User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Getting BSOD with stopcode: critical_process_died

  1. #1
    Member
    • TRazerK's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Prime Z370-A
      • CPU:
      • i7 8700k
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws 16GB 2400 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB + Samsung 950 Pro Evo 250GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Asus VX24AH 1440p 60Hz
      • Keyboard:
      • Cougar Puri TKL
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V750
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • ISP:
      • MyInternet
      • Download Speed:
      • 20480
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20480
    TRazerK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    239

    Default Getting BSOD with stopcode: critical_process_died

    For the past few days I have been getting this BSOD crash error once every time I start-up my Windows 10 (approximately 3-4 mins after logging into Windows):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	19693688_1161329497305497_8556014418034983184_o.jpg 
Views:	399 
Size:	126.3 KB 
ID:	40069

    Problem doesn't re-occur anymore after Windows restart though. Have kept my PC running for like 18 hrs or so without it ever re-occurring, but once I shut down PC and start it up, then it crashes with the same error again. Now I did the obvious google digging regarding this, and so far I've tried the following things with no damn luck whatsoever:

    1) ran sfc/scannow in cmd (gave no errors/warnings, all clear)
    2) updated all my drivers with software booster (I did have several out-dated drivers, updated them but still same problem)
    3) ran malwarebytes (never had run it b4, it did find like 4 minor threats, deleted them, but still no luck)

    So now I'm stuck completely failing to isolate what's causing this problem. If anyone here has faced similar issue, then please let me know the fix. Any help will be much appreciated

    PS: The error screen does say that it's gonna restart windows for me, but it never does. I have to hard-reboot my pc everytime

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 3600
      • RAM:
      • Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 | Logitech G102
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Enterprise x64 1903
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    4,290

    Default

    Download WhoCrashed and it'll check the dump file and tell you the most likely cause.

  3. #3
    Member
    • TRazerK's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Prime Z370-A
      • CPU:
      • i7 8700k
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws 16GB 2400 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB + Samsung 950 Pro Evo 250GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Asus VX24AH 1440p 60Hz
      • Keyboard:
      • Cougar Puri TKL
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V750
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • ISP:
      • MyInternet
      • Download Speed:
      • 20480
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20480
    TRazerK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    Download WhoCrashed and it'll check the dump file and tell you the most likely cause.
    Thanks. Made my PC crash by turning it off and on, and this is the crash report by WhoCrashed:

    Code:
    On Tue 04-Jul-17 22:32:07 your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\070417-29515-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x16C3F0) 
    Bugcheck code: 0xEF (0xFFFFBD86DCD107C0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0)
    Error: CRITICAL_PROCESS_DIED
    file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
    product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    company: Microsoft Corporation
    description: NT Kernel & System
    Bug check description: This indicates that a critical system process died.
    There is a possibility this problem was caused by a virus or other malware. 
    The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver that cannot be identified at this time. 
    

  4. #4
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI MORTAR MAX B450
      • CPU:
      • RYZEN R7 2700
      • RAM:
      • 8X2 CORSAIR VENGEANCE 3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB WDD BLUE , 128 GB RIPJAWS M.2 SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GALAX GTX 1660TI EX WHITE
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG 943SWX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • KZ ZSN PRO
      • Keyboard:
      • GENERIC DELL
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH GENERIC
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER B500
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • ISP:
      • SPEED TECH ONLINE
      • Download Speed:
      • 10mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    most probably your hdd is dying and it feels like even adel's "hello" can't even call it back so prepare to buy a new hdd

  5. #5
    Member
    • kaziishan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K (Thermaltake Frio OCK CPU Cooler)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury White DDR3-1866
      • Hard Drive:
      • 240GB Zotac ZTSSD-A5P Premium, 1TB Toshiba (x2 RAID 1), 2TB Toshiba (x2)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB OC (Core:1390MHz, Memory:2000MHz)
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5" FHD IPS FreeSync 75Hz, ViewSonic VX2263S 21.5" FHD IPS 60Hz
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A35
      • Keyboard:
      • FL-ESports Mechanical Armor
      • Mouse:
      • Mad Catz R.A.T.3 Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM1000 80+ Gold
      • USB Devices:
      • PNY Turbo 3.0 64GB USB Flash Drive (R:105MBps, W: 58MBps)
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Thermaltake Suppressor F51 Case
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8mbps
    kaziishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Try uninstalling any third party virus/malware protection while being disconnected to your internet connection (literally pull the Ethernet cable).
    Any of the meme/quote I post here on this forum is a "দেশ ও দশের সম্পত্তি"... Download it, Edit it, Share it, Put Your Name on it...I will not mind as long as it is Legal and does not convey any Illegal Message...

