User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: overclocking CPU

  1. #1
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default overclocking CPU

    i have a p4 cpu 2.4 GHz, 400 MHz FSB, 512 KB L2 cache, my mobo is ASUS P4GE-MX. how much a 2.4 Ghz can be overclocked. i turned the cpu clock from 100 to 110 mhz so it runs now at 2.64 GHz. is it safe? i have only 1 extra fan that i took from a PSU. is it enough???

    i have 2 256MB DDR ram (400 Mhz). but the only difference is - one ram is CL-3 & the other one CL-2.5. If i manually select the DRAM timmings, will i get a better performance??? what does this timmings mean??

    though i have 2 400 Mhz rams, but during boot, BIOS shows :"Memory frequency for DDR266".

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    first of all, it has a agp 4X slot, which is instable at high speeds so see if the pci/agp clock is locked. do you see any such option in the BIOS?

    memory timings, in very simple terms, is the number of cycles (time) your RAM needs to respond to requests, etc etc to and from the CPU and northbridge. the lower, the better in general

    about RAM timings, CL3 RAM can usually be run CL2.5, but performance increase would be ~1-2%, depending on apps. you may try it if you want. Also, if you want to make sure the RAM is running at DDR400, see if the RAM clock can be manually set, or if theres a FSB/DRAM ratio of some sort in the BIOS. if there is one, set the ratio to 1:1. keep in mind the motherboard officially supports up to DDR333, so it may be unstable at DDR400. you should try setting the ram speed at 333Mhz, or a 3:2 FSB/DRAM ratio and see if it works then try DDR400

    and about how much the CPU can possibly be overclocked, it is a northwood core CPU which is very overclockable, and with a power draw of around 50W your cooler should be safe till around 2.8ghz-3.1ghz, depending on luck. increase the CPU clock by 3 increments, and test for stability. if it is stable, raise it by another 3. if the PC does not POST (you see a blank screen when you power up the computer) then reset the BIOS, either using a jumper (check the motherboard manual) or by opening the CMOS battery and connecting it again after 4 secs. then power up and see if it works

    If all this seems to much of a hassle, increase it sliiiightly (2 or so) and run the stability tests. and if it is stable be happy with that

    you will ensure about the PC being stable by using OCCT, and SANDRA memory bandwidth test would show you the increase in memory bandwidth after increasing the memory speed and/or timings

    make sure you do run the stability tests. you dont want the computer to restart in the middle of work

  3. #3
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    thanks for the reply
    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    first of all, it has a agp 4X slot, which is instable at high speeds so see if the pci/agp clock is locked. do you see any such option in the BIOS?
    there is only 1 such option called "auto detect pci clock", i set it to disabled.



    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    keep in mind the motherboard officially supports up to DDR333, so it may be unstable at DDR400. you should try setting the ram speed at 333Mhz, or a 3:2 FSB/DRAM ratio and see if it works then try DDR400
    if it officially supports DDR333, then when i select "dram timmings by SPD", i should run on DDR 333. because both of my rams are PC3200.isn't it?? and there is no ratio option(FSB/DRAM)

    but i have these option: CAS LATENCY(1.5-2.5), ACTIVE TO PRECHARGE DELAY(5-7), DRAM RAS# TO CAS DELAY(2-3), DRAM RAS# PRECHARGE DELAY(2-3).

    i have set all these to the lowest.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    other than "set DRAM timings by SPD", what other options are available?

    do not set the CAS latency below 3 if you run it at DDR400, or even DDR333. also, set DRAM RAS# TO CAS DELAY at 3 and DRAM RAS# PRECHARGE DELAY at 3

  5. #5
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    other than "set DRAM timings by SPD", what other options are available?
    there is only 1 more option, that is "Memory frequency for : [Auto]/[DDR266]".

    Quote Originally Posted by Mazhar View Post
    do not set the CAS latency below 3 if you run it at DDR400, or even DDR333. also, set DRAM RAS# TO CAS DELAY at 3 and DRAM RAS# PRECHARGE DELAY at 3
    during boot it shows DDR266,so should i set the above values or the lowest value available??

    i have no problem while running the 2.4 processor at 2.64Ghz, but when i set the clock from 110 to 112 & processor runs at 2.68Ghz, then after boot xp cannot find any sound card that is in control panel inside the "sound and audio devices" all options are grayed.
    at 111(2.66Ghz) sound card is detected but no sound output available that players play songs but i cant hear it, and at 115 system fails & after booting xp the blue screen appears.
    so, is it 110 that i can overclock to the highest?? but i read in a forum that 2.4 can be clocked to 3.1GHz.

    when i overclock the 2.4Ghz to 2.64, how much the FSB is affected??

