User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: need help to choose a gpu...

  1. #1
    Member
    • silentslipper's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M D2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core I3 530 @ 4.00Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G.skill Ripjaws 8gb @ 1820Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB Hitachi
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX 460 DIRECT CU
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 20'' Led
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing ATP3
      • Keyboard:
      • DELUX DLK 5015
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech B100
      • Power Supply:
      • BIG FOOT ATX-H500P
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional 64 bit Service pack 1
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 24kbps
    silentslipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    69

    Default need help to choose a gpu...

    my system is:
    core 2 quad q6600 @ 3.00GHz
    asus p5g41t mlx3
    ram 4gb adata xpg gaming series
    samsung 20'' led
    Big Foot ATX-H500P psu

    now i want to buy a gpu.i have found asus gtx460 and ecs gtx560.which will be suitable for my psu and system???

    anyone please help me out.....

  2. #2
    Member
    • pre's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61-DS2
      • CPU:
      • Intel Corei5 2320 3.0Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos DDR3 4gb 1333bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500gb sata
      • Graphics Card:
      • ATI Radeon 6670 GDDR5 1GB
      • Display:
      • Dell s1909w 18.5inch LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Delux 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH . 2.4G wireless keyboard (GR-152)
      • Mouse:
      • A4TECH 2.4G wireless PADLESS MOUSE (G9-730FX )
      • Controller:
      • Logic
      • Power Supply:
      • ValueTop [Blue] 400w
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS 24x Sata DVD Writter
      • USB Devices:
      • Ipod Classic 2GB,4gb Siliconpwer Pendrive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • CPU : 7.4 RAM : 7.4 GAMING GRAPHICS : 7.1 GRAPHICS 7.1 HDD : 5.9
      • Comment:
      • I LoVe My RiG nd It Will Be More Updated Soon ;)
      • ISP:
      • Banglalion Wimax 1mbps Pre-paid
      • Download Speed:
      • 120 kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20 kbps
    pre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    427

    Default

    i dnt knw will ur psu suit or not..i dnt abt the psu name u mentioned..sory to ask bt is that psu came with case?is that one has 6pin connector and how much did it cost?
    Mention ur budget so that we can help

  3. #3
    Member
    • waliDJ's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-B75M D3H v1.0
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3450 3.1 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Twinmos 4GB 1600 MHz Piano Black
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 200GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster 933
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek HD audio
      • Keyboard:
      • Generic Lexma
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder, Logitech B100
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master GX550W
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Samsung 160GB PATA HDD converted to usb
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit
      • Comment:
      • Not another family pc, this one is completely mine :D
    waliDJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    719

    Default

    that doesnt sound like a good psu... And do not use molex to six pin connectors, it is not good for ur gpu according to guru3d. 550 watt psu should be safe for ur system with any of those cards

  4. #4
    Member
    • Dee's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws V 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 128GB SSD; Crucial M500 960GB SSD
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H
      • Keyboard:
      • Cooler Master Quick Fire Rapid-i Cherry MX Brown
      • Mouse:
      • Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master V650 Gold
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 GATI
      • Download Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2Mib/s
    Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    4,646

    Default

    Could you provide a pic of the PSU that shows the power ratings?

    Quote Originally Posted by waliDJ View Post
    that doesnt sound like a good psu... And do not use molex to six pin connectors, it is not good for ur gpu according to guru3d. 550 watt psu should be safe for ur system with any of those cards
    The molex to PEG converter just changes the plug, nothing unsafe if the PSU is good enough.

  5. #5
    Member
    • error's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P67A-UD3R-B3 ; Mac Logic Board
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2500k w/ Tt Frio ; One 2.8ghz Quad-Core Xeon W3530 Nehalem
      • RAM:
      • 4x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz DDR3 ; 3x1GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB, 2x Samsung F3 1TB, Hitachi 500GB, Samsung 500GB F3; WD Caviar Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte GTX460 OC ; ATI Radeon HD 5770 OEM
      • Display:
      • Samsung 923NW 19'', Sony Bravia 32EX400 32'' ; Sony Bravia CX520 40''
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative X-Fi Titanium ; Digidesign Digi 002 Rack External
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2x Behringer B2031A, Microlab A-6623 5:1, Altec Lansing ATP3 2:1/Creative Aurvana Live!, Fostex T-5
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013 ; Apple Aluminium Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Deathadder BE, Sensei Fnatic, Tt Level 10M/Qck+ TyLoo ; Apple Magic Mouse/Goliathus Speed, White-RA
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wireless Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta Electronics 500W ; Well, something.
      • Optical Drive:
      • None ; 18x DL SuperDrive
      • UPS:
      • Intex 1250VA ; PowerPC 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1 x64 ; Mac OSX 10.6.4
      • Comment:
      • Mac Pro love.
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 mbps
    error's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Boo.
    Posts
    4,144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    Could you provide a pic of the PSU that shows the power ratings?

    The molex to PEG converter just changes the plug, nothing unsafe if the PSU is good enough.
    He opened another thread that has the PSU link, says this delivers 28A on the +12V rail, should be good enough for a 6750 or something equal, but a 460 or a 560, a complete no no.

  6. #6
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by error View Post
    He opened another thread that has the PSU link, says this delivers 28A on the +12V rail, should be good enough for a 6750 or something equal, but a 460 or a 560, a complete no no.
    28A is more than enough for a 460 error. Provided it's actually capable of providing that figure.

