User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: Best GPU compatible with old build?

  1. #1
    Member intisar.hasnain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    72

    Question Best GPU compatible with old build?

    Posting on behalf of an young uncle.
    He badly needs to get the most graphics out of his old rig. (For graphical softwares, 2D, 3D) aage naki nvidia ekta chalaise, doesn't know which one)
    And he won't spend anything on the pc upgrade.
    He's like get me the most compatible card to work it's ¤¤¤ of.. 2nd hand holeo nibe.. I couldn't explain to him that an estimated budget is also required to determine that.
    Jai hok, BG ppl please do help :3 Suggest a card with mrp.
    Here's his config : And a TT TR2 420W PSU
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12067278_1113005192050495_1066287757_n.jpg 
Views:	1279 
Size:	78.5 KB 
ID:	37463
    Ashes 2009 Bangladesh 2013 Kits and Facepack by me : Click Here

    Don Bradman Cricket 14: A Game As legendary As it's Name...
    Check my pc wallpapers for This Game: Click Here

  2. #2
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Considering that the PSU is the limiting factor here the best option is GTX 960.

    P.S. For better result please give more details about the PC. This crappy cell pic doesn't let our much info. You should have atleast used CPU-Z

  3. #3
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    get 950 or 960..

  4. #4

    Default

    A GTX 960 should run just fine with 420W PSU. MSI, Gigabyte, Asus got GTX 960 cards and its different variants ranged from around 21K to 25K.

    I actually don't know various complicated and technical computer related terms so I may be wrong but judging by your uncle's PC configuration, I think there will be CPU bottleneck if a graphics card with relatively new technology is installed on this system. This term is used mostly for gaming as far as I know but CPU bottleneck might occur for graphics intensive works too. However C2Q CPU should do alright with GTX 960 for graphics rendering stuffs.

  5. #5
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    ya even a 260x gets bottlenecked by c2q... and 270 faces great bottleneck problem i blv

  6. #6

    Default

    OP: furiousTaher is also saying that there will be CPU bottleneck with C2Q, so I guess instead spending on a brand new graphics card that costs around 20K-25K to work with C2Q CPU that will perform less than what the card would perform with a CPU with relatively new architecture for graphics intensive stuffs, I think your uncle can either go for a second hand card or if he could upgrade his whole rig that would yield the best result for working on 2D/3D rendering software.
    Last edited by Cynical; October 21st, 2015 at 01:53.

  7. #7
    Member
    • kaziishan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K (Thermaltake Frio OCK CPU Cooler)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury White DDR3-1866
      • Hard Drive:
      • 240GB Zotac ZTSSD-A5P Premium, 1TB Toshiba (x2 RAID 1), 2TB Toshiba (x2)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB OC (Core:1390MHz, Memory:2000MHz)
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5" FHD IPS FreeSync 75Hz, ViewSonic VX2263S 21.5" FHD IPS 60Hz
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A35
      • Keyboard:
      • FL-ESports Mechanical Armor
      • Mouse:
      • Mad Catz R.A.T.3 Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM1000 80+ Gold
      • USB Devices:
      • PNY Turbo 3.0 64GB USB Flash Drive (R:105MBps, W: 58MBps)
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Thermaltake Suppressor F51 Case
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8mbps
    kaziishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    698

    Default

    How about a 7770/7750 or a 560Ti/550Ti? I don't know the exact power requirement for those cards though?

    And here's some interesting 2nd hand deals. Get advice from others before getting any of those.

    1. XFX HD 5850
    2. Sapphire HD 7770
    3. Asus GTX 550TI


    I have used the Sapphire HD 7770 myself. Had a solid experience. Last game that I played was Dragon Age: Inquisition (settings were like med to high and res was 1366x768). It should not get bottlenecked by C2Q.
    Last edited by kaziishan; October 21st, 2015 at 01:48.

  8. #8
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    ya even a 260x gets bottlenecked by c2q... and 270 faces great bottleneck problem i blv
    WHAT??? Really!!!! A meager 260X shouldn't gets bottle necked by C2Q. I am pretty sure something else has to be the limiting factor. Even 270 shouldn't be held back by C2Q Q8400.

    GTX 680 was on par with C2Q Q8400, Since 260X or 270 or Gtx 960 is better than 680 it shouldn't get bottle neck
    Last edited by mithun12ka4; October 21st, 2015 at 02:09.

