User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: About Dell ST2220L power card problem

  1. #1

    Default About Dell ST2220L power card problem (solved)

    Dear BG members, I have been using this monitor since 2011. A couple of months ago, suddenly, the monitor is exhibiting power supply problem & dead after few days. Unlike today's monitor, this have the card housed inside the main panel, and, I dismantled this & checked to confirm, the problem is indeed in the power module, not in the LCD Panel. So, the repair of this monitor is possible if replace this (power card/module) with a good one. Below snaps are posted for references.



    Dell ST2220L 21.5-inch FHD




    Power Card: 4h.17B02.A00

    Therefore, I'm requesting your support to know, where can I get a new/compatible power card for the above? Or, anybody knows, who repairs faulty SMPS power module of monitors/pcs.

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by SamH; January 31st, 2016 at 20:28.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    I actually have a dead SMPS board of HP LE1851W sitting right here on my desk. You can find replacement boards online, but the cost including shipping would be more than the price of monitor itself. And repairing a SMPS without proper testing tools and expertise would be next to impossible. I don't know any shop has either of those.

    On the other hand, I suspect in my case, the board's CCFL inverter is still working. I have separated the inverter part and SMPS part of the circuit, and actually planning to plug in a computer power supply's 5v and 12v line to the appropriate points of the circuit. If you want, I can post here how my experiment goes.

    Warning: Don't go probing with a multimeter when plugged in. Actually, don't even plug the board in when open. That big capacitor holds 322 volts even after unplugging the power cord.

  3. #3
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    I actually have a dead SMPS board of HP LE1851W sitting right here on my desk. You can find replacement boards online, but the cost including shipping would be more than the price of monitor itself. And repairing a SMPS without proper testing tools and expertise would be next to impossible. I don't know any shop has either of those.

    On the other hand, I suspect in my case, the board's CCFL inverter is still working. I have separated the inverter part and SMPS part of the circuit, and actually planning to plug in a computer power supply's 5v and 12v line to the appropriate points of the circuit. If you want, I can post here how my experiment goes.

    Warning: Don't go probing with a multimeter when plugged in. Actually, don't even plug the board in when open. That big capacitor holds 322 volts even after unplugging the power cord.
    Have you seen the 3rd leg of IC601? Seems normal to you?

    And by the way most SPMS actually has issues with capacitor, often times replacing them solves the issue.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks Swapnil and redwan hasan for your response.

    @Swapnil
    This is a LED back-lit panel, so don't have CCFL inverter, but have a LED driver unit in a separate PCB. I have checked both the HV & LV side, and found voltages till the big capacitor (c605). That is, its okay till the full wave bridge rectifier. It's possible, the switching circuit for the ferrite core transformer is gone, or the transformer itself is gone. But, there is no way to test in-house all of these. Here I labeled the snap for better understanding.



    That big capacitor holds 322 volts even after unplugging the power cord.
    Yes, thanks, I know that. So for handling I discharge this with a flat screwdriver always.


    @redwan hasan

    IC601 is TOP258PN (35Watt power supply IC), and its pin layout is okay; I mean, manufactured in that way. Datasheet link is below.
    http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/5827.pdf
    Last edited by SamH; January 31st, 2016 at 13:38.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Have you seen the 3rd leg of IC601? Seems normal to you?

    And by the way most SPMS actually has issues with capacitor, often times replacing them solves the issue.
    Looks like TOP258 doesn't have a pin there. And also it looks like there is a odd 90 degree bent jumper wire down there, which seems to be corroded somehow. Similar thing under the ceramic caps. Could be the reason for the problem, could be not.

    Quote Originally Posted by SamH View Post
    Thanks Swapnil and redwan hasan for your response.

    @Swapnil
    This is a LED back-lit panel, so don't have CCFL inverter, but have a LED driver unit in a separate PCB. I have checked both the HV & LV side, and found voltages till the big capacitor (c605). That is, its okay till the full wave bridge rectifier. It's possible, the switching circuit for the ferrite core transformer is gone, or the transformer itself is gone. But, there is no way to test in-house all of these. Here I labeled the snap for better understanding.

    Yes, thanks, I know that. So for handling I discharge this with a flat screwdriver always.
    You can try replacing all the electrolytic capacitors on the board. You can find another thread I've opened about a Samsung monitor. I got that one fixed by replacing all the caps. If the big bulk cap is holding charge, then no need to replace that as it might be very costly, but replace the smaller 1000uf ones and see if it helps. Also, if those jumper wires look corroded, try replacing them too. And finally, if all fails, try to find the service manual on the web. You can find circuit diagrams or at least block diagrams there, find out the pinouts of the LED driver board and mainboard connection, and see if you can replace this whole board with a ATX computer power supply. The main issue would probably be power on signal, or if the dimmer signal is passed through the SMPS board to the LED driver board. If that works, the setup will look like crap, but who cares about that if it works?

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Capacitors look okay to me, can't see the 68uF capacitor's top however but the thing is I'm not seeing much on this board that can be damaged or sign of damage except for the corrosion and as the datasheet suggest the 3rd pin is not even been used so I think its well and good there.

    You might wanna download the PCB diagram and check voltages on different points and compare it to the original design to see if you can figure out the damaged section, that's how I fixed my TV couple months ago, fortunately TV circuit diagrams are easier to find.

  7. #7

    Default

    Thanks both of you for your good intent to help me. Today, I visited Stadium market, got IC TOP258PN for BDT80.00, replaced in the board and problem solved.

    But, by this time, I already bought another Full HD dell monitor (22") from computer source. So, I have a penalty of BDT 12,000.00 for the incident.

  8. #8
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Capacitors look okay to me, can't see the 68uF capacitor's top however but the thing is I'm not seeing much on this board that can be damaged or sign of damage except for the corrosion and as the datasheet suggest the 3rd pin is not even been used so I think its well and good there.

    You might wanna download the PCB diagram and check voltages on different points and compare it to the original design to see if you can figure out the damaged section, that's how I fixed my TV couple months ago, fortunately TV circuit diagrams are easier to find.
    Sometimes electrolytic caps can still be dead when looking physically OK. That's what happened with my Samsung. And about probing for voltages in different point, that's how I blew up half of my HP's SMPS board. I was little bit careless though.

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SamH View Post
    Thanks both of you for your good intent to help me. Today, I visited Stadium market, got IC TOP258PN for BDT80.00, replaced in the board and problem solved.

    But, by this time, I already bought another Full HD dell monitor (22") from computer source. So, I have a penalty of BDT 12,000.00 for the incident.
    now sell me the FHD monitor for 5k
    anyway good to hear that.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Sometimes electrolytic caps can still be dead when looking physically OK. That's what happened with my Samsung. And about probing for voltages in different point, that's how I blew up half of my HP's SMPS board. I was little bit careless though.
    yeah I know or maybe the capacitance goes to point where it is not enough for the power supply. Good that you didn't blow up the entire grid.

  10. #10

    Default

    I only gone to repair the board after posting here in BG. Before that, I searched many places where I could get a replacement board, but failed. As SMPS usually non-repairable due to use of many Surface Mounted components. But, I'm lucky, only the switching IC was damaged in this case.

    BTW, both are FHD monitors. Older is TN panel, the newer is IPS panel. And I'm going to keep both.
    Last edited by SamH; January 31st, 2016 at 22:11.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.21988 seconds with 13 queries.