User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Suitable Mobo for 7700k !!!

  1. #1
    Member
    • CODhunter's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z270 tomahok
      • CPU:
      • i7 7700k
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G-Skill RGB 3000bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 128GB Corsiar SSD+1TB WD
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • Samsung 23.6' 4K
      • Mouse:
      • Razor elite
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermalteck 530 SE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 (pirated)
    CODhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Suitable Mobo for 7700k !!!

    Currently using 7700k with Asus B150 pro gaming. Coolermaster seidon v120. In game temp 60-70 deg. In prime 95 stress test, it raises to 90deg!
    Summer yet to come :/ temp will go above 100 for sure.
    My question:
    will z270 mobo can solve this issue?
    will 240 series water cooler solve this issue?

  2. #2
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,741

    Default

    Why will a change of motherboard change the temperature?

    My friend has similar temps as you, and he has a 120MM AIO as well. Upgrading to 240mm should have a pretty decent impact, try and use better thermal paste/grease as well.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Iskander's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 760GM-P23 (FX)
      • CPU:
      • AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz
      • RAM:
      • 8(2x4GB) Corsair Value DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD Blue 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus Radeon R7 250 1GB
      • Display:
      • Samsung S19S350HNW IPS
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • WK WI300
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120
      • Mouse:
      • A4 Tech N-70FX
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M 80PLUS Bronze
      • USB Devices:
      • 500GB Samisung External HDD
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro, Linux Mint (Dual Boot)
      • ISP:
      • Asianet BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 6Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 6Mbps
    Iskander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    232

    Default

    KabyLake cpus have this HIGH Temp issues.

    Z270 mobo is basically for Overclocking. Mobo has nothing to do with this temp.

    Get a 240mm AIO to get a better result or a big Air Cooler.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,163

    Default

    Delidding for the win. You'll see as high as 20 Celsius and possibly further reduction if you can manage to pull it off. But it comes at a risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by aayman View Post
    My friend has similar temps as you, and he has a 120MM AIO as well. Upgrading to 240mm should have a pretty decent impact, try and use better thermal paste/grease as well.
    Tom's Hardware saw similar temperatures with a AIO Enermax Liqtech 240 equipped with 2x be quiet! Silent Wings II as it can be seen here.
    Last edited by Fox Mulder; March 9th, 2017 at 15:44.

  5. #5
    Member
    • CODhunter's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z270 tomahok
      • CPU:
      • i7 7700k
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G-Skill RGB 3000bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 128GB Corsiar SSD+1TB WD
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • Samsung 23.6' 4K
      • Mouse:
      • Razor elite
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermalteck 530 SE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 (pirated)
    CODhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    Bought MSI z270 tomahook today. Run prime95 for 5mins, got temp of max 75Deg. Have to say much improvement (previous 92deg).
    But is it happened only for mobo? :/

  6. #6
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,163

    Default

    I don't think so.

  7. #7
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,741

    Default

    That's impossible, did you reapply thermal paste?

  8. #8
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,915

    Default

    Most likely better TIM. And Prime 95 is an unrealistic benchmark. It's mostly for stability test more like GPU's FurMark or OCCT. No real world software will ever push the CPU that much. Plus it uses AVX that gets the CPu really hot whereas AVX is pretty rare in usage in day to day everyday software. Same for Intel Burn Test. Also Intel chips after Ivy Bridge get 75°C pretty regularly cause they need delidding. Try that.
    My probable next build: Qisan MagicForce 68 (Outemu switch) / Teamwolf Zhuque+ 87 TKL (Outemu) / Monoprice Select series full size (Outemu/Gateron) / Drevo Gramr 84 TKL (Outemu) • Logitech G102 Prodigy • Deepcool Dukase V3 / Thermaltake Versa U21 • Superlux HD 681 • Creative Sound Blaster E1 • LG 22MP68VQ • SteelSeries QcK • Generic executive chair • others TBA

    djrock please don't bother me. You are in my ignore list so I don't have to see literal poop.

