User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Is my PSU dying?

  1. #1

    Default Is my PSU dying?

    For the past 2 weeks I've been having this problem while playing Elite Dangerous. Randomly while I was on the mission menu screens, or everytime when I would alt-tab out of the game, my PC would instantly shutdown and reboot by itself without any BSOD/crash reports. Windows event viewer would only report it as a kernel error. Initially I thought it was just a bug with the new game update maybe, but soon enough I realized otherwise when the same problem happened while playing Battlefield 1 (during MP loading in/out). To test the problem further, I went ahead and ran the PSU test in OCCT, and boom, within seconds, my PC did that same shutdown/reboot.

    So all I want to know now is, before going ahead and buying a new PSU as a replacement, is there anything else I need to check to make sure there's no other factor other than the PSU causing this problem?

    PSU in question is the Thermaltake TR2 80+ Bronze 500W; running an i5-6500 with a gtx970 + 8GB RAM on a H110M motherboard

    Everything has been used since February 2016. And, nothing is overclocked

  2. #2
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z370 GAMING M5
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K
      • RAM:
      • Team Xtreem 4133MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC1220
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • TheNetHeads
      • Download Speed:
      • 5 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5 mbps
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,064

    Default

    RAM error

  3. #3
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    never trust a thermaltake product then again do memtest and make the meme wrong :3

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VANGUARD View Post
    RAM error
    Nope. Windows memory diagnostics show 0 errors

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    never trust a thermaltake product then again do memtest and make the meme wrong :3
    Yup. Been hearing that a lot (apart from their Toughpower series), but only after I bought it

  5. #5
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    well did i suggest you not to buy thermaltake few days ago? welcome to the realm of hell what you just called yourself

  6. #6
    Member
    • Ahnaf_i7X's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-3770K cooled by TT Frio Extreme
      • RAM:
      • Corsair XMS 3 (4GBx2=8GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Toshiba (1TB)7500rpm, Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X OC Edition
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic 22" 1080p (1920x1080)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Integrated Sound
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech Headphones
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech ComfortKey
      • Mouse:
      • Thermaltake eSports Talon Blu Gaming Mouse
      • Controller:
      • Generic Gamepad Plug n Play
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W 80+ Bronze
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22x DVD Writer
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • I love my PC and my PC electrocutes me.
      • ISP:
      • I dont have one
      • Download Speed:
      • I dont have one
      • Upload Speed:
      • I dont have one
      • Console:
      • 16
    Ahnaf_i7X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Watching your back.
    Posts
    1,311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    well did i suggest you not to buy thermaltake few days ago? welcome to the realm of hell what you just called yourself
    it is better to stop making him regret his purchase, it's too late for that and he can't just un-buy the product

    @OP

    Judging from ur description it seems like the psu is the culprit. Random shutdowns during high load point to the PSU failing to provide enough power or failing to regulate voltage. And also when the lack of error messages are factored in.

    Most probably ur warranty's over so u should get a new, better psu. (e.g. 80+ Gold and higher certified psu's generally have good quality components and should last u longer )
    Loved by few,
    Hated by many
    But respected by all!!

  7. #7
    Member
    • SoMoN.Khan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI z97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790k
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Adata SSD sx900,1Tb Samgsung F3 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 780
      • Display:
      • Dell S2240L
      • Sound Card:
      • ALC 1150
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Solo 7c/Sony XB500
      • Keyboard:
      • Cosair k70
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Dilong
      • Power Supply:
      • TM Tough Power 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samgsung DVD,LiteOn DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 64 bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.8
      • Comment:
      • it ok, i dont use it that much. Office gift me mac mini !!! which i use now.

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    Nope. Windows memory diagnostics show 0 errors
    Dont trust Windows memory diagnostics!!
    swap ur ram with another one and give it a try.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    well did i suggest you not to buy thermaltake few days ago? welcome to the realm of hell what you just called yourself
    It wasn't me, but yeah I get your point

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahnaf_i7X View Post
    @OP

    Judging from ur description it seems like the psu is the culprit. Random shutdowns during high load point to the PSU failing to provide enough power or failing to regulate voltage. And also when the lack of error messages are factored in.

