User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: facing PC issues that makes no sense

  1. #1
    Member
    • ochin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H61
      • CPU:
      • intel core i3 2100 3.1ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb ddr3 1333mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • sapphire 7850 OC
      • Display:
      • philips 224el2sb 21.5"
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake smart 550w
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 124kpbs
      • Console:
      • 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    757

    Default facing PC issues that makes no sense

    I know its like an essay but please help me out

    my pc config is

    i3 2100- 2nd gen
    msi-h61m-e33
    4gb corsair vengeance
    Sapphire 2gb 7850 gpu
    550W thermaltake smart PSU

    bought the pc back in 2012 only played multiplayer games like bf4,cod4,lol

    recently after a gaming session i left and when i came back there was a burning smell and the pc wouldnt boot it was stuck in a ON/OFF cycle. after a few hours the pc did boot but there were some problems im listing those down.

    1) After booting the pc runs fine till i start a game like league of legends whenever the game starts the pc restarts

    2)if i open the gpu and then play the game runs just fine, but after turning off the computer and turning it back on after a while the ON/OFF cycle starts and the pc boots only after a few cycles


    3) yesterday i took the pc to ryans for them to find out whats wrong(i have tried everything to find out whats wrong) but the pc ran OK even with the GPU!!!!

    4) after coming back i started a match in league of legends the graphics quality was set in low and the game ran just fine and IN GAME i maxed all the graphics settings and it ran perfectly until i finished the game and joined another. the funny thing is the pc restarts ONLY if i start the game in high settings but runs ONLY in low settings and this is a very peculiar problem.

    5) with the gpu the ON/OFF cycle is still there and takes a few cycles to boot

    many will say its a psu issue or gpu, i thought the same till i brought in a generic psu and started the pc without the gpu the On/off cycle was still there.

    my guess is its a motherboard issue but im not sure that is the reason im posting this HUGE list of problems so you the experts can help me out .

  2. #2

    Default

    Do you use ups? Check the power cable connected to the psu, reset mobo bios by jumper or battery. Check your mobo for burn marks.(opposite side as well)

  3. #3
    Member
    • GiDDY_SOUL's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • GIGABYTE B350 GAMING 3
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 1600
      • RAM:
      • 8GB Corsair Dominator RAM X2
      • Hard Drive:
      • 320GB Samsung F1 X2 RAID + PNY 240GB SSD
      • Graphics Card:
      • HIS R9 290 BIOS undervolt tweaked
      • Display:
      • LG 21.5' IPSHD LCD
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek HD Audio 8CH (Built-in)
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 5.1, Cosonic 775
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech Glaser / GiGABYTE GM-M8000
      • Controller:
      • Xbox360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cosair HX1050
      • Optical Drive:
      • None
      • USB Devices:
      • Transcend Jetstore 250GB
      • UPS:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Comment:
      • The Best Cost efficient PC of the Time..
      • ISP:
      • Doze
      • Download Speed:
      • 700
      • Upload Speed:
      • 700
    GiDDY_SOUL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,083

    Default

    Could be a partly damaged CPU VRM, Best way to check it would be to stress test the CPU.

    Giddy can be traced back to the same Germanic root *gud– that has given us the word God

  4. #4
    Member
    • ochin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H61
      • CPU:
      • intel core i3 2100 3.1ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb ddr3 1333mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • sapphire 7850 OC
      • Display:
      • philips 224el2sb 21.5"
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake smart 550w
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 124kpbs
      • Console:
      • 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    Do you use ups? Check the power cable connected to the psu, reset mobo bios by jumper or battery. Check your mobo for burn marks.(opposite side as well)
    how do i reset the bios?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by GiDDY_SOUL View Post
    Could be a partly damaged CPU VRM, Best way to check it would be to stress test the CPU.
    any suggestion on how to stress test?

  5. #5
    Member
    • Ehsas's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97-G45
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB/Samsung Evo Pro (1TB SSD)
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA Superclocked ACX GTX 980 dual SLI
      • Display:
      • LG 34UM95
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Razer Kraken Pro (green)
      • Keyboard:
      • Rosewill STRIKER RK-6000
      • Mouse:
      • perrix mx(old one) not sure the model
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360's controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Snow Silent Seasonic 750w
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 38096
      • Upload Speed:
      • 9096
    Ehsas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ochin View Post
    how do i reset the bios?
    http://www.wikihow.com/Reset-Your-BIOS

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ochin View Post
    how do i reset the bios?

    - - - Updated - - -



    any suggestion on how to stress test?
    Bios Reset : usually taking out the battery for couple minutes will be enough.

    Stress test: Use prime 95(!) or intel burn test.

  7. #7
    Member
    • ochin's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H61
      • CPU:
      • intel core i3 2100 3.1ghz
      • RAM:
      • 2gb ddr3 1333mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • 500gb
      • Graphics Card:
      • sapphire 7850 OC
      • Display:
      • philips 224el2sb 21.5"
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake smart 550w
      • ISP:
      • qubee
      • Download Speed:
      • 124kpbs
      • Console:
      • 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ehsas View Post
    thankyou

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by redwan hasan View Post
    Bios Reset : usually taking out the battery for couple minutes will be enough.

    Stress test: Use prime 95(!) or intel burn test.
    so far when i took out the ram the motherboard was giving out 3 beeps for the missing ram. bbut now the motherboard does not give out any beeps even when the ram is missing.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    • minitt's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Sabertooth Z170 S
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 6700K
      • RAM:
      • Corsair Vengence 3200mhz White Led
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung 830 (128GB) +1TB HDD
      • Graphics Card:
      • GTX 780 With Titan HS
      • Display:
      • Samsung KS8000 55"
      • Sound Card:
      • On board
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Yamaha Reference Monitor
      • Keyboard:
      • Logitech G710+
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
      • Power Supply:
      • Antec HCG-620M Modular
      • Optical Drive:
      • Nai
      • UPS:
      • dont need 1
      • Operating System:
      • Genuine Windows 10
      • ISP:
      • Shaw Cable
      • Download Speed:
      • 94Mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 20mbps
    minitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    dhaka
    Posts
    4,055

    Default

    Something has burned which is quite obvious. Check wall socket/multiplug/Fuse in PC power cable plug/power cable/PSU power socket @ochin

  9. #9
    Member
    • sensei's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte b250 hd3
      • CPU:
      • Intel I5 7400
      • RAM:
      • 8gb Gskill 2400bus
      • Hard Drive:
      • 1tb wdd blue
      • Graphics Card:
      • Gigabyte gtx 950
      • Display:
      • samsung 18.5inch (1360X768)
      • Sound Card:
      • built in
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Microlab 2:1 / monk plus , KZ ate HiFi
      • Keyboard:
      • a4tech normal keyboard KR-83
      • Mouse:
      • Bloody A9
      • Controller:
      • none
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master b500
      • Optical Drive:
      • Who use this nowadays Anyway?
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64bit
      • Comment:
      • Poor man's fortress
      • ISP:
      • Speed Tech Online
      • Download Speed:
      • 4mbps
      • Upload Speed:
      • 2mbps
    sensei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    3,510

    Default

    i think the multiplug you use should be checked properly and may be its a power supply issue as in under load like in low settings problem didnt occur but in high settings the gpu tends to go for more pressure on psu and it shuts down, try to run everything on different psu

Similar Threads

  1. The Sixth Sense
    By abir in forum Miscellaneous Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2010, 10:14

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.44422 seconds with 14 queries.