User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Should i be worried about my HDD?

  1. #1
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default Should i be worried about my HDD?

    This hdd is more than 5 years old.Transfer rates are really slow and usage gets to 100% during usage time.But should i be worried?i mean is this a sign of dying or something?Hopefully this is the right place for this thread.Thanks
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	129 
Size:	79.5 KB 
ID:	39090

  2. #2
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,460

    Default

    when you see something phishy with sector counts from that time you should definitely start to worry about your hdd, this is the very early sign of bad sector sometimes it gets more worse and sometimes it doesnt . try to scan the whole drive with chkdsk command in cmd which might extend your hdd lifespan for little bit more but eventually it might die within 3 or less months

  3. #3
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sensei View Post
    when you see something phishy with sector counts from that time you should definitely start to worry about your hdd, this is the very early sign of bad sector sometimes it gets more worse and sometimes it doesnt . try to scan the whole drive with chkdsk command in cmd which might extend your hdd lifespan for little bit more but eventually it might die within 3 or less months
    Ohh....Thanks ,will be scanning the disk and we be monitoring the drive for a week lets see how things turn out to be.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Well scanned both the partitions on that hdd and these are the results.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	50.0 KB 
ID:	39091Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	39.6 KB 
ID:	39092

  4. #4
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,265

    Default

    Backup. Fast. Copy everything somewhere. Then after copy ends, watch if the "Current Pending Sector Count" increases. Then wipe the drive with a full format. Better if you can use something like HDTune and do a zero fill erase. Then check the "Current Pending Sector Count", "Reallocated Sectors Count" and "Reallocation Event Count". If any of them increases, wipe again and check again. If none of them increases, or stops increasing after a couple erases, and the slowness goes away, then copy back the data and you can use the drive for couple more years. Keep an eye on those values though.

    If they keeps increasing, or drive becomes extremely slow, you'll glad that the first step was copying everything. In that case just throw the drive away.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,702

    Default

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA2W02KN0960

    ^Note to myself now, always check before buying something stenches like rigged to fail.

    Everytime even when I move my PC while it's off completely, the ticking annoys the crap out of me.

  6. #6
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Backup. Fast. Copy everything somewhere. Then after copy ends, watch if the "Current Pending Sector Count" increases. Then wipe the drive with a full format. Better if you can use something like HDTune and do a zero fill erase. Then check the "Current Pending Sector Count", "Reallocated Sectors Count" and "Reallocation Event Count". If any of them increases, wipe again and check again. If none of them increases, or stops increasing after a couple erases, and the slowness goes away, then copy back the data and you can use the drive for couple more years. Keep an eye on those values though.

    If they keeps increasing, or drive becomes extremely slow, you'll glad that the first step was copying everything. In that case just throw the drive away.
    This is what it looks like in hdtune..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	40.7 KB 
ID:	39093Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	29.8 KB 
ID:	39094

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA2W02KN0960

    ^Note to myself now, always check before buying something stenches like rigged to fail.

    Everytime even when I move my PC while it's off completely, the ticking annoys the crap out of me.
    Fortuantely none of my hdd makes that annoying clicky noise even this old hitachi one ...

  7. #7
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Juboraz View Post
    This is what it looks like in hdtune..
    Backup and zero fill erase. There is a really good chance that the HDD will get fixed. If you want technical explanation, the "Interface CRC Error Count" is caused by bad sata connection. And when the connection glitches, it can create so called "soft bad sectors" which go away when the drive is completely erased once. A full format on all partitions might do it, but removing all partitions and zero fill with HD Tune is the best way to ensure it. And if you ask how do I know this, I have fixed two HDDs with "Soft bad sectors" with this method. One was caused by bad sata cable, and got completely fixed. Another was caused by defective cache chip on the HDD, and needed the process repeated every few months.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Backup and zero fill erase. There is a really good chance that the HDD will get fixed. If you want technical explanation, the "Interface CRC Error Count" is caused by bad sata connection. And when the connection glitches, it can create so called "soft bad sectors" which go away when the drive is completely erased once. A full format on all partitions might do it, but removing all partitions and zero fill with HD Tune is the best way to ensure it. And if you ask how do I know this, I have fixed two HDDs with "Soft bad sectors" with this method. One was caused by bad sata cable, and got completely fixed. Another was caused by defective cache chip on the HDD, and needed the process repeated every few months.
    okay will try to do it...but currently my windows is installed on this drive so gotta install windows on the other drive the clean it up....let's see ...will try to keep u guys updated....

  9. #9
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Juboraz View Post
    okay will try to do it...but currently my windows is installed on this drive so gotta install windows on the other drive the clean it up....let's see ...will try to keep u guys updated....
    BTW, change the SATA cable as well. Just to be sure and avoid future CRC errors.

  10. #10
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    BTW, change the SATA cable as well. Just to be sure and avoid future CRC errors.
    ok thanks .

  11. #11
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    So deleted both the partitions and re-created a single new partition.Unfortuantely the issues remain.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	40.8 KB 
ID:	39109

  12. #12
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Juboraz View Post
    So deleted both the partitions and re-created a single new partition.Unfortuantely the issues remain.
    That alone won't do it. You have to run the zero fill erase in HD Tune before creating the partition.

  13. #13
    Member
    • Juboraz's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI 990fxa-gd65
      • CPU:
      • AMD fx8350
      • RAM:
      • 4gb+4gb(transcend and team)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WB Blue 1tb+Hitachi 320gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1050ti
      • Display:
      • Smasung 1600x900 panel
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech g402
      • Power Supply:
      • TT toughpower 650w

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    That alone won't do it. You have to run the zero fill erase in HD Tune before creating the partition.
    opps missed that part!Arggg dont wanna go over it again...... -_-

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.25030 seconds with 14 queries.