User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Peering with CDN's

  1. #1
    Member
    • NahyaN's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61M-S2V-B3/ Thermaltake Spacecraft VF-1 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 with Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • TeamElite 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB (Primary)/ WD Caviar Green 2 TB (Storage)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R9 380X Nitro
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19 Inch LED Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • AudioTechnica ATH-M40X
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • LiteOn DVD-RW 22X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 250GB Portable HDD
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Seren1ty gets the job done. Period.
      • ISP:
      • Earth Telecommunications
      • Download Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
    NahyaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    541

    Default Peering with CDN's

    So I have asked my ISP about peering with a content delivery network so that I can get high download speeds when downloading from steam and alike. My ISP is basically a local ISP that gets their line from Earth telecommunications.

    I guy I know at the local ISP asked me to send him an email detailing what I wanted, and that he would forward it to EarthTelecom.

    So I am asking here to know exactly how I should explain this situation with the correct keywords so that anyone can understand what I want.

    Basically I need 10MBps download speed from Steam/Origin/Uplay etc so that I dont have to wait 5 days for a game to finish downloading.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    @minitt bhai na @mr_08 bhai (ami bujhi kada ke, tag dite gele duijoni same lage D: ) tar ISPke jigges korsilo. Apparently it's a thinly guarded secret. Ask one of them (or both of them) about the transpire and @Asif_Z and @Swapnil since they're the resident nerwork wizards.
    My probable next build: Qisan MagicForce 68 (Outemu switch) / Teamwolf Zhuque+ 87 TKL (Outemu) / Monoprice Select series full size (Outemu/Gateron) / Drevo Gramr 84 TKL (Outemu) • Logitech G102 Prodigy • Deepcool Dukase V3 / Thermaltake Versa U21 • Superlux HD 681 • Creative Sound Blaster E1 • LG 22MP68VQ • SteelSeries QcK • Generic executive chair • others TBA

    djrock please don't bother me. You are in my ignore list so I don't have to see literal poop.

  3. #3
    Member
    • NahyaN's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61M-S2V-B3/ Thermaltake Spacecraft VF-1 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 with Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • TeamElite 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB (Primary)/ WD Caviar Green 2 TB (Storage)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R9 380X Nitro
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19 Inch LED Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • AudioTechnica ATH-M40X
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • LiteOn DVD-RW 22X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 250GB Portable HDD
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Seren1ty gets the job done. Period.
      • ISP:
      • Earth Telecommunications
      • Download Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
    NahyaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    @minitt bhai na @mr_08 bhai (ami bujhi kada ke, tag dite gele duijoni same lage D: ) tar ISPke jigges korsilo. Apparently it's a thinly guarded secret. Ask one of them (or both of them) about the transpire and @Asif_Z and @Swapnil since they're the resident nerwork wizards.
    Thanks for doing all the tagging. Asking the same question to all mentioned.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sybaris Caesar View Post
    @minitt bhai na @mr_08 bhai (ami bujhi kada ke, tag dite gele duijoni same lage D: ) tar ISPke jigges korsilo. Apparently it's a thinly guarded secret. Ask one of them (or both of them) about the transpire and @Asif_Z and @Swapnil since they're the resident nerwork wizards.
    Lol.........wizard. I just know how to run traceroute.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by NahyaN View Post
    Thanks for doing all the tagging. Asking the same question to all mentioned.
    Just write what you wrote on the first post, and mention "Akamai" as an example for the CDNs you are talking about. And hope that your connection doesn't get cut off for asking this like what happened to minitt vai.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Trave160's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B350M Mortar AM4
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 5 1600
      • RAM:
      • 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 3TB Western Digital red
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS Strix GTX 960 4G
      • Display:
      • Dell S2216H 22 Inch monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • None
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Speaker
      • Keyboard:
      • TtEsports Knucker
      • Controller:
      • PS4 Dualshock 4 controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart SE 630W Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung 24X DVD-RW Drive(Defunct)
      • USB Devices:
      • Pendrive 4GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Toaster rig arisen to Ultra toaster with chisel abs.
      • ISP:
      • NunuCom Ltd, Penus group
      • Download Speed:
      • Super San 200kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 105*2
      • Console:
      • 130
    Trave160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    A Secure Area
    Posts
    7,742

    Default

    Thing is you won't always get 10MBps, cause one. It's like Google cache it's being shared to other people as well so at times the speed will drastically be low or really high. Some ISPs tend to cap CDN peers just to maintain use for their clients like AmberIT per say. Me using Dot I would get 10MBps of CDN but only during daytime, in holidays however that's not entirely the case since people will use their servers more and CDN will become less available for myself.

    The provider for CDN is Akamai only in this Country, however whose providing it for ISPs will depend. It's kind of a third party thing. If you want to know which ISP is providing such speed, go check websites that peer CDN a lot more, like Filehippo, Steamcommunity, Speed.com or Origin.com. Use your Task Manager to monitor the bandwidth travelling, if you've received huge spikes and really fast loading then you can confirm it exists

  6. #6
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NahyaN View Post
    So I have asked my ISP about peering with a content delivery network so that I can get high download speeds when downloading from steam and alike. My ISP is basically a local ISP that gets their line from Earth telecommunications.

