User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Having trouble with installing screws for chassis fan

  1. #1

    Default Having trouble with installing screws for chassis fan

    I recently had to change my PC chassis and I bought a new 120mm fan for the new one as it has only one outtake fan in the rear side. Everything is going just fine but I’ve just noticed that the technician installed only 2 screws for the new fan and it seems he used the screws that came with the case. Since I got all the screws that came with the chassis so I tried installing the missing two myself and found they get stuck in the screw hole after few spins and don’t go in anymore. I am afraid that the fan probably came with its own screws and unfortunately I don’t have them. Is there anyway to solve this problem?

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,741

    Default

    The screws that came with my fans don't screw in all the way into the fan either.

  3. #3
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x Vapor-x || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 + Xiaomi iron ring|| AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,126

    Default

    my phantom 240 .... the long screws have problems.... i might have to buy some long screws from newegg or just ignore it.

  4. #4

    Default

    aayman The 2 installed screws seem to be fitted perfectly fine but when I try to install the other two screws, they won't go all the way in the hole and they just look like they weren't meant to be installed in that place.

    furiousTaher I guess I might have to just ignore it.

    Off-topic: Do you have any idea where can I buy USB dust covers in Bangladesh? I know it is silly but it would be cool to have it.

  5. #5
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x Vapor-x || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 + Xiaomi iron ring|| AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,126

    Default

    what is usb dust cover?????



    and i think there is no dust filter in BD. vanguard imported some dust filter for himself and some other friends several years back.

  6. #6

    Default

    @furiousTaher The front panel USB ports of the chassis collect quite a bit of dust (unless the chassis has some sort of door/panel to cover them) so I googled a bit and found they actually make female USB cap/cover to protect USB ports from dust, I was wondering if this is available in BD.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,915

    Default

    plug in a pendrive all the time, simple.
    My probable next build: Qisan MagicForce 68 (Outemu switch) / Teamwolf Zhuque+ 87 TKL (Outemu) / Monoprice Select series full size (Outemu/Gateron) / Drevo Gramr 84 TKL (Outemu) • Logitech G102 Prodigy • Deepcool Dukase V3 / Thermaltake Versa U21 • Superlux HD 681 • Creative Sound Blaster E1 • LG 22MP68VQ • SteelSeries QcK • Generic executive chair • others TBA

    djrock please don't bother me. You are in my ignore list so I don't have to see literal poop.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Sami 1999's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Gaming Z170A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz, Intel Core 2 Due 2.4 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Acer 8x2 GB DDr4 2400 MHz, 2GB DDr2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Dead
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Nvidia GeForce GTx 980Ti Gaming 6G, ATi Mobility Radeon HD 3840
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SyncMaster T190 (1440x900)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Generic old garbage
      • Keyboard:
      • Generic Bijoy USB Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech USB ....
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired, 8 PS2 controllers, Some other generic gamepads
      • Power Supply:
      • 850 watt Bronze Certified.
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung writemaster DVD Multi Recorder
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrives ?
      • UPS:
      • 1200v garbage that barely lasts 1 minute
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional 40+20+4 bits
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Can't maintain solid 60 FPS.
      • Comment:
      • Error: No network connection. Windows is checking online for solutions.
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300 KB.s
      • Console:
      • 8
    Sami 1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    843

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    plug in a pendrive all the time, simple.
    Protidin USB port er kache ektu zore fuuu dilei to dhula balu shore zai. Eto kosto kore pen drive othoba capdom use korar dorkar ki?
    Need For Sync: G-sync

  9. #9
    Member
    • Dracu_JeF's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel HM65
      • CPU:
      • core i5-2410M @2.30GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Intel HD Graphics 3000, Nvidia GT 410M
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • Comment:
      • It's a crappy lappy ~
      • ISP:
      • Dhakacom
      • Download Speed:
      • 260
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200
      • Console:
      • 136
    Dracu_JeF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sami 1999 View Post
    Protidin USB port er kache ektu zore fuuu dilei to dhula balu shore zai. Eto kosto kore pen drive othoba capdom use korar dorkar ki?
    Name:  tape.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  32.3 KB

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21510 seconds with 14 queries.