User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NEED Help asap with power brick

  1. #1
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default NEED Help asap with power brick

    I got a Xbox 360 Slim from US today and I didn't notice the required voltage labeled on the power brick was upto 127V. So without noticing first I connected it to a multi socket plug and than connected that multi socket plug to the socket in the wall. When I turned on the switch there was a small sound like 'DHAP'. And after this the socket board on the wall isn't getting any power.


    So my wall socket is busted. And I am mostly worried if the Xbox's power brick is busted too or not. Can anybody tell me what happened please..


    Tomorrow I am thinking of getting a step down voltage converter to try it again. Is that a good idea?


    Please let me know. I am worried sick here.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sameev29 View Post
    I got a Xbox 360 Slim from US today and I didn't notice the required voltage labeled on the power brick was upto 127V. So without noticing first I connected it to a multi socket plug and than connected that multi socket plug to the socket in the wall. When I turned on the switch there was a small sound like 'DHAP'. And after this the socket board on the wall isn't getting any power.


    So my wall socket is busted. And I am mostly worried if the Xbox's power brick is busted too or not. Can anybody tell me what happened please..


    Tomorrow I am thinking of getting a step down voltage converter to try it again. Is that a good idea?


    Please let me know. I am worried sick here.
    Look for a blown fuse or a tripped circuit breaker for the wall socket. It might be in the socket or in a separate breaker board somewhere in your house. If you can't find one, you'll obviously need an electrician.

    And for the power brick, there is 50/50 chance that it is still ok. Only way to test it is to use the step down converter you are planning to get and see if it works. But if I were in your place I wouldn't plug the brick into the Xbox 360 without testing. I'd first get a multi-meter and check the output voltage of the brick first.

  3. #3
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    Look for a blown fuse or a tripped circuit breaker for the wall socket. It might be in the socket or in a separate breaker board somewhere in your house. If you can't find one, you'll obviously need an electrician.

    And for the power brick, there is 50/50 chance that it is still ok. Only way to test it is to use the step down converter you are planning to get and see if it works. But if I were in your place I wouldn't plug the brick into the Xbox 360 without testing. I'd first get a multi-meter and check the output voltage of the brick first.

    Okay I was looking through the web and found that it's possible the power brick is totally broken. I can buy one with 220V support. But what I am really worried is that if my Xbox 360 is damaged too along with the power brick. Is there any protection in the power brick to stop the damage only there?

    Do you know anything about this?

  4. #4
    Member
    • Swapnil's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z77
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz Turbo
      • RAM:
      • 16 (4x4) GB TwinMOS DDR3 1333MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7K160, 1TB WD Caviar Blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX 550-TI
      • Display:
      • 20inch 900p LCD (Samsung SyncMaster P2050)
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Shure SRH750DJ / JVC-HAS400B
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
      • Power Supply:
      • Seasonic M12II-750 EVO
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW-24B3ST crossflashed to LiteON iHAS-524B
      • USB Devices:
      • Do pendrives count?
      • UPS:
      • PowerTree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Old, but works.
      • ISP:
      • Plusnet Inc.
      • Download Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 875 kB/s
    Swapnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chittagong
    Posts
    1,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sameev29 View Post
    Okay I was looking through the web and found that it's possible the power brick is totally broken. I can buy one with 220V support. But what I am really worried is that if my Xbox 360 is damaged too along with the power brick. Is there any protection in the power brick to stop the damage only there?

    Do you know anything about this?
    I'm about 85% sure that your Xbox 360 is fine. Even without any serious protection the high voltage won't be transferred from the power brick to your Xbox.

  5. #5
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    I'm about 85% sure that your Xbox 360 is fine. Even without any serious protection the high voltage won't be transferred from the power brick to your Xbox.
    I hope you are right. I will let you know how it all goes. Thank you

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sameev29 View Post
    I got a Xbox 360 Slim from US today and I didn't notice the required voltage labeled on the power brick was upto 127V. So without noticing first I connected it to a multi socket plug and than connected that multi socket plug to the socket in the wall. When I turned on the switch there was a small sound like 'DHAP'. And after this the socket board on the wall isn't getting any power.


    So my wall socket is busted. And I am mostly worried if the Xbox's power brick is busted too or not. Can anybody tell me what happened please..


    Tomorrow I am thinking of getting a step down voltage converter to try it again. Is that a good idea?


    Please let me know. I am worried sick here.
    Haven't open up that particular power brick and don't even know the output voltage but as it has said 127V input and you did connect it to the 220V line maybe the internal fuse is blown, and as it is a SMPS power didn't get directly to the transformer so maybe transformer is okay too, and usually the main MOSFET or IGBT that is used for switching on primary side can really take a lot of beating(guessing microsoft has done stuffs right) so I think it is fine, might need a new fuse. Or if you are unlucky, maybe it is gone but no matter what output power shouldn't be out of it's operating range as it is nicely regulated, so I think your Xbox is fine.

    I used xbox live for many years using a transformer that steps down the 220V 50Hz to 110V 50 Hz and even though the input was maybe 110V 60Hz it worked fine.

  7. #7
    Member sameev29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swapnil View Post
    I'm about 85% sure that your Xbox 360 is fine. Even without any serious protection the high voltage won't be transferred from the power brick to your Xbox.

    Hey bro I got a 220v adapter and all seems to be working fine. Thanks for all the details. Really appreciated.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19531 seconds with 13 queries.