  9. #9
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Nvidia 750Ti!

  10. #10
    Member
    • furiousTaher's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus z170p || Asus p8 P67m pro
      • CPU:
      • i7 6700k || i5 2400
      • RAM:
      • 2 x Ripjaws 8gb 3200C16D 16GVKB || (Transcend 4gb + Adata 4gb) 1333
      • Hard Drive:
      • Evo 850 250gb + Toshiba 2tb || WD 500gb blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac gtx 1060 amp || Sapphire r7 260x 1GB
      • Display:
      • Asus vx229h ||Samsung 21.5" S22A300B
      • Sound Card:
      • Xonar dgx
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 223 || AltecLansing VS2621 + a4tech hs100
      • Mouse:
      • a4tech x7
      • Power Supply:
      • Adata HM 850w || Thermaltek 600 TR2 S
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus dvd writer 24x max
      • USB Devices:
      • Phantom 240 red/black || Vatyn 664b (Tyrannosaurus)
      • UPS:
      • Power guard 1200va
      • Comment:
      • :D
    furiousTaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    8,151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mithun12ka4 View Post
    WHAT??? Really!!!! A meager 260X shouldn't gets bottle necked by C2Q. I am pretty sure something else has to be the limiting factor. Even 270 shouldn't be held back by C2Q Q8400.

    GTX 680 was on par with C2Q Q8400, Since 260X or 270 or Gtx 960 is better than 680 it shouldn't get bottle neck
    do u know even core i3 3rd gen makes 270 held back? welcome to amd driver optimization.

  11. #11
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    do u know even core i3 3rd gen makes 270 held back? welcome to amd driver optimization.
    Never seen an 270 be held back by i3. Something else is at play here. AMD drivers arnt that bad.

  12. #12
    Member
    • kaziishan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K (Thermaltake Frio OCK CPU Cooler)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury White DDR3-1866
      • Hard Drive:
      • 240GB Zotac ZTSSD-A5P Premium, 1TB Toshiba (x2 RAID 1), 2TB Toshiba (x2)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB OC (Core:1390MHz, Memory:2000MHz)
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5" FHD IPS FreeSync 75Hz, ViewSonic VX2263S 21.5" FHD IPS 60Hz
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A35
      • Keyboard:
      • FL-ESports Mechanical Armor
      • Mouse:
      • Mad Catz R.A.T.3 Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM1000 80+ Gold
      • USB Devices:
      • PNY Turbo 3.0 64GB USB Flash Drive (R:105MBps, W: 58MBps)
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Thermaltake Suppressor F51 Case
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8mbps
    kaziishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    do u know even core i3 3rd gen makes 270 held back? welcome to amd driver optimization.
    I have found this kind of result not long ago. A core i3 2100 does not get bottlenecked by a R7 360, but it gets real close (like 100% gpu use with 90-95% cpu use). Specially, in GTA 5 and Far Cry 4, that cpu really gets very close to bottlenecking.

    I am gonna test a i3 2120 with a r9 270x within 3-4 days. The result should be interesting then.

  13. #13
    Member intisar.hasnain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mithun12ka4 View Post
    Considering that the PSU is the limiting factor here the best option is GTX 960.

    P.S. For better result please give more details about the PC. This crappy cell pic doesn't let our much info. You should have atleast used CPU-Z
    Bro, ami tulinai .. He sent me this.. and dxdiag shikhaisi onek kosto kore..

    Quote Originally Posted by furiousTaher View Post
    ya even a 260x gets bottlenecked by c2q... and 270 faces great bottleneck problem i blv
    yeah, mainly bottlenecking niye pera khabe dekhei ei post..

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Nvidia 750Ti!
    you sure with that processor+psu+card compatibility?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Cynical View Post
    I think your uncle can either go for a second hand card or if he could upgrade his whole rig that would yield the best result for working on 2D/3D rendering software.
    Exactly my point.. But eita take kemne bujhai .. If you know what i mean, made up his mind..
    Ashes 2009 Bangladesh 2013 Kits and Facepack by me : Click Here

    Don Bradman Cricket 14: A Game As legendary As it's Name...
    Check my pc wallpapers for This Game: Click Here

  14. #14
    Member
    • Ehsas's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97-G45
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB/Samsung Evo Pro (1TB SSD)
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA Superclocked ACX GTX 980 dual SLI
      • Display:
      • LG 34UM95
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Razer Kraken Pro (green)
      • Keyboard:
      • Rosewill STRIKER RK-6000
      • Mouse:
      • perrix mx(old one) not sure the model
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360's controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Snow Silent Seasonic 750w
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 38096
      • Upload Speed:
      • 9096
    Ehsas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    you could go with an r7 250X or spend a bit more and get 750Ti.