  6. #6
    Member
    • TRazerK's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Prime Z370-A
      • CPU:
      • i7 8700k
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws 16GB 2400 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB + Samsung 950 Pro Evo 250GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Asus VX24AH 1440p 60Hz
      • Keyboard:
      • Cougar Puri TKL
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V750
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • ISP:
      • MyInternet
      • Download Speed:
      • 20480
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20480
    TRazerK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    most probably your hdd is dying and it feels like even adel's "hello" can't even call it back so prepare to buy a new hdd
    "Hello? It's me...."
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Error_Scan_WDC_____WD10EZEX-00WN4A0.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	21.7 KB 
ID:	40086Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Health_WDC_____WD10EZEX-00WN4A0.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	36.4 KB 
ID:	40087


    Quote Originally Posted by kaziishan View Post
    Try uninstalling any third party virus/malware protection while being disconnected to your internet connection (literally pull the Ethernet cable).
    Bingo! Yes! I did this, and now there's no more of that BSOD error on startup!
    So the only culprit was Bitdefender free edition (the anti-virus I was using) ?? But why/how??
    So now what do I do?? Use another 3rd party anti-virus program? (if you can suggest any?), or just stick with built-in Windows defender?
    I also have to see if the BSOD comes up again anytime while I keep my PC running, cos you never know. But for now, thanks a bunch!!

  7. #7
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI MORTAR MAX B450
      • CPU:
      • RYZEN R7 2700
      • RAM:
      • 8X2 CORSAIR VENGEANCE 3200
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1 TB WDD BLUE , 128 GB RIPJAWS M.2 SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GALAX GTX 1660TI EX WHITE
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG 943SWX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • KZ ZSN PRO
      • Keyboard:
      • GENERIC DELL
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH GENERIC
      • Power Supply:
      • COOLER MASTER B500
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • ISP:
      • SPEED TECH ONLINE
      • Download Speed:
      • 10mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TRazerK View Post
    "Hello? It's me...."
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Error_Scan_WDC_____WD10EZEX-00WN4A0.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	21.7 KB 
ID:	40086Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Health_WDC_____WD10EZEX-00WN4A0.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	36.4 KB 
ID:	40087




    Bingo! Yes! I did this, and now there's no more of that BSOD error on startup!
    So the only culprit was Bitdefender free edition (the anti-virus I was using) ?? But why/how??
    So now what do I do?? Use another 3rd party anti-virus program? (if you can suggest any?), or just stick with built-in Windows defender?
    I also have to see if the BSOD comes up again anytime while I keep my PC running, cos you never know. But for now, thanks a bunch!!
    if you really need security eset nod is good unless windows defender just fine for daily scans and etc

  8. #8
    Member
    • TRazerK's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Prime Z370-A
      • CPU:
      • i7 8700k
      • RAM:
      • Gskill Ripjaws 16GB 2400 MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 1TB + Samsung 950 Pro Evo 250GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
      • Display:
      • Asus VX24AH 1440p 60Hz
      • Keyboard:
      • Cougar Puri TKL
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V750
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • ISP:
      • MyInternet
      • Download Speed:
      • 20480
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20480
    TRazerK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    if you really need security eset nod is good unless windows defender just fine for daily scans and etc
    Thanks! I guess I'll just stick with windows defender for now, and also malwarebytes. Dunno why I even bothered with antivirus

  9. #9
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock Z370 Extreme4
      • CPU:
      • Intel 8700K @5.0ghz w/ Cryorig R1
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz @3200CL14
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Phillips x2 HR
      • Keyboard:
      • Zowie Celeritas II
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Viper Ultimate
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX860
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1909
      • ISP:
      • AalokIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    14,025

    Default

    Yea for some reason security software these days cause a bunch of issues. They all bench with almost no performance impact yet overtime I lost 20% performance in CSGo.

    I permanently switched to MalwareBytes Premium but I don’t know if I need that anymore. It has proven to be useful, occasionally blocks malware infested websites.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21617 seconds with 14 queries.