User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Cant use phone and internet at the same time

  1. #1

    Default Cant use phone and internet at the same time

    Whenever I use the phone the internet cuts off and resumes when the phone is hung up.

    I have a TP Link 8616 modem connected to a wireless router.

    Please note my line is not good and getting 6.2 SNR.

    When I use the phone the modem says 3.5 as SNR.

    Sometimes when I resync it it lets me and sometimes not.

    Please help me.

    Thanks.

    Also read this:

    Although what is monitored and the exact name may be different depending on manufacturer, the overall information is pretty much the same. Below are some of the common terms and measurements used to judge line quality. Remember these are not hard numbers but simply a generalisation of line statistics:

    SNR Margin (AKA Signal to Noise Margin or Signal to Noise Ratio)
    Relative strength of the DSL signal to Noise ratio. 6dB is generally the lowest dB manufactures specify in order for the modem to be able to sync. In some instances interleaving can help raise the noise margin to an acceptable level. Generally speaking, as overall bandwidth increases, your signal to noise ratio decreases. So a customer that upgrades from 1.5 to 6.0 service will typically see a corresponding decrease in the signal to noise ratio. The higher the number the better for this measurement.
    6dB or below is bad and will experience no sync or intermittent sync problems
    7dB-10dB is fair but does not leave much room for variances in conditions
    11dB-20dB is good with no sync problems
    20dB-28dB is excellent
    29dB or above is outstanding

    Line Attenuation
    Measure of how much the signal has degraded between the DSLAM and the modem. Maximum signal loss recommendation is usually about 60dB. One of the biggest factors affecting line attenuation is distance from the DSLAM. Generally speaking, bigger distances mean higher attenuation. The lower the dB the better for this measurement.
    20dB and below is outstanding
    20dB-30dB is excellent
    30dB-40dB is very good
    40dB-50dB is good
    50dB-60dB is poor and may experience connectivity issues
    60dB or above is bad and will experience connectivity issues
    Last edited by PSGameDude33; June 14th, 2012 at 19:38.

  2. #2
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Uh, I think that's to be expected. The channel can only transfer one stream of data at a time (two both ways)

  3. #3
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin (dB): 6.8 7.5

    Attenuation 26.5 10.5

    @Codex do mine look ok?

  4. #4
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    Could be better, but probably fine for < 1mbit/s connection speeds.

  5. #5
    Member
    • faisal.amir.bd's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ABIT IP35 Dark Raider
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo [email protected]
      • RAM:
      • 2GB Transcend AxeRam DDR-2 800+ @816MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 820GB (320GB Hitachi, 500GB Samsung)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Radeon HD5770 1GB DDR5 (Batmobile Cooler)
      • Display:
      • ASUS MS228H 1080p LED backlit
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5200 (5.1)
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wired gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 600W
      • UPS:
      • Rahim Afrooz 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7x86
      • ISP:
      • Link 3
      • Download Speed:
      • 180kBps [1.5Mbps]
      • Upload Speed:
      • 180kBps [1.5Mbps]
      • Console:
      • 2
    faisal.amir.bd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    @rmahmud33 This might happen if you use a normal splitter instead of the one bundled with the modem. Are you sure you are using the ADSL splitter that came with the modem?

  6. #6
    Member
    • shakhawat's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Bulldozer
      • RAM:
      • DDR3 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Geforce 550Ti Overclocked
      • Display:
      • 18.5 Inch LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech
      • UPS:
      • Apollo
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1
      • Comment:
      • Great Deal
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 130
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
    shakhawat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Azimpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    95

    Default

    @rmahmud33 Use TP-Link splitter and change your ADSL mode to G.dmt or G.lite. You will get better signal.

  7. #7

    Default

    Yes I am using the TP Link splitter that came in the box. Is it splitter SP-201 is that what your talking about?

    Right now I am getting no issues. Sometimes it just fixes itself by magic and sometimes it doesnt. Here are my ping results for default gateway for btcl 123.49.20.1 via my wifi connection:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.


