User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Getting a new router.

  1. #1

    Default Getting a new router.

    nothing!
    Last edited by [email protected]$t3rz3r0; June 3rd, 2017 at 16:41.

  2. #2
    Member
    • Muhammad Zunaid's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock H55M-LE
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • G Skill Ripjaws [4GBx2]=8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi Deskstar 500GB+1TB+ WD Cavier Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI 580 TwinFrozrII OC and XFX 9600GT xXx Alpha Dog Edition
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T220
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt Realtek Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt esports KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • Genius standard mouse
      • Controller:
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W [80 PLUS BRONZE]
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster 20x DVD-Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Lide110 Scanner
      • UPS:
      • RA 1000VA + Powertree 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Comment:
      • want to upgrade soon!
      • ISP:
      • LINK3
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Muhammad Zunaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    519

    Default

    hmm... wds cause link speeds to half due to it's implementation or sth... anyways, i am using a 841hp [main router] with a old 741nd [slave/repeater]. sometimes i have difficulty getting ip from the slave router. but getting close to the router makes getting ip address feasible, else can't obtain ip address...

  3. #3
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    Hello folks, I am thinking of getting a new router. As of now, tplink 841n and mr 3420 is in my choice list. Also the router will be used for wds(most of the time). 841n has got a known issue of not providing wifi N speeds over wifi. So if both of them provides same gain and coverage I would go for mr3420 or sth better available in 2.5k. So suggest me folks, and if anyone is using 3420 or 841, do post a review here.

    Note: Current one is wr720n.
    I still have a W720N, even after two stricken by thunder twice it still is functioning properly just it might get stuck sometimes, rare case though and even it doesn't have an external antenna it has pretty good coverage. I also use a SMC Barricade N router which is also nice, solid performer and both of them have very nice web page based control and has the necessary features like port forwarding and QoS, unlike some similarly priced Asus/Netgear routers which has really poor implementation of QoS.

    So like I will kinda repeat what I have said earlier on viber, just get either a good SMC/TP-link 300Mbps router, btw global brings SMC, probably. And use cable if you can because WDS is just too much hassle.

  4. #4
    Member
    • Muhammad Zunaid's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock H55M-LE
      • CPU:
      • RAM:
      • G Skill Ripjaws [4GBx2]=8GB
      • Hard Drive:
      • Hitachi Deskstar 500GB+1TB+ WD Cavier Black 1TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI 580 TwinFrozrII OC and XFX 9600GT xXx Alpha Dog Edition
      • Display:
      • Samsung SyncMaster T220
      • Sound Card:
      • Inbuilt Realtek Codec
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Altec Lansing VS4121
      • Keyboard:
      • Tt esports KNUCKER
      • Mouse:
      • Genius standard mouse
      • Controller:
      • Power Supply:
      • Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W [80 PLUS BRONZE]
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Writemaster 20x DVD-Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Canon Lide110 Scanner
      • UPS:
      • RA 1000VA + Powertree 650VA
      • Operating System:
      • Comment:
      • want to upgrade soon!
      • ISP:
      • LINK3
      • Download Speed:
      • 512
      • Upload Speed:
      • 512
    Muhammad Zunaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    519

    Default

    your main router is a 740n, right... so when you were using it as a standalone router [no wds yet], were you having stability issues?
    does your router get warm after more than 2-3 devices are concurrently connected and using the internet [e.g. 3 cell phones updating some apps, 2 laptops browsing the net or watching youtube videos or sth]. i found my old 741nd to get pretty warm for a router and then it would cause performance slow-downs... or it would get warm when many devices were connected at once...
    and isn't the mr 3420 an 3g/4g router as well. you don't need that, right? get the 841nd with detachable antennas and make it the main router and then configure the wds setup...

  5. #5
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zunaid View Post
    your main router is a 740n, right... so when you were using it as a standalone router [no wds yet], were you having stability issues?
    does your router get warm after more than 2-3 devices are concurrently connected and using the internet [e.g. 3 cell phones updating some apps, 2 laptops browsing the net or watching youtube videos or sth]. i found my old 741nd to get pretty warm for a router and then it would cause performance slow-downs... or it would get warm when many devices were connected at once...
    and isn't the mr 3420 an 3g/4g router as well. you don't need that, right? get the 841nd with detachable antennas and make it the main router and then configure the wds setup...
    It's a common thing in many routers, i usually add a 12V PC case fan to them with cardboards directing air through the vents, works just fine.

  6. #6
    Member
    • redwan hasan's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Asrock B75 Pro-3 M
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600 + CM Hyper 412S
      • RAM:
      • Transcend 1333MHz 16GB (4GB*4)
      • Hard Drive:
      • WD 2TB 6Gb/s, Hitachi 1TB 3Gb/s, Samsung 320GB 3Gb/s
      • Graphics Card:
      • MSI GTX660OC 2GB
      • Display:
      • Asus MX239H
      • Sound Card:
      • Built in Realtek ALC892
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Creative Inspire 2400 2:1, Skullcandy 50/50
      • Keyboard:
      • A4Tech KBS21
      • Mouse:
      • A4tech X7
      • Controller:
      • Generic XBOX Clone
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair CX750
      • Optical Drive:
      • Asus DRW 24 B3ST
      • UPS:
      • Power Gaurd 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 64bit. Ubuntu 14.10 x64
      • Comment:
      • Waiting on new system.
      • ISP:
      • Link3 5Mbps
    redwan hasan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    2,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Asif_Z View Post
    A relevant question: TP-Link router gulor backup & restore option use kore ki jekono router er setting jekono router e restore kora jabe naki kebol same router ei kaj kore?
    never tried really
    tobe mone jabe na
    kacha kachi model hole jeteo pare

Similar Threads

  1. Help with router
    By Foxtrol in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: May 17th, 2015, 03:26
  2. Sale (Used) TP-LINK TD-8840T ADSL2+ modem+router(lan not wifi router) FOR SALE
    By Yasinonic in forum Shop - Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 4th, 2015, 00:54
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 28th, 2014, 03:34
  4. router!
    By ss12 in forum ISPros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 28th, 2013, 06:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.17918 seconds with 14 queries.