User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: difficult to choose between 4K60Hz and 1440p165Hz

  1. #1
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,974

    Default difficult to choose between 4K60Hz and 1440p165Hz

    Going to import a monitor soon. brand is fixed on Acer Predator gsync ones. now facing dilemma between these two parameters.


    • i dont play competitively.
    • currently using 27" 1440p IPS monitor
    • have 1080p 120Hz monitor
    • GPU is not a problem
    • dont want ultrawide anymore because older games dont support it.


    i am more of a slow paced gamer and prefer image quality over gimmickry. 60Hz is very smooth to me and of course over 100hz is smoother and can be felt but with gsync do I need to go over 60Hz? besides 4K has desktop scaling issues afaik.

    so what would be your suggestions guys? thanks in advance.
    Last edited by codename5302; October 8th, 2016 at 12:20.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,167

    Default

    Apart from Gsync itself, I don't see a reason you should buy a new monitor really. 4K60 is going to be difficult to achieve as even with the fastest of GPUs currently available in the market, you can't really get a 60 FPS experience 4K. On the other hand, 1440 @165 Hz is troublesome as well.. As it's difficult to maintain that many frames with a single GPU. I guess playing at a resolution below 4K on a native 4K panel would look bad. As you can set a wide range of variable framerate with GSync, 1440p @165 Hz is a better choice IMO.

  3. #3
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fox Mulder View Post
    Apart from Gsync itself, I don't see a reason you should buy a new monitor really. 4K60 is going to be difficult to achieve as even with the fastest of GPUs currently available in the market, you can't really get a 60 FPS experience 4K. On the other hand, 1440 @165 Hz is troublesome as well.. As it's difficult to maintain that many frames with a single GPU. I guess playing at a resolution below 4K on a native 4K panel would look bad. As you can set a wide range of variable framerate with GSync, 1440p @165 Hz is a better choice IMO.
    GPU will be updated with pascal refresh or volta next year. 4K60Hz is not possible but in my opinion above 45fps with gsync is quite ok atm as there is no screen tearing, stuttering issues. i am actually not targeting at 165Hz as well. 75-100Hz is the sweet spot to me. 1440p has the best price/performance spot but i am thinking this as my last display update in the foreseeable future.
    and thanks for your suggestion.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,167

    Default

    You're welcome bhai. Do invite me once you upgrade. :v I'd like to see what changes you've made to your rig from the last time.

  5. #5
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K
      • RAM:
      • Team Xtreem 4133MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • TheNetHeads
      • Download Speed:
      • 5 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5 mbps
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,068

    Default

    4k for the life.

  6. #6
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,020

    Default

    Get a 4k monitor if you don't play competitively, high refresh rate is useless if that is the case. I now regret getting this BenQ 144Hz myself now. T_T

    Image quality > responsive panel (if you don't play competitively).

    Edit: If you play competitively a higher refresh rate works wonders, so there's that! Just saying cuz people would think that 120-144Hz monitors from my comment, which is entirely not(!).
    Last edited by dipanzan; October 9th, 2016 at 15:19.

  7. #7
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,721

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    Get a 4k monitor if you don't play competitively, high refresh rate is useless. I now regret getting this BenQ 144Hz myself now. T_T

    Image quality > responsive panel (if you don't play competitively).
    Yeah I mean I played CS Go at like 90-110FPS, everything was like super fast. It kind of passed the line of smooth gameplay and my refresh rate wasn't keeping up.

    But the big question is, will his 980 Ti manage to run the games at 60FPS at 4K? new games coming in are pretty demanding

  8. #8
    Forum Staff
    • dipanzan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z87 HD3
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4670k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Dominator 16GB 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Crucial M4 128GB, Western Digital 1TB Blue, My Passport 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS HD5850
      • Display:
      • Dell P2212H
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DGx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD598
      • Keyboard:
      • Filco Majestouch 2 TKL Ninja Reds
      • Mouse:
      • Mionix Avior 7000, Steelseries XAI
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair HX650 v2
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • ISP:
      • Link3 :: Linksys WRT54GL w/ DD-WRT
      • Download Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 64-128KB/s
    dipanzan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kalabagan, Dhaka
    Posts
    7,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trave160 View Post
    Yeah I mean I played CS Go at like 90-110FPS, everything was like super fast. It kind of passed the line of smooth gameplay and my refresh rate wasn't keeping up.