    C:\Documents and Settings\(username)>ping 123.49.20.1 -t


    Pinging 123.49.20.1 with 32 bytes of data:


    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=72ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=249ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=71ms TTL=254


    Ping statistics for 123.49.20.1:
    Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 26ms, Maximum = 249ms, Average = 63ms
    Control-C
    ^C

    (You may have noticed the high pings thats because of Windows Update downloading stuff)

    Right now I am not getting any packet loss for using the telephone but sometimes I do when I use my telephone.

    And switching to G.dmt, which Annex should I go for? I also asks me for Annex, should I leave as default? Right now I am using ADSL 2 modulation.

    Sorry for the long message.

  8. #8

    Default

    Great! Now it started happening again:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.


    C:\Documents and Settings\(username)>ping 123.49.20.1 -t


    Pinging 123.49.20.1 with 32 bytes of data:


    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=254
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=254
    Reply from 123.49.20.1: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=254
    Request timed out.


    Ping statistics for 123.49.20.1:
    Packets: Sent = 14, Received = 10, Lost = 4 (28% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 37ms, Average = 31ms
    Control-C
    ^

  9. #9
    Member
    • shakhawat's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Bulldozer
      • RAM:
      • DDR3 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Geforce 550Ti Overclocked
      • Display:
      • 18.5 Inch LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech
      • UPS:
      • Apollo
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1
      • Comment:
      • Great Deal
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 130
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
    shakhawat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Azimpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    95

    Default

    @rmahmud33 If you use ADSl 2, than you will get frequent disconnection. ADSl 2 mode doesn't support everyone. Just switch to G.dmt or G.lite and Annex settings is default. Give it a try.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shakhawat View Post
    @rmahmud33 If you use ADSl 2, than you will get frequent disconnection. ADSl 2 mode doesn't support everyone. Just switch to G.dmt or G.lite and Annex settings is default. Give it a try.
    I tried g.dmt but it takes forever to connect.

    If only btcl could use the telephone wall socket.

  11. #11

    Default

    Ok the phone problem is fixed but i have a new problem.

    After switching to g.dmt it was alright but a horrifing 32 kbps downstream! I rebooted the modem and it will no longer connect. WHY did BTCL GIVE A FAULTY LINE? I saw on another thread that the data rate is an astonishing 8000 kbps! You can load youtube easily! How can i fix this problem?

  12. #12

    Default

    Ok its improving:




    ADSL Firmware Version
    :
    FwVer:3.11.2.176_TC3086 HwVer:T14.F7_6.0
    Line State
    :
    Showtime
    Modulation
    :
    G.dmt



    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin
    :
    5.0 7.0 db
    Line Attenuation
    :
    56.5 31.5 db
    Data Rate
    :
    768 512 kbps

  13. #13

    Default

    And this:


    ADSL Firmware Version
    :
    FwVer:3.11.2.176_TC3086 HwVer:T14.F7_6.0
    Line State
    :
    Showtime
    Modulation
    :
    G.dmt



    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin
    :
    6.5 7.0 db
    Line Attenuation
    :
    55.0 31.5 db
    Data Rate
    :
    672 480 kbps

  14. #14

    Default

    And if you are good with what this means then here is my router log:

    06/18/2012 17:50:06 192.168.2.5 login success
    06/18/2012 17:50:04 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:49:47 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:49:31 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:49:14 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:48:58 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:48:45 sending ACK to 192.168.2.5
    06/18/2012 17:48:45 sending OFFER to 192.168.2.5
    06/18/2012 17:48:43 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:48:28 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:47:14 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:46:54 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:46:37 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:46:19 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:46:02 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:45:56 PPPoE receive PADT
    06/18/2012 17:45:43 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:45:27 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:45:09 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:44:57 NTP Date/Time updated.
    06/18/2012 17:44:53 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:44:46 If(PPPoE1) PPP connection ok !
    06/18/2012 17:44:45 PPPoE1 get IP (cannot tell you)
    06/18/2012 17:44:42 PPPoE1 start PPP
    06/18/2012 17:44:42 PPPoE receive PADS
    06/18/2012 17:44:42 PPPoE send PADR
    06/18/2012 17:44:42 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:44:42 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:44:39 PPPoE receive PADT
    06/18/2012 17:44:39 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:44:39 PPPoE receive PADO
    06/18/2012 17:44:34 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:44:26 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:44:21 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:44:13 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:44:05 PPPoE send PADI
    06/18/2012 17:43:58 sending ACK to 192.168.2.5
    06/18/2012 17:43:57 PPPoE send PADI
    Last edited by PSGameDude33; June 18th, 2012 at 18:55.

