User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CL5 DDR2 vs. CL9 DDR3

  1. #1
    Member
    • RYDER23's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock H55LE
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 750 (4x @ 2.66Ghz | 8MB)
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4096MB DDR3 (1600MHz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX550-Ti DirectCU
      • Display:
      • 1440x900 Widescreen LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7-747H
      • Power Supply:
      • ADATA HM650 - 650Watt (80Plus Bronze)
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD-R
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 32bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Coming Soon...
      • Comment:
      • Something I can't live without....
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 60-90kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Maximum 20kbps
    RYDER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    59

    Default CL5 DDR2 vs. CL9 DDR3

    There is no separate sub-forum for RAM, so posting here. Today in the market I saw some cool RAMs.
    ADATA XPG 2000MHz DDR3 CL9 (not sure) kit (2GB+2GB=4GB) : 4800/-
    ADATA XPG 1600MH DDR3 CL9 (not sure) 2GB single pc. - 1800/-
    As we all know, the lower the clocks, the better. I was wondering, DDR RAMs are CL 2.5 and DDR2 are CL5.
    So, if I use Transcend Axe DDR2 1066MHz CL5 (not sure about timing, but its 5-5-5-something like that.) RAM and overclock it to 1333MHz, so will it be faster than a CL9 DDR3???

  2. #2
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    u cant use DDR2 ram in ur current setup.

  3. #3
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RYDER23 View Post
    There is no separate sub-forum for RAM, so posting here. Today in the market I saw some cool RAMs.
    ADATA XPG 2000MHz DDR3 CL9 (not sure) kit (2GB+2GB=4GB) : 4800/-
    ADATA XPG 1600MH DDR3 CL9 (not sure) 2GB single pc. - 1800/-
    As we all know, the lower the clocks, the better. I was wondering, DDR RAMs are CL 2.5 and DDR2 are CL5.
    So, if I use Transcend Axe DDR2 1066MHz CL5 (not sure about timing, but its 5-5-5-something like that.) RAM and overclock it to 1333MHz, so will it be faster than a CL9 DDR3???
    When Overclocking u will have to loosen the timings. Moreover DDR2 Provides lower bandwith than DDR3. The Vengeance should serve u better than ADATA XPG.
    Last edited by Rakin7; December 11th, 2011 at 20:48.

  4. #4
    Member
    • RYDER23's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock H55LE
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 750 (4x @ 2.66Ghz | 8MB)
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4096MB DDR3 (1600MHz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX550-Ti DirectCU
      • Display:
      • 1440x900 Widescreen LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7-747H
      • Power Supply:
      • ADATA HM650 - 650Watt (80Plus Bronze)
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD-R
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 32bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Coming Soon...
      • Comment:
      • Something I can't live without....
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 60-90kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Maximum 20kbps
    RYDER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EviL AnGeL View Post
    When Overclocking u will have to loosen the timings. Moreover DDR2 Provides lower bandwith than DDR2. The Vengeance should serve u better than ADATA XPG.
    My Vengeance are CL8 but 1600MHz. However the ADATA XPG has 2000MHz model, although CL9. Which one better bro?

    The XPG's have clock: 11-9-27 (http://www.adata.com.tw/?action=prod...&cid=5&piid=91)
    So my vengeance better ryt?
    Last edited by RYDER23; December 11th, 2011 at 20:52.

  5. #5
    Member
    • Rakin7's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Z77 Sabertooth
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5 2500k
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung F4 2TB and Crucial M4 128GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X 3GB GHz Edition flashed to R9 280X
      • Display:
      • Asus MS228H 21.5 LED Full HD 1080p and Sony Bravia CX520 32
      • Sound Card:
      • ASUS Xonar Essence STX
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 Ohms
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Meka G1 Mechnical Keyboard
      • Mouse:
      • Razer Deathadder 2013
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Smart M850
      • UPS:
      • Powerpac 1200VA backed up by Generator
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 with Media Center
      • ISP:
      • Link3 2.5 Mbps
      • Download Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
      • Upload Speed:
      • 325 KB/s
    Rakin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RYDER23 View Post
    My Vengeance are CL8 but 1600MHz. However the ADATA XPG has 2000MHz model, although CL9. Which one better bro?
    Ur vengeance CL9 e run korle 2000Mhz e jabe.

  6. #6
    Member
    • RYDER23's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • AsRock H55LE
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 750 (4x @ 2.66Ghz | 8MB)
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengeance 4096MB DDR3 (1600MHz)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 500GB 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS ENGTX550-Ti DirectCU
      • Display:
      • 1440x900 Widescreen LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Built-in
      • Mouse:
      • A4Tech X7-747H
      • Power Supply:
      • ADATA HM650 - 650Watt (80Plus Bronze)
      • Optical Drive:
      • ASUS DVD-R
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 32bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • Coming Soon...
      • Comment:
      • Something I can't live without....
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 60-90kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • Maximum 20kbps
    RYDER23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EviL AnGeL View Post
    Ur vengeance CL9 e run korle 2000Mhz e jabe.
    I see...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: September 26th, 2011, 12:54
  2. Sale (Used) Apacer 2GB DDR2 800FSB CL5
    By iceman™ in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 11th, 2011, 02:57
  3. radeon 5550 & DDR3 2GB or radeon 4650 & DDR2 4Gb
    By john_thehotice in forum GPU
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 29th, 2010, 00:06
  4. want to switch from ddr2 to ddr3
    By shoshe in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: May 21st, 2010, 22:45
  5. help me about ddr3 nd ddr2 ram
    By ЯV●@spret in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2008, 21:01

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.19194 seconds with 14 queries.