  9. #9
    Member
    • CODhunter's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z270 tomahok
      • CPU:
      • i7 7700k
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G-Skill RGB 3000bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 128GB Corsiar SSD+1TB WD
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • Samsung 23.6' 4K
      • Mouse:
      • Razor elite
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermalteck 530 SE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 (pirated)
    CODhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    previously i used FX6100, mobo was probably 640 series or something. when i bought 8350, that mobo couldnt run 8350 at 4gz. so i had to set at 3.3gz. after buying fx990 series mobo all was fine.
    Last edited by CODhunter; March 10th, 2017 at 23:48.

  10. #10
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire R9 280x Vapor-x || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 + Xiaomi iron ring|| AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,126

    Default

    what do u recommend then? intel xtu? asus real bench? and?
    i use occt btw
    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    Most likely better TIM. And Prime 95 is an unrealistic benchmark. It's mostly for stability test more like GPU's FurMark or OCCT. No real world software will ever push the CPU that much. Plus it uses AVX that gets the CPu really hot whereas AVX is pretty rare in usage in day to day everyday software. Same for Intel Burn Test. Also Intel chips after Ivy Bridge get 75°C pretty regularly cause they need delidding. Try that.

  11. #11
    Forum Staff
    • aayman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X370 Gaming Pro
      • CPU:
      • Ryzen 1700 @3.7GHz (H100i v2)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Trident Z 3600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 960 EVO 250GB + SanDisk SSDX 960GB + 1TB WD Black
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2312HM
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Zx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser PC350SE + Phillips SPH9500
      • Keyboard:
      • CM QuickFire Stealth
      • Mouse:
      • FinalMouse Scream One | Logitech G403
      • Controller:
      • Steam Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX850
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 1703
      • ISP:
      • AmberIT
    aayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrock View Post
    Ayman must have an Alert setup for my comments ,I can't even post Some Oven Jokes on Intel
    Your sheer fanboyism is getting quite annoying. Keep it in control please.

  12. #12
    Member
    • SoMoN.Khan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI z97 Gaming 3
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790k
      • RAM:
      • 8 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Adata SSD sx900,1Tb Samgsung F3 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • Asus GTX 780
      • Display:
      • Dell S2240L
      • Sound Card:
      • ALC 1150
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Solo 7c/Sony XB500
      • Keyboard:
      • Cosair k70
      • Mouse:
      • A4 tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Dilong
      • Power Supply:
      • TM Tough Power 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samgsung DVD,LiteOn DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 64 bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.8
      • Comment:
      • it ok, i dont use it that much. Office gift me mac mini !!! which i use now.

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Uttara, Dhaka
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CODhunter View Post
    Bought MSI z270 tomahook today. Run prime95 for 5mins, got temp of max 75Deg. Have to say much improvement (previous 92deg).
    But is it happened only for mobo? :/
    only explanation is previous mb set vcore higher then current one.

  13. #13
    Member
    • CODhunter's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z270 tomahok
      • CPU:
      • i7 7700k
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G-Skill RGB 3000bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 128GB Corsiar SSD+1TB WD
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
      • Display:
      • Samsung 23.6' 4K
      • Mouse:
      • Razor elite
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermalteck 530 SE
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 (pirated)
    CODhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SoMoN.Khan View Post
    only explanation is previous mb set vcore higher then current one.
    actually im bit noob
    i do and i see what has been set automatically. have a little idea about manual things

  14. #14
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,915

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    what do u recommend then? intel xtu? asus real bench? and?
    i use occt btw
    For stability test after OC? Prime 95 is fine. What I'm saying is you would never reach same temp as these stability tests in real world. And since OP wasn't OCing in that B350 motherboard, it was fruitless to take that temp into consideration.

  15. #15
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,163

    Default

    I think OP had a bad mount. All the change of motherboard did was fix the mount during the upgrade procedure.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.25681 seconds with 13 queries.