User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [Android] Upgrading to ICS

  1. #1
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Lightbulb [Android] Upgrading to ICS

    I'm using Xperia Ray ST18i and trying to update the firmware to Official 4.1.A.0.562 ICS 4.0.3.
    Tried doing it with PC companion, and it downloaded the update but the thing gets stuck like this -



    So, I need help.
    1. Via which mode should I connect the phone? Memory Card or Memory transfer? Should I debug the usb?
    2. Should I use update from other sources like THIS?
    3. Is the firmware of Arc/Arc S[LT18] the same as Ray [ST18i]?

    And finally I need an official/trusted detailed guide about upgrading to ICS.
    SO DROID USERS, HELP ME!!!

    P.S. Don't mock me yet, yes I'm a total noob.
    Last edited by Frank3nst3in; May 24th, 2012 at 10:01.


  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    I'll suggest a different method.

    Download: http://androxyde.github.com/Flashtool/

    ...and then download the stock ICS firmware for Ray: http://www.multiupload.nl/0IPWE7LCEO

    Learn the instructions on how to use FlashTool from that website, it was originally created for X10 but then geared more support towards all the 2011 devices so IIRC it should be a easy process with one click after you copy the firmware[ftf] file into FlashTool's directory and then fastboot should take care of the rest.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    ^ Thanks man, I found this method after I posted this ^^

    Now I'm assured that it's okay to use this.


    btw @dipanzan , if I update in this way, preloaded app gula ki thakbe?
    I'm not backing up anything. Haven't connected with a gmail id either.


  4. #4
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank3nst3in View Post
    ^ Thanks man, I found this method after I posted this ^^

    Now I'm assured that it's okay to use this.


    btw @dipanzan , if I update in this way, preloaded app gula ki thakbe?
    I'm not backing up anything. Haven't connected with a gmail id either.
    It's the official(stock) ICS firmware for your Ray, all the apps you would have gotten through PC Suite, the same it'll be for the manual method and it's mostly useless.

  5. #5
    Member
    • aladdin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte z68-MA-D2H-B3
      • CPU:
      • Intel SB i5 2500K
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB x2 DDR3 (8 GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Caviar Black 1TB+Green 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 670 Windforce OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VH-226H 21.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • UE 200
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX 518
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair GS800
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Tt Armor A60 ( has front usb ;) )
      • UPS:
      • PowerPack
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 64bit
      • Comment:
      • It works :) and works great
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion 1Mbps King
      • Download Speed:
      • 128KBps

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Rajshahi
    Posts
    111

    Default

    it didn't dounload the update yet. it actually downloads on update stage which is next. I got stucked on this step too, closed it and retried. then it went to the update stage. it actually downloads somewhat 200+ MB on update stage. Before that though, it said downloading something but used only few megabytes. I have doen it last week. v5 root method is rally easy and rooted it right after updating.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aladdin View Post
    it didn't dounload the update yet. it actually downloads on update stage which is next. I got stucked on this step too, closed it and retried. then it went to the update stage. it actually downloads somewhat 200+ MB on update stage. Before that though, it said downloading something but used only few megabytes. I have doen it last week. v5 root method is rally easy and rooted it right after updating.
    I kept it running for 6 hours you are saying that it got stuck and remained stuck for 6 hours?


  7. #7
    Member
    • aladdin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte z68-MA-D2H-B3
      • CPU:
      • Intel SB i5 2500K
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB x2 DDR3 (8 GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Caviar Black 1TB+Green 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 670 Windforce OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VH-226H 21.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • UE 200
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX 518
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair GS800
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Tt Armor A60 ( has front usb ;) )
      • UPS:
      • PowerPack
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 64bit
      • Comment:
      • It works :) and works great
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion 1Mbps King
      • Download Speed:
      • 128KBps

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Rajshahi
    Posts
    111

    Default

    no, i closed the app and relunched. it took appx 20 mins to pass the stage next time though.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Frank3nst3in's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P33
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon II X4 640
      • RAM:
      • 2x2GB [Silicon Power+Transcend] DDR3-1333 CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB F3, WD Blue 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB, Hitachi 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ECS EliteGroup GTX 550Ti
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX229H 21.5
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative SB X-Fi Titanium
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic HTF600, SoundMagic E10
      • Keyboard:
      • CM Storm Devastator MS2K
      • Mouse:
      • CM Storm Devastator MB24
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake LitePower500 W0316RE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion
      • Download Speed:
      • 64 KBps
    Frank3nst3in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aladdin View Post
    no, i closed the app and relunched. it took appx 20 mins to pass the stage next time though.
    Media Transfer Mode or Memory Card mode?
    USB Debugging enabled or disabled?

    Thou I'm not gonna use this method anymore.


  9. #9
    Member
    • aladdin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte z68-MA-D2H-B3
      • CPU:
      • Intel SB i5 2500K
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4GB x2 DDR3 (8 GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Caviar Black 1TB+Green 500 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 670 Windforce OC
      • Display:
      • Asus VH-226H 21.5"
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • UE 200
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX 518
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair GS800
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Tt Armor A60 ( has front usb ;) )
      • UPS:
      • PowerPack
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 64bit
      • Comment:
      • It works :) and works great
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion 1Mbps King
      • Download Speed:
      • 128KBps

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Rajshahi
    Posts
    111

    Default

    mem card mode and USB debugging enabled.

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola RAZR gets Android 4.0.4 ICS update inGreece
    By superhuman in forum Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 7th, 2012, 02:25
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 10th, 2011, 10:48
  3. need urgent help upgrading my PC.......!!!!
    By nahid_2701 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 3rd, 2011, 21:29
  4. PC upgrading help!
    By samgamer in forum Help - PC Buying
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: April 28th, 2011, 12:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.20934 seconds with 14 queries.