    Most probably ur warranty's over so u should get a new, better psu. (e.g. 80+ Gold and higher certified psu's generally have good quality components and should last u longer )
    Yup, will be getting a new one within the next 2 days. Still browsing thru options. Quick question: For PSU, which brand is better? Coolermaster, Antec, or Gigabyte ?

    Quote Originally Posted by SoMoN.Khan View Post
    Dont trust Windows memory diagnostics!!
    swap ur ram with another one and give it a try.
    Unfortunately I don't have an extra stick of RAM for that at the moment. But is it really worth checking? I have a GSkill Ripjaws V 2400 BUS 8GB DDR4. Is there any other way to test memory that I can ''trust''?

  9. #9
    Member
    • Obelix's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z170-A
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7-6700K
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 32GB DDR4-3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • WDG 2TB, Toshiba 3TB+3TB+4TB+6TB+6TB; Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GTX 980Ti G1 6GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 227ELH, 1080p, 75Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • BUILT-IN
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z623 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech
      • Controller:
      • XBOX ONE Wireless Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER V850 FULLY MODULAR 80+ GOLD Certified
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd-rom
      • USB Devices:
      • TRANSCEND USB3.0 16GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • LET THE GAMING COMMENCE
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Console:
      • 63

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    It wasn't me, but yeah I get your point



    Yup, will be getting a new one within the next 2 days. Still browsing thru options. Quick question: For PSU, which brand is better? Coolermaster, Antec, or Gigabyte ?



    Unfortunately I don't have an extra stick of RAM for that at the moment. But is it really worth checking? I have a GSkill Ripjaws V 2400 BUS 8GB DDR4. Is there any other way to test memory that I can ''trust''?
    There are many good PSU brands in Dhaka nowadays... Seasonic (Gold and upwards), CoolerMaster (V series only). The PSU is the most important part of your rig so don't cheap out here.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Obelix View Post
    There are many good PSU brands in Dhaka nowadays... Seasonic (Gold and upwards), CoolerMaster (V series only). The PSU is the most important part of your rig so don't cheap out here.
    I couldn't find any Seasonic ones in Dhaka. PCG Sylhet has the Seasonic S1211 620W but that's not gold rated, but it has to be better than what I had They also have an EVGA one which isn't gold either but again, better brand

    The only affordable CM V series I could find is the Cooler Master Gold V550 at Ryans, but it's a 550W so dunno if it would be enough when I upgrade my GPU later to 1070

    I asked OSGS and they recommended me a CM GX650, and I also see them putting various non-V series CM PSUs in their fancy builds with gtx 1050-1070s, so I believe they're fairly confident with those unless their customers actually get killed from the PSU explosions and never really get to complain to them in the end

    How about Antec Truepower gold rates PSUs? I read satisfactory reviews overall on most Antec PSUs on Newegg- some even claiming to run them for over 5 years without any issues

  11. #11
    Member
    • Obelix's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z170-A
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7-6700K
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 32GB DDR4-3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • WDG 2TB, Toshiba 3TB+3TB+4TB+6TB+6TB; Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GTX 980Ti G1 6GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 227ELH, 1080p, 75Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • BUILT-IN
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z623 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech
      • Controller:
      • XBOX ONE Wireless Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER V850 FULLY MODULAR 80+ GOLD Certified
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd-rom
      • USB Devices:
      • TRANSCEND USB3.0 16GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • LET THE GAMING COMMENCE
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Console:
      • 63

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Check out the shops in IDB. Multiplan branches don't have the stock even if the product is listed on their websites.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    I couldn't find any Seasonic ones in Dhaka. PCG Sylhet has the Seasonic S1211 620W but that's not gold rated, but it has to be better than what I had They also have an EVGA one which isn't gold either but again, better brand

    The only affordable CM V series I could find is the Cooler Master Gold V550 at Ryans, but it's a 550W so dunno if it would be enough when I upgrade my GPU later to 1070

    I asked OSGS and they recommended me a CM GX650, and I also see them putting various non-V series CM PSUs in their fancy builds with gtx 1050-1070s, so I believe they're fairly confident with those unless their customers actually get killed from the PSU explosions and never really get to complain to them in the end

    How about Antec Truepower gold rates PSUs? I read satisfactory reviews overall on most Antec PSUs on Newegg- some even claiming to run them for over 5 years without any issues
    I dont know about Antec. Could be they are good, could be they are not. When I bought my PC Antec psu was unavailable in DHaka.