    I guy I know at the local ISP asked me to send him an email detailing what I wanted, and that he would forward it to EarthTelecom.

    So I am asking here to know exactly how I should explain this situation with the correct keywords so that anyone can understand what I want.

    Basically I need 10MBps download speed from Steam/Origin/Uplay etc so that I dont have to wait 5 days for a game to finish downloading.

    Thanks in advance.
    Here goes my 2 cents.

    Yah I asked earth telecom about Akamai caching since I couldnt get full download speed from steam, YouTube and they reacted by cutting me off.

    But then I managed to remind them about the service level agreement which they signed to get their license from the ministry. That scared them enough to restore my connection.

    If that wasn't enough I would've actually filed a formal complain at BTRC and pull all possible strings.

    The Complain link : http://www.btrc.gov.bd/complaintshelp-desk

    there is an assigned person who actually receives your call

    so, i was able to talk with one of the BTRC official and he advised me to make a summary of facts once I am done talking with earth telecom and then submit. The key fact is that if a service provider is in violation of SLA ( service level agreement), only then BTRC can take action.

  7. #7
    Member
    • NahyaN's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H61M-S2V-B3/ Thermaltake Spacecraft VF-1 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 with Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
      • RAM:
      • TeamElite 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB (Primary)/ WD Caviar Green 2 TB (Storage)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon R9 380X Nitro
      • Display:
      • Samsung 19 Inch LED Monitor
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • AudioTechnica ATH-M40X
      • Keyboard:
      • A4 Tech Multimedia Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • XBox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 550w
      • Optical Drive:
      • LiteOn DVD-RW 22X
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend 250GB Portable HDD
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Seren1ty gets the job done. Period.
      • ISP:
      • Earth Telecommunications
      • Download Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • ~2 Mbps
    NahyaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    541

    Default

    Wow thanks everyone for the great responses. I'll do what you guys mentioned and see what happens. Just hope I don't get cut off.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Sumit Pramanik's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus V Formula With ThermalTake Armor A60 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz with CoolerMaster Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX - F3-2400C10D-8GTX
      • Hard Drive:
      • SanDisk Extreme SSD 120GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB x 2, WD Caviar Green 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS GeForce GTX 960 STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab B70 Speaker System; Sennheiser HD598SE
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
      • Mouse:
      • Asus ROG Gladius II
      • Controller:
      • Don't need one..........
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta EX GPS-650AB B 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree S1250P 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional
      • Comment:
      • Up-gradation Completed. Online. All system stable. Now I can sleep.
      • ISP:
      • Quick Online (Earth Telecommunication Pvt. Limited)
      • Download Speed:
      • 4Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4Mbps
    Sumit Pramanik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    227

    Default

    As from my experience, my ISP gives me CDN Peering in Steam, origin, uplay etc. ISP is Quick Online and they use earth telecom too. Now as earth has CDN peering, you just have to ask via your ISP to earth for it. Go directly to earth and reaction will be like minitt bhai.
    We all fall down
    We live somehow
    We learn what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger

  9. #9
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumit Pramanik View Post
    As from my experience, my ISP gives me CDN Peering in Steam, origin, uplay etc. ISP is Quick Online and they use earth telecom too. Now as earth has CDN peering, you just have to ask via your ISP to earth for it. Go directly to earth and reaction will be like minitt bhai.
    local distributor will do nothing. Trust me.

  10. #10
    Member
    • Sumit Pramanik's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Maximus V Formula With ThermalTake Armor A60 Chassis
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz with CoolerMaster Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • GSkill TridentX - F3-2400C10D-8GTX
      • Hard Drive:
      • SanDisk Extreme SSD 120GB, WD Caviar Black 2TB x 2, WD Caviar Green 500GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS GeForce GTX 960 STRIX-GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab B70 Speaker System; Sennheiser HD598SE
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
      • Mouse:
      • Asus ROG Gladius II
      • Controller:
      • Don't need one..........
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta EX GPS-650AB B 650W
      • Optical Drive:
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree S1250P 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Professional
      • Comment:
      • Up-gradation Completed. Online. All system stable. Now I can sleep.
      • ISP:
      • Quick Online (Earth Telecommunication Pvt. Limited)
      • Download Speed:
      • 4Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 4Mbps
    Sumit Pramanik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    227

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minitt View Post
    local distributor will do nothing. Trust me.
    And earth will cut you of. we wouldn't have any place to go if BTRC goes away from us too.
    We all fall down
    We live somehow
    We learn what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger

  11. #11
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sumit Pramanik View Post
    And earth will cut you of. we wouldn't have any place to go if BTRC goes away from us too.
    Its ur call if u want to try or not.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.23641 seconds with 13 queries.