User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: what is the function of a surge protector.

  1. #1
    Member
    • Metal's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE [ GA-EP43-UD3L ]
      • CPU:
      • INTEL(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9505 @ 2.83Ghz
      • RAM:
      • APACER 4GB DDR2
      • Hard Drive:
      • SAMSUNG 750GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • NVDIA GeForce 9500 GT
      • Display:
      • Dell E178WFP
      • Sound Card:
      • CREATIVE Sound Blaster 5:1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • COSONIC CD-779MV
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KR-83 USB [Black]
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech OP-620D
      • Power Supply:
      • ASUS P-50GA
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DRW 24B1ST
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate
      • ISP:
      • ISPROS Limited
    Metal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    343

    Default what is the function of a surge protector.

    In IDB I have seen a surge protector basically a multilplug priced as high as 2500tk. Question is how it is going to help protect my electronic device ?



    Belkin 7-Socket SurgeMaster® GOLD Series

    This Gold Series SurgeMaster® boasts 3240 Joules, 90,000 Maximum Spike Amperage, 7-sockets

    basically in my home I am looking for it to plug in one PC,fridge,microwave oven and TV from this same multiplug, Do I need it ? what specialty it has ?
    I do not have any idea of Joules, Amp, watt etc. Can anyone put in more details about it ...

  2. #2
    Member
    • solid snake's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • gigabyte g41m
      • CPU:
      • core 2 quad
      • RAM:
      • 4 gb
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500 gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • ati 5770
      • Power Supply:
      • tt t2 rx
      • Operating System:
      • win 7
    solid snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    mirpur 10
    Posts
    3,141

    Default

    simple , in case of , yaa u guessed it right electrical surge , it will protect your things. spicially from lighting sticks. amar nijer pura pc jole gese lighting a ekbar .so yahh it is kinda nice to have if you can afford it.

  3. #3
    Member
    • faisal.amir.bd's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ABIT IP35 Dark Raider
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo [email protected]
      • RAM:
      • 2GB Transcend AxeRam DDR-2 800+ @816MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 820GB (320GB Hitachi, 500GB Samsung)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte Radeon HD5770 1GB DDR5 (Batmobile Cooler)
      • Display:
      • ASUS MS228H 1080p LED backlit
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5200 (5.1)
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360 wired gamepad
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 600W
      • UPS:
      • Rahim Afrooz 1000VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7x86
      • ISP:
      • Link 3
      • Download Speed:
      • 180kBps [1.5Mbps]
      • Upload Speed:
      • 180kBps [1.5Mbps]
      • Console:
      • 2
    faisal.amir.bd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Metal View Post
    basically in my home I am looking for it to plug in one PC,fridge,microwave oven and TV from this same multiplug
    Plugging in so many heavy duty appliances from the same outlet is never a good idea. Residential wiring is made to carry a limited amount of current, which should be enough for typical loads, but the configuration you just described far exceeds that, and you would be in danger of causing damage to your wiring system. I would suggest spreading the loads over several outlets.

  4. #4
    Global Moderator
    • Codex's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77-V
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 3770k
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Sniper 2x8G (9-9-9-24 Kits)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 850 PRO 256G SSD, Geil 512G SSD, HDDs: 2TBx1, 1TBx1, 500Gx1, 165Gx1
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x (Dual-x edition)
      • Display:
      • Triple monitors: Samsung S24300B + Dell E2210 x2
      • Sound Card:
      • CEntrance DACport Slim
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598 / FLC 8s
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltek Challenger Pro
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech MX Master w/ Razer Goliathus Mid.
      • Controller:
      • Don't have one
      • Power Supply:
      • Inwin 750 watts w/ 80+ Bronze Certification
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW24B3ST
      • USB Devices:
      • 2TB Seagate External USB 3.0 drive
      • UPS:
      • Mercury 1.2KVA
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Over nine thousand!
      • Comment:
      • ISP:
      • AntBD + AmberIT Dual Homed
      • Download Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~ 1200 KB/s

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Under your bed.
    Posts
    7,983

    Default

    They're to protect your appliances from being fried thanks to sudden electrical surges, etc.

    Also @Metal , did you get my reply to your PM?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wintereise View Post
    They're to protect your appliances from being fried thanks to sudden electrical surges, etc.
    If it does that protection, then numeric specs must say so. What does that protector do to a surge that is hundreds of thousands of joules? Read its specifications. At a thousand joules, it claims near zero protection. Just enough above zero to be promoted in advertising as 100% protection.

    You have zero reasons to believe a protector without earthing will do anything more than near zero protection.

    A protector found in any facility that cannot have damage connects as short as possible (ie 'less than 3 meters) to earth ground. Then hundreds of thousands of joules dissipate harmlessly outside the building. Where is an earth ground connection to that Belkin? Does not exist. Belkin will not even discuss what is necessary to have protection. An always required short connection to earth ground.

    For that Belkin to provide protection, it must block what three kilometers of sky could not. Obviously it does not. How does protector rated at only 3240 joules absorb hundreds of thousands of joules? It does not.

    Critical for any power strip is its one and always required function. It must have a circuit breaker or fuse so that excessive current is not drawn from the AC electric power point/plug.

  6. #6
    Member
    • samiulislam16's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H55M-S2H (with crossfire support)
      • CPU:
      • Core i7 860 2.93ghz
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 4+4 gb ddr3 1333 bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 1tb+250gb, Hitachi 2tb, Transcend 128gb ssd370s
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7870 ghz dualX
      • Display:
      • Asus 22 inch LED MS228H
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtech Hd 8 channel Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • Newmen M560
      • Controller:
      • Dilong usb controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltek Toughpower Grand 750w 80+ GOLD
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Webcam A4tech 8mp, transcend 8gb pendrive
      • UPS:
      • Sigma 640va
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Good enough
      • ISP:
      • Smile/BDcom
      • Download Speed:
      • 150
      • Upload Speed:
      • 200
    samiulislam16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    781

    Default

    oy hoy metal vai....................kinsen naki?


    Guess what??? scan it??:

    Good enough GAMING RIG

    HApPy GAMing

Similar Threads

  1. Google Revenue Surge Sets Record
    By Riese in forum News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 18th, 2011, 22:21
  2. Using the ignore function
    By Speed in forum Member Central
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2011, 14:27
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 20th, 2010, 06:26
  4. Surge Protector
    By sameev29 in forum Others PC Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 15th, 2009, 22:24
  5. [Python]DLL Function Stealer
    By Saibal in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 20th, 2008, 13:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.18025 seconds with 14 queries.