  15. #15
    Member intisar.hasnain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ehsas View Post
    you could go with an r7 250X or spend a bit more and get 750Ti.
    sounds, convincing (y)


    Thanks to all of you.. I'll convey the suggestions to him soon..
    Ashes 2009 Bangladesh 2013 Kits and Facepack by me : Click Here

    Don Bradman Cricket 14: A Game As legendary As it's Name...
    Check my pc wallpapers for This Game: Click Here

  16. #16
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaziishan View Post
    I have found this kind of result not long ago. A core i3 2100 does not get bottlenecked by a R7 360, but it gets real close (like 100% gpu use with 90-95% cpu use). Specially, in GTA 5 and Far Cry 4, that cpu really gets very close to bottlenecking.

    I am gonna test a i3 2120 with a r9 270x within 3-4 days. The result should be interesting then.
    100% GPU 90-95% CPU usage still doesn't mean that CPU is causing a bottleneck. Now some games tend to use more CPU than others. While playing GTA V even I noticed that at times CPU usage gets pretty high while the GPU demand is low. Now one may say that the CPU is bottlenecking the GPU but that statement wouldnt be true. Its is the CPU bottlenecking the game. We gamers tend to forget that Games needs to do so much more than render polygons. Such bottlenecks can be confirmed by simply raising the graphics quality and experiencing no drop in FPS.

    And sometimes its just ur stupid anti virus hogging resources.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by intisar95 View Post
    Bro, ami tulinai .. He sent me this.. and dxdiag shikhaisi onek kosto kore..
    Oh I am very sorry to hear that.... You are a good nephew.... God help you!!!!

  17. #17
    Member
    • kaziishan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K (Thermaltake Frio OCK CPU Cooler)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury White DDR3-1866
      • Hard Drive:
      • 240GB Zotac ZTSSD-A5P Premium, 1TB Toshiba (x2 RAID 1), 2TB Toshiba (x2)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB OC (Core:1390MHz, Memory:2000MHz)
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5" FHD IPS FreeSync 75Hz, ViewSonic VX2263S 21.5" FHD IPS 60Hz
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A35
      • Keyboard:
      • FL-ESports Mechanical Armor
      • Mouse:
      • Mad Catz R.A.T.3 Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM1000 80+ Gold
      • USB Devices:
      • PNY Turbo 3.0 64GB USB Flash Drive (R:105MBps, W: 58MBps)
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Thermaltake Suppressor F51 Case
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8mbps
    kaziishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mithun12ka4 View Post
    100% GPU 90-95% CPU usage still doesn't mean that CPU is causing a bottleneck. Now some games tend to use more CPU than others. While playing GTA V even I noticed that at times CPU usage gets pretty high while the GPU demand is low. Now one may say that the CPU is bottlenecking the GPU but that statement wouldnt be true. Its is the CPU bottlenecking the game. We gamers tend to forget that Games needs to do so much more than render polygons. Such bottlenecks can be confirmed by simply raising the graphics quality and experiencing no drop in FPS.

    And sometimes its just ur stupid anti virus hogging resources.
    I didn't say cpu was bottlenecking. I said it was close to and I was surprised by it. I also said that this was specially happening with GTA V and Far Cry 4.

    In another case (don't laugh please), it was a C2D with 3GB RAM and a HD 6570 (vram and gpu both OCed until reaching Afterburner's unofficial OC limit). I could run GTA V at 20-25 FPS but never dipping below 20. The resolution was 1366x768; funny thing is that even with 800x600 res, I could not gain 30FPS. Then, I discovered the CPU & RAM bottleneck for the first time. CPU was at 100%, RAM was at 2.5-2.8GB, but the gpu was at 70% highest. Seriously, before that, I thought CPU can only bottleneck if someone uses a 980Ti with a core i3. But, that meager 6570 achieved 25-35FPS in a i7 with 8GB ram (same graphical settings).