    But the big question is, will his 980 Ti manage to run the games at 60FPS at 4K? new games coming in are pretty demanding
    You need atleast a minimum(and constant) 128FPS for CSGO, you were already lagging from a server side perspective.

  9. #9
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,721

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dipanzan View Post
    You need atleast a minimum(and constant) 128FPS for CSGO, you were already lagging from a server side perspective.
    Holy schmoly Batman, thats out of my refresh rate count

  10. #10
    Member
    • Sami 1999's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Gaming Z170A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz, Intel Core 2 Due 2.4 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Acer 8x2 GB DDr4 2400 MHz, 2GB DDr2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Dead
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Nvidia GeForce GTx 980Ti Gaming 6G, ATi Mobility Radeon HD 3840
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SyncMaster T190 (1440x900)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Generic old garbage
      • Keyboard:
      • Generic Bijoy USB Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech USB ....
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired, 8 PS2 controllers, Some other generic gamepads
      • Power Supply:
      • 850 watt Bronze Certified.
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung writemaster DVD Multi Recorder
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrives ?
      • UPS:
      • 1200v garbage that barely lasts 1 minute
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional 40+20+4 bits
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Can't maintain solid 60 FPS.
      • Comment:
      • Error: No network connection. Windows is checking online for solutions.
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300 KB.s
      • Console:
      • 8
    Sami 1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    853

    Default

    Get 4k nonitor. "120hz no Vsync" is nowhere near "60fps Vsync". 60hz is enough to give a smooth experience.

    120hz is useless without Gsync cause it will create mini microstutters if your fps is unstable.

    Now at 4k, you will be plagued will blurry vision if you play below 4k. Because Nvidia and Amd doesn't wanna bother to give an option to disable the linear filtering at non native res. But there's a half assed way to fix it which might come in handy.

    In Windows 10, desktop scaling is just fine. I keep my desktop resolution to 2880x1800 in my 1440x900 and it looks fine. You might wanna tweak with the scaling slider to suit your taste.


    To get non blurry vision while playing at non native res, play in window mode and then use Borderless gaming or some other tool to make it borderless fullscreen.

    You may need to use Dxwnd tool to force games to run into window mode (games that don't support window mode). I made House of dead 2 running at window mode and played this 640x480 stretched to 2560x1920 with 8x Msaa and the game looks great compared to 640x480 fullscreen blurry mess.

    Games wont work instantly with dxwnd, you have to tweak a lot of settings. But its worth trying.


    Hope it helps.
    Need For Sync: G-sync

  11. #11
    Member
    • VANGUARD's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 8700K
      • RAM:
      • Team Xtreem 4133MHz 2x8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Zotac SSD 480GB Premium + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme
      • Display:
      • ASUS VX24AH, 1440p
      • Sound Card:
      • ROG SupremeFX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M-910/Logitech UE 200vm
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair STRAFE-CherryRED
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G602 @Tt Pyrrhus
      • Controller:
      • Xbox One Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec EDGE 650w
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH-224FB
      • USB Devices:
      • Everything
      • UPS:
      • Micro UVL-1500 Long Backup
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Comment:
      • The workhorse
      • ISP:
      • TheNetHeads
      • Download Speed:
      • 5 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 5 mbps
    VANGUARD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    10,068

    Default

    Phor kay! Phor kay!

  12. #12
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,138

    Default

    i thought almost every old game (released after 2007) supports ultrawide you just have to change the config file for resolution... am i wrong?

