door, but there is a door in my room.
    - Suggest me a good combination of wifi router and usb wifi adapter
    - Will it connect automatically every time I login to windows like my broadband connection?
    - Is it possible to restrict wifi access by fix mac address in router other than password only?
    - Wifi does nt hampers B/W... I guess its true, still wanna b sure.
    - And last but not least, how to setup wifi device? It will be great pleasure if someone post a tutorial. Like setting up IP blah blah.


  2. #2
    Member
    • Muhammad Zunaid's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock H55M-LE
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • G Skill Ripjaws [4GBx2]=8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi Deskstar 500GB+1TB+ WD Cavier Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI 580 TwinFrozrII OC and XFX 9600GT xXx Alpha Dog Edition
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T220
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt Realtek Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt esports KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • Genius standard mouse
      • Controller:
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W [80 PLUS BRONZE]
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster 20x DVD-Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Lide110 Scanner
      • UPS:
      • RA 1000VA + Powertree 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Comment:
      • want to upgrade soon!
      • ISP:
      • LINK3
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Muhammad Zunaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    519

    Default

    hmm... loads of questions there... i will try to answer the ones i have personal experience with....
    1.i found my latency to increase with with my wifi router... the router is a tplink one costing 2499.. its a 150 mbps N and the receiver on my pc was also a tplink costing 1200 ....also a 150mbps N with 4dB antenna....[n means 802.11n] now the frequency is 2.4GHZ which may have been the problem.... try to go for a 5Ghz
    check this webpage.... should help.. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...g,2470-10.html
    after doing everything, i ended up buying some cat6 cable and connecting it with my pc and the wireless router is left for laptops and cell phones[works perfectly for streaming and file transfer]
    2.distance has more to do than barrier per say... but a door wont hamper much imo but i havent checked the signal strength with any gauging device except my pc which showed 90-96% signal strength.
    3.go for a netgear 5Ghz or the HD/Gaming 5 GHz Wireless-N Networking Kit (WNHDEB111).... have little idea in this regard.
    4.yes, it will
    5.password is good enough but no, other than that, i have little idea....
    6.b/w...bandwidth... no i dont think so, it doesnt hamper it... it hampers transfer speed browsing speed though insignificant.
    7.easy setup guide available with each device.... step by step guide actually... so no worries there...

  3. #3
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19"/Lenovo 15.6"
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zunaid View Post
    hmm... loads of questions there... i will try to answer the ones i have personal experience with....
    1.i found my latency to increase with with my wifi router... the router is a tplink one costing 2499.. its a 150 mbps N and the receiver on my pc was also a tplink costing 1200 ....also a 150mbps N with 4dB antenna....[n means 802.11n] now the frequency is 2.4GHZ which may have been the problem.... try to go for a 5Ghz
    check this webpage.... should help.. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...g,2470-10.html
    after doing everything, i ended up buying some cat6 cable and connecting it with my pc and the wireless router is left for laptops and cell phones[works perfectly for streaming and file transfer]
    2.distance has more to do than barrier per say... but a door wont hamper much imo but i havent checked the signal strength with any gauging device except my pc which showed 90-96% signal strength.
    3.go for a netgear 5Ghz or the HD/Gaming 5 GHz Wireless-N Networking Kit (WNHDEB111).... have little idea in this regard.
    4.yes, it will
    5.password is good enough but no, other than that, i have little idea....
    6.b/w...bandwidth... no i dont think so, it doesnt hamper it... it hampers transfer speed browsing speed though insignificant.
    7.easy setup guide available with each device.... step by step guide actually... so no worries there...
    At present I am connected via Cat 6 cable. But the problem is the internet fibre went through entrance room of our home than via dining room it came to my room. It is not possible to change route of the cable in order to get the cable directly to my room( which i had before).
    About latency I need to be sure of...
    Can you please post your Ping and tracert to any good website using wifi and using cat 6 both please....
    - Another question if i connect using Wifi router, my pc and laptop will get connected via lan or not? I mean will I b able to shared files of laptop from pc or not? And if is it possible to share a network printer via this method?
    - I ll b plugin my cat 6 cable to the router as I dnt have any modem, the cable came through a media converter than via switch which is not in my home.

    @Codex for more info.
    Last edited by gogeta; July 23rd, 2012 at 13:05.


  4. #4
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default

    I have a tplink router which is connected to qubee gigaset modem that connects to the internet. when i ping the ip of the modem from the router i get <1ms latency, but when i ping from my laptop, i get 4ms latency.

    - - - Updated - - -

    and most of the routers have 4 RJ-45 ports for wired connection, you can connect your desktop, network printer etc.
    Vous n'avez pas vraiment connaître quelqu'un qu'en le combattant.

  5. #5
    Member
    • gogeta's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DG31PR/Laptop MB name janina -_-
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E7400/Intel Core I7 2.26 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4 Gb DDR2 (Twinmos)/16 GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1 TB/256 GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 460/GTX 860m
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19&quot;/Lenovo 15.6&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD+ Realtek Built in 8 Channel Card
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab/Razer Kraken Pro 7.1 HP
      • Keyboard:
      • Asus Strix Tactic Pro Mechanical KB/CM Devastator Pro
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech/Logitech G402/CM Storm Devastator
      • Controller:
      • Logitech 310/Xbox One Genuine Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 500w ...Brand name ta dekhte hobe :s
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus 24x DvD-Writer/Lenovo Portable DVD WR
      • USB Devices:
      • 16 GB Adata/2 TB WD Portable*2
      • UPS:
      • Dnt Have One
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7/Win 10 Home
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Lawl...
      • Comment:
      • .........
      • ISP:
      • Chittagong Online Limited/Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • COL-70 KB (Peak) 180 KB (Off Peak)/Link3-128KB Flat
      • Upload Speed:
      • COL-180 KB (1.4 mbps)/Link3-128KB Flat
    gogeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dalaran, Northend
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saadbillah View Post
    I have a tplink router which is connected to qubee gigaset modem that connects to the internet. when i ping the ip of the modem from the router i get <1ms latency, but when i ping from my laptop, i get 4ms latency.

    - - - Updated - - -

    and most of the routers have 4 RJ-45 ports for wired connection, you can connect your desktop, network printer etc.
    Dont wanna connect my desktop via wired connection to router.. This the point of going for router... It will b better if I can share the printer which is connected to pc via router...


  6. #6
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&amp;D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default

    if you have a network printer, you can connect it to the router. otherwise you'll have to connect through a print server.
    Vous n'avez pas vraiment connaître quelqu'un qu'en le combattant.

Similar Threads

  1. setting up HFS behind ADSL router
    By Rajmi in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: March 7th, 2015, 22:26
  2. Wifi router price
    By Cpt.Mactavish in forum Help - General Shopping
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: March 5th, 2012, 18:32
  3. Turn your laptop into a WIFI router
    By dhUro in forum Software
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: May 27th, 2011, 15:39
  4. Suggestion for buying a wifi router
    By Dracu_JeF in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 11th, 2010, 00:17
  5. Need Wifi Router within 3500tk
    By minitt in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 27th, 2010, 03:48

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17504 seconds with 14 queries.