    [Please, don't ask me how that machine ran GTA V, I can only say it is still running and the game has been finished twice till now...]

    And, it was a clean install with defender turned off. So, I think my stupid OS was hogging all the resources; should've used Linux.

  18. #18
    Member
    • mithun12ka4's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte B75M-D3H
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i3-3220
      • RAM:
      • Transend 4x2 Gb 1600Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and Seagate Barracuda 3TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 OC Dual-X
      • Display:
      • LG 22" Class Widescreen LCD (W2243T)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • FND 2.1
      • Keyboard:
      • A4-Tech ComfortKey KR-85
      • Mouse:
      • A4-Tech OP-620D USB
      • Controller:
      • Havit HV-G83
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair VS450
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaziishan View Post
    I didn't say cpu was bottlenecking. I said it was close to and I was surprised by it. I also said that this was specially happening with GTA V and Far Cry 4.

    In another case (don't laugh please), it was a C2D with 3GB RAM and a HD 6570 (vram and gpu both OCed until reaching Afterburner's unofficial OC limit). I could run GTA V at 20-25 FPS but never dipping below 20. The resolution was 1366x768; funny thing is that even with 800x600 res, I could not gain 30FPS. Then, I discovered the CPU & RAM bottleneck for the first time. CPU was at 100%, RAM was at 2.5-2.8GB, but the gpu was at 70% highest. Seriously, before that, I thought CPU can only bottleneck if someone uses a 980Ti with a core i3. But, that meager 6570 achieved 25-35FPS in a i7 with 8GB ram (same graphical settings).

    [Please, don't ask me how that machine ran GTA V, I can only say it is still running and the game has been finished twice till now...]

    And, it was a clean install with defender turned off. So, I think my stupid OS was hogging all the resources; should've used Linux.
    You finished GTA V while playing it at 25FPS..... oh dear lord. I dont know whether to praise you for that or curse you for carrying out such blasphemy.

  19. #19
    Member
    • kaziishan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K (Thermaltake Frio OCK CPU Cooler)
      • RAM:
      • 2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury White DDR3-1866
      • Hard Drive:
      • 240GB Zotac ZTSSD-A5P Premium, 1TB Toshiba (x2 RAID 1), 2TB Toshiba (x2)
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB OC (Core:1390MHz, Memory:2000MHz)
      • Display:
      • LG 22MP68VQ-P 21.5" FHD IPS FreeSync 75Hz, ViewSonic VX2263S 21.5" FHD IPS 60Hz
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative SBS A35
      • Keyboard:
      • FL-ESports Mechanical Armor
      • Mouse:
      • Mad Catz R.A.T.3 Titanfall Edition
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM1000 80+ Gold
      • USB Devices:
      • PNY Turbo 3.0 64GB USB Flash Drive (R:105MBps, W: 58MBps)
      • UPS:
      • Prolink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • Thermaltake Suppressor F51 Case
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Technologies
      • Download Speed:
      • 8mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8mbps
    kaziishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mithun12ka4 View Post
    You finished GTA V while playing it at 25FPS..... oh dear lord. I dont know whether to praise you for that or curse you for carrying out such blasphemy.
    Not me actually, but my best buddy. Though, he thought I have done some kind of miracle.

  20. #20
    Member
    • Ehsas's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97-G45
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB/Samsung Evo Pro (1TB SSD)
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA Superclocked ACX GTX 980 dual SLI
      • Display:
      • LG 34UM95
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Razer Kraken Pro (green)
      • Keyboard:
      • Rosewill STRIKER RK-6000
      • Mouse:
      • perrix mx(old one) not sure the model
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360's controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Snow Silent Seasonic 750w
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 38096
      • Upload Speed:
      • 9096
    Ehsas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaziishan View Post
    25-35FPS
    How dare you!! playing in console level fps while being a part of the master race? :O

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BDIX compatible.....
    By slayer420 in forum File Sharing and Torrents
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: March 28th, 2015, 12:17
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 20th, 2014, 04:21
  3. PCIe compatible GPU for G41M Combo
    By Ahmad_Saki in forum GPU
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2014, 15:37
  4. How to build a PC: Step-by-step instructions for a custom build
    By emroz_2272 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 19th, 2012, 15:52
  5. Compatible printer toners
    By REVx in forum Help - General Shopping
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 14th, 2012, 14:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.30413 seconds with 15 queries.