  15. #15
    Member
    • shakhawat's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Bulldozer
      • RAM:
      • DDR3 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Geforce 550Ti Overclocked
      • Display:
      • 18.5 Inch LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech
      • UPS:
      • Apollo
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1
      • Comment:
      • Great Deal
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 130
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
    shakhawat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Azimpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Your Line Attenuation is comparatively high(Not good), that's why you are getting disconnection, low signal and low data rate.

    Here's my TP-Link Modem/Router Statistics -- ADSL

    Mode: G.lite
    Type: Interleave
    Line Coding: Trellis Off
    Status: No Defect
    Link Power State: L0
    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin (dB): 7.6 7.0
    Attenuation (dB): 37.0 23.5
    Output Power (dBm): 12.5 16.1
    Attainable Rate (Kbps): 4736 1152
    Rate (Kbps): 4128 1024
    K (number of bytes in DMT frame): 130 33
    R (number of check bytes in RS code word): 16 8
    S (RS code word size in DMT frame): 1 4
    D (interleaver depth): 16 4
    Delay (msec): 4 4

  16. #16

    Default

    Do you get the whole 4 mbps or some of it. How does my upstream channel look? I an confused about attenuation because the telephone box is right next to where i live! Is there any way to improve it at all? I am getting 512 kbps speeds and supposed to get 1 mbps speeds.

  17. #17

    Default

    Switched back to adsl 2 modulation and not getting signal dropouts. Please answer my questions from the above post im not judging you i need to know.

  18. #18
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55&quot;
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    How about mine?

    how will Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tp.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	186.1 KB 
ID:	23300it behave with 1mbps package?

  19. #19
    Member
    • shakhawat's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Bulldozer
      • RAM:
      • DDR3 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Geforce 550Ti Overclocked
      • Display:
      • 18.5 Inch LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech
      • UPS:
      • Apollo
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1
      • Comment:
      • Great Deal
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 130
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
    shakhawat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Azimpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    95

    Default

    @rmahmud33 No I don't get whole 4mbps speed because their is no such thing. I get my speed according to my package(1 mbps). And your upstream and downstream doesn't look good with G.dmt. Its too low. So G.dmt is not suitable for your proper connection utilization.

    And for your information, Attenuation is to measure distance your cable length from Exchange to your home. Not from Telephone Box.

  20. #20
    Member
    • shakhawat's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX 6100 Bulldozer
      • RAM:
      • DDR3 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 GB SATA
      • Graphics Card:
      • Geforce 550Ti Overclocked
      • Display:
      • 18.5 Inch LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech
      • UPS:
      • Apollo
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1
      • Comment:
      • Great Deal
      • ISP:
      • BTCL ADSL
      • Download Speed:
      • 130
      • Upload Speed:
      • 60
    shakhawat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Azimpur, Dhaka
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    How about mine?

    how will Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tp.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	186.1 KB 
ID:	23300it behave with 1mbps package?

    You will get full advantage of 1 mbps package. Your stats looks fine.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Internet settings in Android phone?
    By Tipu in forum Internet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 15th, 2012, 12:33
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 8th, 2011, 02:28
  3. Want to Buy A Cell Phone
    By SK in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2011, 00:14
  4. internet theke download ar game kelle same time e hard disc
    By knroeoueqisk in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 9th, 2010, 22:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.35338 seconds with 15 queries.