  6. #6
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    Quote Originally Posted by saadbillah View Post
    there is only 1 more option, that is "Memory frequency for : [Auto]/[DDR266]".



    during boot it shows DDR266,so should i set the above values or the lowest value available??

    i have no problem while running the 2.4 processor at 2.64Ghz, but when i set the clock from 110 to 112 & processor runs at 2.68Ghz, then after boot xp cannot find any sound card that is in control panel inside the "sound and audio devices" all options are grayed.
    at 111(2.66Ghz) sound card is detected but no sound output available that players play songs but i cant hear it, and at 115 system fails & after booting xp the blue screen appears.
    so, is it 110 that i can overclock to the highest?? but i read in a forum that 2.4 can be clocked to 3.1GHz.

    when i overclock the 2.4Ghz to 2.64, how much the FSB is affected??
    it means your PCI and AGP is being overclocked along with the CPU clock, and if there is no PCI/AGP lock in the BIOS, then your out of luck. set it at 110 then, and test for stability and see if everything is ok

    at 110, the FSB would be 440. bandwidth increase would be around 5% i assume, and real world increase would depend on applications

    and at DDR266, set the values to the lowest(but CAS should be 2), and test for stability

    edit: youre being limited by your motherboard, not the CPU. the CPU itself can even be overclocked up to 3.4ghz or so, under air

  7. #7
    Member
    • Tian's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE P35-DS3L
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core2 Duo E8400 [3.00GHz, 1333FSB, 6MB L2 cache, 45nm]
      • RAM:
      • 4GB Transcend DDR2 800bus (Dual Channel)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SATAII 160GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE 8800GT TurboForce Edition [700Mhz. default core clock, 39.2 GTexels texture fill rate, etc]
      • Display:
      • 1280x1024 @PHILIPS 107B75/27 17" Flat.
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative 2:1
      • Keyboard:
      • Normal
      • Mouse:
      • Normal
      • Controller:
      • None yet
      • Power Supply:
      • FEEL4 700watt
      • Optical Drive:
      • BenQ 20x DVD RW+-
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • PC Wizard 2008=5774.00. 3D Mark 06 =14597.00
      • Comment:
      • I'm really satisfied. A perfect wokhorse.
      • ISP:
      • Local
      • Download Speed:
      • 18 KB
      • Upload Speed:
      • 15 KB
    Tian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dhaka, Cantonment
    Posts
    425

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    P4 in 2008???


    CROSS COM ACTIVATED!

  8. #8
    VIP Member
    • 's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • 6GB (2+4 GB) DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500GB SATA II 7200RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • NVIDIA GT335M 1GB
      • Display:
      • Primary 11.6", Secondary 20"
      • Controller:
      • Logitech RP2
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows(R) 7 Home Premium 64bit
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 128kBps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 128kBps
    Noob™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    mirpur-1, dhaka
    Posts
    5,343

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    so what?

  9. #9
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    if u can play warcraft & counter srtike in 2008, then why not p4??

  10. #10
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Unhappy Re: overclocking CPU

    after checking with CPU Z, it shows DRAM Frequency is 147 MHz though i have two 400 MHz 256 MB Ram. As far as i know minimum freq for DDR is 266 MHz, so why it shows 147 MHz
    Attachment 273

    Attachment 274

    Attachment 275


    one of ram is cl 2.5 and the other one is cl 3 written on its body, is that a problem??
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    its actually 147 x 2

  12. #12
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    Intels P4 Had gr8 potential therotically.. Those P4s where Supposed to clock in excess of 10Ghz. A 10ghz P4 still has the potential to beat a Core2 Duo. The only problem intel faced was Heat, which didnt allow intel to clock them higher than ~3.8Ghz!

    U can overclock ur CPU higher as long as the temp is not High
    Safe temp is Below 60 degree & unsafe is higher than ~80 !

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud– that has given us the word God

  13. #13
    Member
    • saadbillah's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D945GCNL | Intel GL40
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 GHz | Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0 GHz
      • RAM:
      • 2 GB | 2 GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • 120 GB | 320 GB
      • Graphics Card:
      • ASUS EN8600GT 512MB Silent Edition | Intel GMA4500
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • F&D F3000U 5:1
      • Power Supply:
      • Generic Crap
      • UPS:
      • Apollo 800VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows XP | Windows 7
      • ISP:
      • Qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 64
      • Upload Speed:
      • 18
    saadbillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    my cpu's heat level is safe. when normal internet browsing it is 35c and while running games at is 40c.[running the 2.4 c @ 2.64]
    but my mobo may be does not higher overclocking, after setting above the 2.64 xp cannot detect a sound card & @ 3.06Ghz pc does not POST.


    ### can be mobo bios file can be modded to add some extra feature?? like the FSB : DRAM option?

  14. #14
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    U can try updating the bios.
    Newer bios allows better tweaking & Usually has more features.

    Modding a BIOS is not easy!

