User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Highest HDD capacity support by motherboard or OS ??

  1. #1
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default Highest HDD capacity support by motherboard or OS ??

    I'm currently thinking of buying another pair of 1TB HDD. Now I heard by friend of mine that total capacity over 2TB doesn't support by todays motherboard. Is this true?? If true, how can I know if my motherboard is capable of supporting over 2TB??

    Search though google and can't seem to find results exactly i'm looking for. While searching I also found that HDD capacity support also depends on OS. Right now using Win Vista SP2 32-bit. Once I get the new HDD will install Win 7 64-bit. So I think OS won't be the problem for me now. Only thing concerns me now is the motherboard.

    Please let know.

    Motherboard: Intel DP35DP
    HDD: 1TB SAMSUNG HD103UJ + 320GB Western Digital WD3200AAJS-00G0A0
    [hr]
    EDIT: Thanks to gsshaun, got a clearer answer..
    Quote Originally Posted by gsshaun View Post
    Older bios does not support over 2.1 TB single drive. It's for a single HDD not combined, you can add 2 TB HDD to the every single SATA port you have for older bios. If you want to use a single HDD over 2.1 TB then you need motherboard with UEFI bios or software, nothing to worry. Check this link, http://www.seagate.com/support/downloads/beyond-2tb/.
    Last edited by ABDmaster; July 8th, 2012 at 23:18.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default

    normally till 5x series, all mobo had support for HDD upto 2TB.

  3. #3
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K 5.2Ghz @Corsair H115i
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws V 3466MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • The Net Heads
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,096

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumon Datta View Post
    normally till 5x series, all mobo had support for HDD upto 2TB.
    3TB Theres option in bios (EFI) which is there to support 2TB+ HDDs.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Uchiha Obito's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P7H55M
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • ADATA XPG 1600MHZ 2GB + Twinmost Piano Black 2GB + 2GB = 5GB in Total
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 32MB Cache || Western Digital External 160GB Speed edition HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Geforce 560 Ti Oced Edition
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SA300B 21.5" 1080p Monitor For PC and LG 2043T 20" for PlayStaion 3
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec lansing VS series 2:1 Speaker For PC and Microlab for PlayStation 3
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G110 backlit gaming Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7
      • Controller:
      • 3 x XBOX 360 Controller and One Dualshock 3 and Some generic Controllers
      • Power Supply:
      • DELTA POWER 650 WATT with 89% efficiency with 56 amps available on +12V rails
      • Optical Drive:
      • 1 x Samsung DVD-RW
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 16GB JetFlash 700
      • UPS:
      • PC Power 1200VA for PC and OVO 600 VA for PlayStation 3
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 + Linux x64
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Didn't see till now.
      • Comment:
      • RIG OK and Console Awesome.
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL 512kbps, 1mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 60KB/s and 120KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • Secret
    Uchiha Obito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mymensingh, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    9,037

    Default

    But did 3x series had that? I actually forgot.

  5. #5
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Windows can do 4+TB with GPT partitioning.

  6. #6
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanguard View Post
    3TB Theres option in bios (EFI) which is there to support 2TB+ HDDs.
    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    Windows can do 4+TB with GPT partitioning.
    Thanks for the reply. Sorry for delay. All day long net was down.

    So what is this EFI thing?? any kind of precaution need to take before activating this feature??

    And this GPT partition, do i need to do this for all the HDD or only for the new one?? Also how to do it??

  7. #7
    Moderator
    • Muradd9's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Msi B75MA-P45
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470
      • RAM:
      • 8GB 1600MHz Twinmos Twister
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB + Toshiba 2TB +Samsung 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Msi GTX660Ti Oc 2GB DDR5
      • Display:
      • Samsung P2250 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative I-Trigue L-3500 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4tech KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech M235 Wireless
      • Controller:
      • Generic
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Superb 550P 450W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • Creative muvo TX
      • UPS:
      • RA Luminous ion 1500va(1200W)pure sine-wave ips
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 ultimate 64
      • Comment:
      • 9007B server case
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion Wimax
      • Download Speed:
      • 128
      • Upload Speed:
      • 32
    Muradd9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bogra
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    4TB (2TB + 1TB + 1.5TB) gigabyte g31 e use koresi. Win7 64 os silo. Ekhon p43 te(win7) 3tb (2+1) use korsi,win xp setup o diyesilam. HDD releted kono problem face kori nai.

  8. #8
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    You only need GPT for drives exceeding 2TB.

    It's easy to do on the disk manager, don't worry.

  9. #9
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    You only need GPT for drives exceeding 2TB.

    It's easy to do on the disk manager, don't worry.
    I see then. Just need to change the partitions of the drives.