  13. #13
    Member
    • Sami 1999's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Gaming Z170A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz, Intel Core 2 Due 2.4 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Acer 8x2 GB DDr4 2400 MHz, 2GB DDr2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Dead
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Nvidia GeForce GTx 980Ti Gaming 6G, ATi Mobility Radeon HD 3840
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SyncMaster T190 (1440x900)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Generic old garbage
      • Keyboard:
      • Generic Bijoy USB Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech USB ....
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired, 8 PS2 controllers, Some other generic gamepads
      • Power Supply:
      • 850 watt Bronze Certified.
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung writemaster DVD Multi Recorder
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrives ?
      • UPS:
      • 1200v garbage that barely lasts 1 minute
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional 40+20+4 bits
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Can't maintain solid 60 FPS.
      • Comment:
      • Error: No network connection. Windows is checking online for solutions.
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300 KB.s
      • Console:
      • 8
    Sami 1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    853

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    i thought almost every old game (released after 2007) supports ultrawide you just have to change the config file for resolution... am i wrong?
    Damn wrong. List of problems occuring most of the time:

    ●Ultra wide resolution can't be added because hex edit, ini edit doesnt work.

    ●Game is stretched or plagued with black bars.

    ●Cutscenes are black barred.

    ●The field of View is vertical (-). Makes cutscenes almost invisible and gameplay cubersome.


    Most of the worki g games are vert - in 21:9, which was alrwady enough vert- in 16:9 because it was originally a 4:3 game.

    So 4:3 games are invisible.

    16:9 games are cubersome.



    Ultrawide is yet a gimiccky a.ss

    Unless maintream consoles and Tvs go ultrawide, I repeat, games will always be plagued. And atm Consoles are targetting 16:9 4k, not Ultrawide.
    Need For Sync: G-sync

  14. #14
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,974

    Default

    thank you all guys for your suggestion. i am going for 4K then. hopefully in December the beauty will arrive.

  15. #15
    Member
    • Fox Mulder's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3470 @3.8 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • 4X4 GB 1333 MHz CL9
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Blue 1 Terrabyte
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-X OC With Boost 3GB GDDR5 || Gigabyte GTX 680 Windforce 4GB
      • Display:
      • Philips 191EL 19" LED @77 Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 Bit
      • Keyboard:
      • A4TECH Natural Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech 2X Click
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart 650W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Spark Power (!) 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Build 10162
      • Comment:
      • It gets the job done!
      • ISP:
      • BracNet
      • Download Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1 Mbps
    Fox Mulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I don't live in a city.
    Posts
    5,167

    Default

    There's a dedicated Wide-screen Gaming forum that serves the soul purpose of finding ways to run games natively in different Wide-screen resolutions. Some games will require a FOV adjustment, some will just clip some contents off, some will stretch the GUI and some will simply refuse to work. If you are too nitpicky, Ultra Wide-screen is not for you.

    4K on a 1440p panel will look great. 4K on a native 4K panel will force you to turn on AA or turn up AA. I have serious doubts whether Volta will be able to keep up over 30 frames at 4K in games that are going to be released in years to come without compromises in visuals. If you wish to play a year old game at 4K on your (current) top of the line GPU now, that's your thing.

  16. #16
    Member
    • Sami 1999's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Gaming Z170A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz, Intel Core 2 Due 2.4 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Acer 8x2 GB DDr4 2400 MHz, 2GB DDr2
      • Hard Drive:
      • Dead
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI Nvidia GeForce GTx 980Ti Gaming 6G, ATi Mobility Radeon HD 3840
      • Display:
      • SAMSUNG SyncMaster T190 (1440x900)
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Generic old garbage
      • Keyboard:
      • Generic Bijoy USB Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech USB ....
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired, 8 PS2 controllers, Some other generic gamepads
      • Power Supply:
      • 850 watt Bronze Certified.
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung writemaster DVD Multi Recorder
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrives ?
      • UPS:
      • 1200v garbage that barely lasts 1 minute
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional 40+20+4 bits
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Can't maintain solid 60 FPS.
      • Comment:
      • Error: No network connection. Windows is checking online for solutions.
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 20 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 300 KB.s
      • Console:
      • 8
    Sami 1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    853

    Default

    Anti aliasing is less required on high dpi monitors. @Fox Mulder

    So if he's using 27" 4k, he might be able to go away with just Fxaa. Fxaa doesnt look that bad at 4k.

    And I already said, in fullscreenized window mode, even 1080p will look good on 4k. Because it wont look blurry, just pixelated like native 27" 1080p or any crt monitors.
    Need For Sync: G-sync

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.26187 seconds with 13 queries.