    I dont mean to be snobbish but I dont call any builds having gtx1070-1050 as "fancy". So if they are using GX series PSU I have no comment.
    Last edited by Obelix; July 28th, 2017 at 09:06.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,023

    Default

    One stop gaming solution brings seasonic and Computersource used to offer antec.

  13. #13
    Member
    • Ahnaf_i7X's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-3770K cooled by TT Frio Extreme
      • RAM:
      • Corsair XMS 3 (4GBx2=8GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Toshiba (1TB)7500rpm, Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X OC Edition
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic 22" 1080p (1920x1080)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Integrated Sound
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • A4Tech Headphones
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech ComfortKey
      • Mouse:
      • Thermaltake eSports Talon Blu Gaming Mouse
      • Controller:
      • Generic Gamepad Plug n Play
      • Power Supply:
      • Gigabyte Pulse 650W 80+ Bronze
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 22x DVD Writer
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Comment:
      • I love my PC and my PC electrocutes me.
      • ISP:
      • I dont have one
      • Download Speed:
      • I dont have one
      • Upload Speed:
      • I dont have one
      • Console:
      • 16
    Ahnaf_i7X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Watching your back.
    Posts
    1,311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    I couldn't find any Seasonic ones in Dhaka. PCG Sylhet has the Seasonic S1211 620W but that's not gold rated, but it has to be better than what I had They also have an EVGA one which isn't gold either but again, better brand

    The only affordable CM V series I could find is the Cooler Master Gold V550 at Ryans, but it's a 550W so dunno if it would be enough when I upgrade my GPU later to 1070

    I asked OSGS and they recommended me a CM GX650, and I also see them putting various non-V series CM PSUs in their fancy builds with gtx 1050-1070s, so I believe they're fairly confident with those unless their customers actually get killed from the PSU explosions and never really get to complain to them in the end

    How about Antec Truepower gold rates PSUs? I read satisfactory reviews overall on most Antec PSUs on Newegg- some even claiming to run them for over 5 years without any issues
    CM V550 is a good, affordable choice. FYI the gtx 1070 is extremely power efficient and coupled with ur i5, 550W is more than enough. You could even run the 1070 overclocked without a hiccup.
    Loved by few,
    Hated by many
    But respected by all!!

  14. #14
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    It wasn't me, but yeah I get your point



    Yup, will be getting a new one within the next 2 days. Still browsing thru options. Quick question: For PSU, which brand is better? Coolermaster, Antec, or Gigabyte ?



    Unfortunately I don't have an extra stick of RAM for that at the moment. But is it really worth checking? I have a GSkill Ripjaws V 2400 BUS 8GB DDR4. Is there any other way to test memory that I can ''trust''?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	optk6a (1).jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	28.8 KB 
ID:	40126

  15. #15
    Member
    • Iskander's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P23 (FX)
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz
      • RAM:
      • 8(2x4GB) Corsair Value DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Radeon R7 250 1GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19S350HNW IPS
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • WK WI300
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech N-70FX
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M 80PLUS Bronze
      • USB Devices:
      • 500GB Samisung External HDD
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro, Linux Mint (Dual Boot)
      • ISP:
      • Asianet BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 6Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 6Mbps
    Iskander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Get Seasonic or Cooler Master 80+ Gold, you will not regret it

  16. #16
    Member
    • Obelix's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z170-A
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7-6700K
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 32GB DDR4-3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • WDG 2TB, Toshiba 3TB+3TB+4TB+6TB+6TB; Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GTX 980Ti G1 6GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 227ELH, 1080p, 75Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • BUILT-IN
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z623 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech
      • Controller:
      • XBOX ONE Wireless Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER V850 FULLY MODULAR 80+ GOLD Certified
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd-rom
      • USB Devices:
      • TRANSCEND USB3.0 16GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • LET THE GAMING COMMENCE
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Console:
      • 63

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Its always better to have more wattage than your system needs. You can OC to your heart's content and add as many HDDs and peripherals as you wish. Buy the Seasonic X-850 or CM V850. Check reviews online... these two are as good as they come.

