User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: UPS battery renewal.

  1. #1
    Member
    • Blurgon's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus H97-PLUS
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4590 3.30 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 850 EVO
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1650
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech
      • Keyboard:
      • Fantech Pantheon
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A91
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 350w
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 PRO
      • Console:
      • 128
    Blurgon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    322

    Question UPS battery renewal.

    Hello everyone.

    I am currently using Power Guard UPS 1200VA for 2 years. Generally, it used to give me ~10 minutes backup in a power outage under low load and would start beeping afterwards. Recently though, it starts beeping in a couple of SECONDS after a power outage, under low load, and I always manage to shut down my PC asap, so I do not know the length of time it can give backup now.
    My query is, when do I know it's time to change the UPS battery and where do I change it from if it's required. I purchased this UPS from PC Garden Sylhet.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sumit Pramanik's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus ROG Strix B360-H Gaming with Xigmatek Leco Plus Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-9700
      • RAM:
      • G-Skill Trident Z RGB F4-2400C15-8GTZR*2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 250GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB x 2, WD Caviar Green 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS GeForce GTX 960 STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
      • Display:
      • Asus VZ229HE Eye Care 21.5 Inch
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab B70 Speaker System; Sennheiser HD598SE
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
      • Mouse:
      • Asus ROG Gladius II
      • Controller:
      • Don't need one..........
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltek Toughpower Grand 750W RGB
      • Optical Drive:
      • N/A
      • UPS:
      • Maxgreen 2000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional
      • Comment:
      • Upgrade Complete, System Online, All Systems are Stable. Lets ROCK.
      • ISP:
      • Quick Online (Earth Telecommunication Pvt. Limited)
      • Download Speed:
      • 40Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20Mbps
    Sumit Pramanik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Did you mean it starts beeping frequently after 10min and now doing that after only few seconds? If thats the case your battery is now as good as HARAMBE. So replace it asap. Also check your battery AH rating. You can find battery in IDB or Multiplan. Also all electronics shop near you sell non-branded batteries. You can check those too. Price below 1200tk for 9AH battery for branded ones.
    We all fall down
    We live somehow
    We learn what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger

  3. #3
    Member
    • Blurgon's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus H97-PLUS
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4590 3.30 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 850 EVO
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1650
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech
      • Keyboard:
      • Fantech Pantheon
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A91
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 350w
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 PRO
      • Console:
      • 128
    Blurgon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumit Pramanik View Post
    Did you mean it starts beeping frequently after 10min and now doing that after only few seconds? If thats the case your battery is now as good as HARAMBE. So replace it asap. Also check your battery AH rating. You can find battery in IDB or Multiplan. Also all electronics shop near you sell non-branded batteries. You can check those too. Price below 1200tk for 9AH battery for branded ones.
    Yes, that is correct. Could you tell me other than not getting ample backup during power outage, what other problems I might face if I don't replace the batteries soon ?

  4. #4
    Member
    • Sumit Pramanik's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus ROG Strix B360-H Gaming with Xigmatek Leco Plus Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-9700
      • RAM:
      • G-Skill Trident Z RGB F4-2400C15-8GTZR*2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 250GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB x 2, WD Caviar Green 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS GeForce GTX 960 STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
      • Display:
      • Asus VZ229HE Eye Care 21.5 Inch
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab B70 Speaker System; Sennheiser HD598SE
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
      • Mouse:
      • Asus ROG Gladius II
      • Controller:
      • Don't need one..........
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltek Toughpower Grand 750W RGB
      • Optical Drive:
      • N/A
      • UPS:
      • Maxgreen 2000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional
      • Comment:
      • Upgrade Complete, System Online, All Systems are Stable. Lets ROCK.
      • ISP:
      • Quick Online (Earth Telecommunication Pvt. Limited)
      • Download Speed:
      • 40Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20Mbps
    Sumit Pramanik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Sometimes it can get instant shutdown if proper wattage is not available. Other than that no more problems as far as i know.
    We all fall down
    We live somehow
    We learn what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger

  5. #5
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock Z77M
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2500K @4.5 GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill ARES 2400 MHz 8GBx2
      • Hard Drive:
      • ADATA SU650 240GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • AMD RX 570 4GB 1300/1750 1.03v
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC898
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • GAMDIAS Hephaestus P1
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K70 RGB
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech B100
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • Skylark
      • Download Speed:
      • 5 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Buy a good pair of batteries. There have been various discussions regarding this subject in BG, you'll have to search for a bit but you'll eventually land on the appropriate thread. I can't think of the brand name at the moment. Replacing the battery is fairly simple and you can do it by yourself.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Blurgon's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus H97-PLUS
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4590 3.30 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SSD 850 EVO
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 1650
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech
      • Keyboard:
      • Fantech Pantheon
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A91
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake 350w
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 PRO
      • Console:
      • 128
    Blurgon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumit Pramanik View Post
    Sometimes it can get instant shutdown if proper wattage is not available. Other than that no more problems as far as i know.
    Alright, that's a relief. Thank you for the info.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Fox Mulder View Post
    Buy a good pair of batteries. There have been various discussions regarding this subject in BG, you'll have to search for a bit but you'll eventually land on the appropriate thread. I can't think of the brand name at the moment. Replacing the battery is fairly simple and you can do it by yourself.
    I contacted OSGS and they told me it'll cost ~1.1k per battery, didn't mention the AH though, I suppose I'd get 9AH ones if it costs the mentioned price. I'll do my research, thanks for the tip.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.18730 seconds with 13 queries.