User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TV card buying help

  1. #1
    Member
    • Badhon_raj's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • G1.Sniper B6 / B75 D3H
      • CPU:
      • i5 4460 / i5 3470
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 / 3x4GB corsair XMS
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500GB Toshiba + 2TB WD Red / 1TB WD blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • HD 7770 GHz / R7 370
      • Display:
      • Philips 17'' 1440x900/ Samsung S22B300B
      • Sound Card:
      • on board / Asus Xonar DGX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic RP-HTF600 / Sony MH1c / Sony XB500
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech MK520 / K350
      • Mouse:
      • M510 / M570 + G400s
      • Controller:
      • Sony DualShock 4
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 500W / TT ToughPower 500w
      • Optical Drive:
      • DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Generic 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 / Win 10
      • ISP:
      • SB Internet
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Badhon_raj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,139

    Default TV card buying help

    Hi, Need to buy an internal TV card.
    Can anyone please suggest which one will be good?

    was thinking of this one.
    http://www.ryanscomputers.com/Avermedia-Su-1622

    any alternate suggestion?

    How about usb ones? are they good?

    Will be used on a desktop PC.

    I'm concerned about driver support. Currently using windows 8.1
    May update to windows 10.

    Any advice is appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Disclaimer: Not an expert about TV card.

    I have used 2 tv cards in my entire life time. One was internal and other is external.
    My internal TV card was from avermedia, bought it back in 2003. It was very very durable, i used it for 7 yrs before I replaced it with an External Gadmei.

    I really liked the Avermedia internal card a lot. It could capture and had fine tuning. But it used to hog a lot of resources unlike the Gadmei External.

    Overall the external ones are the better choice because the dont take up any resources (Computer). But the cheap ones have got really bad picture quality and tuning facility.

    Internal Card will take up a pci or pci-e slot depending on the model. You have to make sure you have slots available and you will have a gap between TV card and GPU, otherwise it can hinder the flow of air to ur GPU and make it very hot.

    USB TV Tuner will help solve that problem. But its more expensive.

  3. #3
    Member soul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    474

    Default

    Can anyone suggest me a tv card for my laptop. Actually I am using HP probook4430s. thanking you in advance !

    I'll start again
    And whatever pain may come
    Today this ends
    I'm forgiving what I've done

  4. #4
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    be aware of nasty electric surge from cable tv connection which might damage ur pc. seen at least 3 ppl got their system busted from internal tv card. So opt for external tv cards since they are safer. I used to use 1 as well back in 2001 by avermedia.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Badhon_raj's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • G1.Sniper B6 / B75 D3H
      • CPU:
      • i5 4460 / i5 3470
      • RAM:
      • 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 / 3x4GB corsair XMS
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500GB Toshiba + 2TB WD Red / 1TB WD blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • HD 7770 GHz / R7 370
      • Display:
      • Philips 17'' 1440x900/ Samsung S22B300B
      • Sound Card:
      • on board / Asus Xonar DGX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Panasonic RP-HTF600 / Sony MH1c / Sony XB500
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech MK520 / K350
      • Mouse:
      • M510 / M570 + G400s
      • Controller:
      • Sony DualShock 4
      • Power Supply:
      • Delta 500W / TT ToughPower 500w
      • Optical Drive:
      • DVD RW
      • UPS:
      • Generic 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 / Win 10
      • ISP:
      • SB Internet
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Badhon_raj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soul View Post
    Can anyone suggest me a tv card for my laptop. Actually I am using HP probook4430s. thanking you in advance !
    I bought AverMedia Hybrid Volar HD .
    It is serving me great.

  6. #6
    Member soul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    474

    Default

    AverMedia Hybrid Volar HD ...where this card can be found and what about price ? Anyway thanking you advance.

    I'll start again
    And whatever pain may come
    Today this ends
    I'm forgiving what I've done

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17610 seconds with 13 queries.