User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help with HDD

  1. #1
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default Help with HDD

    In short - Crystal Disk info showing

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDD Hitachi.PNG 
Views:	516 
Size:	863.0 KB 
ID:	37545

    Now, what should I do? Take it seriously and ditch this HDD? or I can do anything else?
    For information I had done surface test couple weeks ago. No bad sector was found then.
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Default

    move all data, try a zero fill. if it gets away okay then, but if it doesn't, take it serious.

  3. #3
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    move all data, try a zero fill. if it gets away okay then, but if it doesn't, take it serious.
    Already have moved all the data. What do you mean by 'zero fill'?

    - - - Updated - - -

    low level format?

  4. #4
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Have done zero fill. Still showing that caution. Pls advice. And also suggest a new drive
    .
    Last edited by fahimspider; November 6th, 2015 at 18:32.

  5. #5
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Do nothing. Just sit back and watch. If the count keeps increasing then it means the drive is slowly dying. In that case backup important data to a different drive/buy a new drive. You can still use this drive to store less important data. Windows should give you warning before your drive is totalled.

    1-2 months ago my 5 years old wdc blue drive's reallocated sector count kept increasing incrementally. I haven't done anything other than firing up crystaldiskinfo to check the s.m.a.r.t values weekly. Didn't face any problems either.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	reallocated sector count.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	96.4 KB 
ID:	37554

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Member
    • Shawon191's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte H-61
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3570s 3.1 GHz
      • RAM:
      • Corsair XMS3 4 GB DDR3 1600
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi 1 TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 660
      • Display:
      • Asus VX229H
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab M223
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt eSPORTS Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • SteelSeries Rival
      • Controller:
      • Logitech F310
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake TR2 500W
      • UPS:
      • Power Tree 1250VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Aamra Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 4 mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 3 mbps
    Shawon191's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_3.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	161.9 KB 
ID:	37555

    Seems like we got some similar results.

  8. #8
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shawon0418 View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_3.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	161.9 KB 
ID:	37555

    Seems like we got some similar results.
    My reallocated sector count is 8.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    how old is it?
    4 yrs

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    4 yrs
    time for update.

  10. #10
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    time for update.
    Suggest a 2 tb HDD

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    Suggest a 2 tb HDD
    tagging @minitt , he is running a 2TB HDD from toshiba. I will opt for that one.
    If you intend to take 1TB by any chance go for wd 10ezex, an excellent hdd, i'm using one.
    Last edited by [email protected]$t3rz3r0; November 7th, 2015 at 01:51.

  12. #12
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    Suggest a 2 tb HDD
    If you need the HDD to be ur primary system Hard Disk then go for 1TB Western Digital Blue. Its the most reliable HDD I have every used.
    Otherwise Buy 2GB WD Green or 2GB Seagate.

    I never had any good experience with Hitachi or Toshiba, so I stay away from them.

  13. #13
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Won't recommend Seagate. Too many of their drives fail after 2-3 years of usage.

    I agree that western digital's 1tb blue is one of the most reliable drives I've ever used. If space is not an issue I highly recommend it.

    In 2tb segment only 2 brands are reliable, western digital and hgst. If you're buying western digital green then I recommend you disable the auto parking feature after buying them. My ezrx's load/unload cycle count has been increasing rapidly. Also with auto park on you'll get sluggish performance if you use them as system drive, since they tend to park very often.

  14. #14
    Member
    • fahimspider's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67A GD65(B3)
      • CPU:
      • I5 2400 @ 3.4 GHZ Cooled by CM Hyper 412 Slim
      • RAM:
      • TWINMOS 8 GB 1600 BUS
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCEND 128 GB SSD, 2 TB WD SATA III BLACK, 1 TB HITACHI
      • Graphics Card:
      • Saphire ATI HD 7950 Dual-X
      • Display:
      • HP 18.5 INCH LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built In
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt E-sports Knucker
      • Mouse:
      • Tt Theron mouse
      • Controller:
      • Razer Nostromo
      • Power Supply:
      • THERMALTAKE SMART MODULAR 650 WATT
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DVD RW. HP DVD ROM
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 1200 VA
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 7 64 BIT
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • 7.5 WEI
      • Comment:
      • ROCKING
      • ISP:
      • SmileBD
      • Download Speed:
      • 300-600kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 250-450kbps
    fahimspider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rexron View Post
    Won't recommend Seagate. Too many of their drives fail after 2-3 years of usage.

    I agree that western digital's 1tb blue is one of the most reliable drives I've ever used. If space is not an issue I highly recommend it.

    In 2tb segment only 2 brands are reliable, western digital and hgst. If you're buying western digital green then I recommend you disable the auto parking feature after buying them. My ezrx's load/unload cycle count has been increasing rapidly. Also with auto park on you'll get sluggish performance if you use them as system drive, since they tend to park very often.
    HGST available in market? price range?

  15. #15
    Member
    • _batman's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • msi Z87-GD65 inside Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed Edition
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 Devil's Canyon with CM Hyper 212X
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill TridentX 8GB DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Transcend SSD720, WDC20EZRX, WDC 10EZEX, WDC 5000AAKX
      • Graphics Card:
      • msi gaming x rx480
      • Display:
      • Viewsonic VX2270S 21.5'' IPS LED + Philips
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC 1150 with Creative SBC
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Piston 3 (Dead), Iron Ring Pro, Iron Ring HD
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech K120, Blackwidow X Chroma
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A6, Logitech M557
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 (Dead)
      • Power Supply:
      • CM V650 Semi-Modular (80+ gold, active PFC)
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus
      • USB Devices:
      • WD My Passport, My Passport Ultra
      • UPS:
      • Powerguard 1200 volt-ampere simulated sinewave
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Windows 10
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • - ? -
      • Comment:
      • So... many... X
      • ISP:
      • Link3
      • Download Speed:
      • ~500KBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 1/2 of download
    _batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fahimspider View Post
    HGST available in market? price range?
    Not available in the market as far as I know, though I don't know if any specific shop imports them or not.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.25353 seconds with 14 queries.