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud– that has given us the word God

  15. #15
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    Like Mazhar said .. Ur Motherboard is limiting u from overclocin Higher.
    Update the BIOS and Pray that it has more Features!

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud– that has given us the word God

  16. #16
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    Quote Originally Posted by GiDDY_SOUL View Post
    Intels P4 Had gr8 potential therotically.. Those P4s where Supposed to clock in excess of 10Ghz. A 10ghz P4 still has the potential to beat a Core2 Duo. The only problem intel faced was Heat, which didnt allow intel to clock them higher than ~3.8Ghz!

    U can overclock ur CPU higher as long as the temp is not High
    Safe temp is Below 60 degree & unsafe is higher than ~80 !
    true, but leakage at higher speeds (increasing seemingly exponentially) never made it possible to push them high enough...

    which is why the Athlon64 X2's killed them

    and a P4 in 2008 is fine, provided what the user wants is being carried out. you dont need to waste money on anything if you dont need it, seriously

    then again, some people like wasting (this is not directed at anyone)

  17. #17
    Member
    • CHR.XR's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE Z170X-GAMING 7
      • CPU:
      • INTEL CORE i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • 32GB DDR4 G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 3000 MHz (16GB *2)
      • Hard Drive:
      • TRANSCAND 256GB SSD + 8TB (2TB x 4)
      • Graphics Card:
      • GIGABYTE AMD RADEON R9 290X 4GB
      • Display:
      • ACER 27 inch
      • Sound Card:
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Steel Series V2 Full Size
      • Keyboard:
      • LOGITECH G510 + THERMALTAKE KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • LOGITECH G500 + BLOODY V3
      • Controller:
      • XBOX 360
      • Power Supply:
      • GIGABYTE 650 WATT PULSE 80+ Bronze
      • Optical Drive:
      • SAMSUNG DVD RW
      • Operating System:
      • WIN 10 Pro
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • NO IDEA
      • Comment:
      • ULTRA IN 1440P
      • ISP:
      • REALSTATION
      • Download Speed:
      • 8192 ~ 20480 Kbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 8192 ~ 20480 Kbps
    CHR.XR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    SHAMOLI,DHAKA
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    SET MEMORY TIMINGS AT 3-3-3-8 AND THEN FREQUENCY AT 1
    33 THEN SET THE FREQUENCY AT 120 AND LOCK AGP FREQUENCY AT 100MHz GIVE 0.08 EXTRA VOLTAGE TO THE CPU AND THEN IT WILL BE OVERCLOCKED AT 2.88GHz

    NOTE : MEMORY FREQUENCY RISE WITH WITH CPU FREQUECY
    NOTE: GET THE TEMP BELOW 60 C BECAUSE ITS A PRESCOTT


    CAREFULL AND ENJOY


    CHR.XR

    LIVE TO PLAY


  18. #18
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    read above

    his BIOS doesnt have a pci/agp lock, so its no good

  19. #19
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    there has been few rare issues where forcing incompatible ram timing causes permanent pll chip corrouption.

    i assume he has generic ram. iF it is hynix D43 ...dun bother changing the timing as these ram can only do high bus speed not tight timing. (@ Dat time hynix was widely available)

    btw if ur cpu has unloked multiplier then there is some headroom 4 OC.

    other than that u r out of luck buddy. If u could lock ur AGP bus then u couldve easily OC atleast 300-400mhz on CPU (considering good air intake on CPU)

    Besides ur CPU z report shows ur PC3200 actually underperforming as they r suppose to run at 200mhz (200x2=400mhz<-rated speed for pc3200) the reason is FSB:dram ratio is somthing other than the 1:1 ratio.

  20. #20
    Moderator
    • Mazhar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • building
      • CPU:
      • the
      • RAM:
      • new
      • Hard Drive:
      • pc
      • Graphics Card:
      • in
      • Display:
      • a
      • Sound Card:
      • month
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Sennheiser HD650/Shure SRH-840
      • Keyboard:
      • Sidewinder X4
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G300
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair AX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Sony 20X DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
      • ISP:
      • Talktalk Fiber
      • Download Speed:
      • 3400
      • Upload Speed:
      • 240
    Mazhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,904

    Default Re: overclocking CPU

    yes, he has a very limited bios, his (fixed) fsb:dram ratio can be seen in that cpu-z screenshot

    to be honest, id stick to whatever slight overclock he acheived. also i think his multiplier is downward unlocked, not upward..hes entirely outof luck i think

    and the D43 chips are notorious for their relaxed latencies at DDR333 speeds and above, but at his speed(294), i think even the D43 should do 2.5-3-3-8. only problem is, the performance gains would be very minimal

    OT: where do you live minitt?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 27
    Last Post: February 7th, 2009, 15:08

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.32157 seconds with 15 queries.