    Thanks for the Info

  10. #10
    Member
    • gsshaun's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Core i5-3450
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 2X4 GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Sandisk Ultra 64GB SSD+Hitachi 500GB, 7200Rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 760 OC
      • Display:
      • Sony 42" KDL W654A+Viewsonic VX2260
      • Sound Card:
      • AVR Sony STR DH-520 + Creative Xfi Xtreme gamer
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Magnat Monitor Supreme 2*200+2*100+1*250 Passive Book-shelf Speaker + JVC HA RX-500
      • Keyboard:
      • Perfect USB
      • Mouse:
      • Lexma
      • Power Supply:
      • Value Top 500 watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • DVD Rom, ASUS
      • USB Devices:
      • Trascend 320 GB HDD, External
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7, 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • BTCL
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 320 Kbps

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Older bios does not support over 2.1 TB single drive. It's for a single HDD not combined, you can add 2 TB HDD to the every single SATA port you have for older bios. If you want to use a single HDD over 2.1 TB then you need motherboard with UEFI bios or software, nothing to worry. Check this link, http://www.seagate.com/support/downloads/beyond-2tb/.

  11. #11
    Member
    • ABDmaster's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel Media Series DP35DP
      • CPU:
      • Core2Extreme 3.0 GHz QX6850
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1TB F1 + Western Digital 320GB Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATi Sapphire HD4670 512MB
      • Display:
      • Asus 19" VW192T
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in 7:1
      • Controller:
      • Logitech Rumblepad2
      • Power Supply:
      • ThermalTake 500W TR2
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista SP2 32-bit
      • ISP:
      • Spark
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 to 30
      • Upload Speed:
      • 40

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    513

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gsshaun View Post
    Older bios does not support over 2.1 TB single drive. It's for a single HDD not combined, you can add 2 TB HDD to the every single SATA port you have for older bios. If you want to use a single HDD over 2.1 TB then you need motherboard with UEFI bios or software, nothing to worry. Check this link, http://www.seagate.com/support/downloads/beyond-2tb/.
    Thank you for much clearer answer. Now I can buy & use it without any hesitation, along with my other 2 hdds.

    Putting this post in Opening Post so people who are searching for this can get the answer straight.

  12. #12
    Member
    • Sumit Pramanik's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus V Formula With ThermalTake Armor A60 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz with CoolerMaster Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX - F3-2400C10D-8GTX
      • Hard Drive:
      • SanDisk Extreme SSD 120GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB x 2, WD Caviar Green 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS GeForce GTX 960 STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab B70 Speaker System; Sennheiser HD598SE
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
      • Mouse:
      • Asus ROG Gladius II
      • Controller:
      • Don't need one..........
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta EX GPS-650AB B 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree S1250P 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional
      • Comment:
      • Up-gradation Completed. Online. All system stable. Now I can sleep.
      • ISP:
      • Quick Online (Earth Telecommunication Pvt. Limited)
      • Download Speed:
      • 4Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4Mbps
    Sumit Pramanik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    226

    Question

    So, I have one 1TB, one 500GB and one 120GB SSD. Now if I want to add one more 2TB single drive will it be any problem for My Intel DG35EC Mobo????

    RE: I have four SATA II slot im my Mobo...........
    Danger is REAL, Fear is a Choice

  13. #13
    Member
    • pcgamer's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
      • CPU:
      • i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • CORSAIR Vengeance 4 GB*2=8 GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, 1 TB WD Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ROG STRIX Radeon Rx 480 8GB OC
      • Display:
      • Samsung BX2035 LED LCD 20 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Onbord
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Labs Inspire 4400 4.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Multimedia
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH
      • Power Supply:
      • Asus U-75 HA 750 Watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • 1200 va (Battery-2x12volt 7.2 amp)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64-bit
      • Comment:
      • Need to Update GPU
      • ISP:
      • Link 3
      • Download Speed:
      • 100 KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 100 KBps
    pcgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Muradd9 View Post
    4TB (2TB + 1TB + 1.5TB) gigabyte g31 e use koresi. Win7 64 os silo. Ekhon p43 te(win7) 3tb (2+1) use korsi,win xp setup o diyesilam. HDD releted kono problem face kori nai.
    Orree-ato space deya ke koren? Seedbox?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 25th, 2013, 14:53
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 27th, 2011, 15:29
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 18th, 2011, 13:44
  4. Sale (Used) MSI P45-DIAMOND MotherBoard (CrossFire + DDR3) support + Warranty
    By Ic3_STrik3R in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: December 30th, 2010, 05:46
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 17th, 2009, 18:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.24745 seconds with 14 queries.