  7. #7
    Member
    • error's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P67A-UD3R-B3 ; Mac Logic Board
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2500k w/ Tt Frio ; One 2.8ghz Quad-Core Xeon W3530 Nehalem
      • RAM:
      • 4x2GB Team Elite 1333Mhz DDR3 ; 3x1GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB, 2x Samsung F3 1TB, Hitachi 500GB, Samsung 500GB F3; WD Caviar Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte GTX460 OC ; ATI Radeon HD 5770 OEM
      • Display:
      • Samsung 923NW 19'', Sony Bravia 32EX400 32'' ; Sony Bravia CX520 40''
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative X-Fi Titanium ; Digidesign Digi 002 Rack External
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • 2x Behringer B2031A, Microlab A-6623 5:1, Altec Lansing ATP3 2:1/Creative Aurvana Live!, Fostex T-5
      • Keyboard:
      • Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013 ; Apple Aluminium Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Deathadder BE, Sensei Fnatic, Tt Level 10M/Qck+ TyLoo ; Apple Magic Mouse/Goliathus Speed, White-RA
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wireless Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta Electronics 500W ; Well, something.
      • Optical Drive:
      • None ; 18x DL SuperDrive
      • UPS:
      • Intex 1250VA ; PowerPC 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 SP1 x64 ; Mac OSX 10.6.4
      • Comment:
      • Mac Pro love.
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 mbps
    error's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Boo.
    Posts
    4,144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    28A is more than enough for a 460 error. Provided it's actually capable of providing that figure.
    Oh, sorry then, did 18*12 instead of 28*12, my bad. 28*12=336W, and a 460 would need 300W at best, theoretically, this should be more than enough, but still, this doesn't seem reliable. :/

  8. #8
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by error View Post
    Oh, sorry then, did 18*12 instead of 28*12, my bad. 28*12=336W, and a 460 would need 300W at best, theoretically, this should be more than enough, but still, this doesn't seem reliable. :/
    You can run a 460 of a Corsair CX430 Builder series which is essentially a 350-400w unit. The 460 doesn't require much, the 336 you quoted can be possible with an overclock >900 and running Furmark. In real world test it's no where near that amount.

    EDIT: @error , that is nvidia's recommended on the total power consumption. A single 460 would actually take around ~11-13A, and the 336 is with an i7 (1st gen). You can even get away with a real 400w unit. xD

    ---------- Post added at 23:07 ---------- Previous post was at 22:57 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    The molex to PEG converter just changes the plug, nothing unsafe if the PSU is good enough.
    ...and this. How many times it was discussed on these forums, IDK. ._.
    Last edited by dipanzan; April 10th, 2012 at 00:28.

  9. #9
    Member
    • silentslipper's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M D2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core I3 530 @ 4.00Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G.skill Ripjaws 8gb @ 1820Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB Hitachi
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX 460 DIRECT CU
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 20'' Led
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing ATP3
      • Keyboard:
      • DELUX DLK 5015
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech B100
      • Power Supply:
      • BIG FOOT ATX-H500P
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional 64 bit Service pack 1
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 24kbps
    silentslipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    69

    Default

    http://pc.danawa.com/price_right.htm...0&pcode=487309

    bro this is link of my psu.it has 2 6 pin connector.
    i want to know which gpu will be better for my system.
    1.asus gtx460
    2.ecs gtx560

    so far i know reading from gpureview a gtx460 will consume 160watt and a gtx560 will consume 150watt.is it true?anyone please explain me.

  10. #10
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silentslipper View Post
    http://pc.danawa.com/price_right.htm...0&pcode=487309

    bro this is link of my psu.it has 2 6 pin connector.
    i want to know which gpu will be better for my system.
    1.asus gtx460
    2.ecs gtx560

    so far i know reading from gpureview a gtx460 will consume 160watt and a gtx560 will consume 150watt.is it true?anyone please explain me.
    Yes around ~156 for the 460, and little less for the 560. In your case you should definitely pick the 560, even though I don't really recommend ECS but they are perfectly fine and is a good deal cheaper than most of the brands out there. The 560 is faster out of the box, and more efficient. Both will require ~11-13A(full load), and is recommended that you have atleast 350w(capable) in the 12v rails.

    EDIT: Btw that site you linked is all Chinese gibberish, and won't even let me translate, so IDK.

  11. #11
    Member
    • silentslipper's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M D2H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core I3 530 @ 4.00Ghz
      • RAM:
      • G.skill Ripjaws 8gb @ 1820Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1TB Hitachi
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX 460 DIRECT CU
      • Display:
      • Samsung SA300 20'' Led
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing ATP3
      • Keyboard:
      • DELUX DLK 5015
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech B100
      • Power Supply:
      • BIG FOOT ATX-H500P
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional 64 bit Service pack 1
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 24kbps
    silentslipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    69

    Default

    bro asus gtx460 will cost me 11k and ecs gtx560 will cost me 13k.which will be better buy for price?

    dipanzan bro the translated page link is below.but it is not fully translated.and thanks bg members for ur kind help.

    http://translate.google.com/translat...26prmd%3Dimvns

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2010, 23:31
  2. Help me choose a gpu and psu
    By Sharukh in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 19th, 2010, 09:15
  3. Help 2 choose ryt mobo n gpu n others
    By hellunder in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: April 9th, 2010, 00:23
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: December 13th, 2009, 10:19
  5. help me to choose
    By sm_atuno in forum XBOX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 7th, 2009, 01:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.23334 seconds with 14 queries.