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    One stop gaming solution brings seasonic and Computersource used to offer antec.
    I called OSGS- they said they haven't had Seasonic PSUs for a year now and they're still trying to get them but nothing is confirmed yet. And Startech e mainly Antec PSU diyey vora

    Also called up Globalbrand- they don't have Seasonic ones either

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahnaf_i7X View Post
    CM V550 is a good, affordable choice. FYI the gtx 1070 is extremely power efficient and coupled with ur i5, 550W is more than enough. You could even run the 1070 overclocked without a hiccup.
    Actually my plan is to upgrade to gtx 1070 first, then also upgrade the cpu to an i7. I did quick check in pcpartspicker, and this is the total power requirement I get on idle-full loads for my future build

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	6 
Size:	23.2 KB 
ID:	40128

    As you can see, I'd need around 440W. I dunno how good an estimate this is, but I also checked that the V550 can provide 540W on it's 12V rail. 90% efficiency makes that 486W... which means I'd only have around 45W of extra wattage. Is that enough for overclocking headroom? Or I think I should go for V750. OSGS said they have them in stock for 10k

    Quote Originally Posted by Obelix View Post
    Its always better to have more wattage than your system needs. You can OC to your heart's content and add as many HDDs and peripherals as you wish. Buy the Seasonic X-850 or CM V850. Check reviews online... these two are as good as they come.
    850W would be a bit overkill for a 1070 build as I mentioned above, would've considered it if I was planning to upgrade to 1080 instead. I'm not even entirely sure when exactly I can upgrade to 1070 even, since the prices haven't dropped yet -_- But yes, I will be going for CM V series, that's for sure

  18. #18
    Member
    • Obelix's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z170-A
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7-6700K
      • RAM:
      • G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 32GB DDR4-3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • WDG 2TB, Toshiba 3TB+3TB+4TB+6TB+6TB; Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE GTX 980Ti G1 6GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 227ELH, 1080p, 75Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • BUILT-IN
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z623 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech
      • Controller:
      • XBOX ONE Wireless Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER V850 FULLY MODULAR 80+ GOLD Certified
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd-rom
      • USB Devices:
      • TRANSCEND USB3.0 16GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • LET THE GAMING COMMENCE
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2MB/s
      • Console:
      • 63

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    I called OSGS- they said they haven't had Seasonic PSUs for a year now and they're still trying to get them but nothing is confirmed yet. And Startech e mainly Antec PSU diyey vora

    Also called up Globalbrand- they don't have Seasonic ones either



    Actually my plan is to upgrade to gtx 1070 first, then also upgrade the cpu to an i7. I did quick check in pcpartspicker, and this is the total power requirement I get on idle-full loads for my future build

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	6 
Size:	23.2 KB 
ID:	40128

    As you can see, I'd need around 440W. I dunno how good an estimate this is, but I also checked that the V550 can provide 540W on it's 12V rail. 90% efficiency makes that 486W... which means I'd only have around 45W of extra wattage. Is that enough for overclocking headroom? Or I think I should go for V750. OSGS said they have them in stock for 10k



    850W would be a bit overkill for a 1070 build as I mentioned above, would've considered it if I was planning to upgrade to 1080 instead. I'm not even entirely sure when exactly I can upgrade to 1070 even, since the prices haven't dropped yet -_- But yes, I will be going for CM V series, that's for sure
    http://www.binarylogic.com.bd/index.php?p=231

  19. #19
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    vai eita nao amar ekta friend gtx zotac 1080ti extreme edition ta ar i7 7700k chalaitese eitar sathe kono problem kortese na

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    vai eita nao amar ekta friend gtx zotac 1080ti extreme edition ta ar i7 7700k chalaitese eitar sathe kono problem kortese na
    Kemne bhai? :/ That's a 550W bronze psu that can only give around 460W tops. A gtx 1080ti + i7 7700k system requires a least a pure 500W on full load, unless he underclocked

    It would be fine for my current system, but not in the future when I upgrade

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.25974 seconds with 14 queries.