User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using pirated game files for steam

  1. #1
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,980

    Default Using pirated game files for steam

    It took me a while to figure out the reason why i couldn't use files from pirated games to use in steam. At last i think i have found a solution. Problem is with directory name. Normally the pirates put any name to game directory as they wish. But steam only accesses the files only if the name matches to its directory info. For example when i pirated Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor, the directory name was the same "Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor" but in steam the directory name is ShadowOfMordor, for metal gear solid phantom pain the folder name is MGS_TPP etc. After buying from steam i saw that i couldnt use those files and i wasnt willing to download that 53gb of data again.

    So i looked for the steam appid of the game. You can find it in the temp folder if you start downloading the game (steamapps\downloading\appid). Take a note of the digits. Search the appid in steamdb.info. there if you can see your appid is matching your game then look for additional information. There you can get your dir name.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12.jpg 
Views:	1269 
Size:	190.9 KB 
ID:	37171Click image for larger version. 

Name:	34.jpg 
Views:	1208 
Size:	149.8 KB 
ID:	37172
    but beware that this information is not always available. For example, i saw metal gear solid the phantom pain's dir name yesterday but today i couldn't find it. Now stop downloading the game, delete any file/ folder downloaded in downloading/appid folder. Put your game files under the directory name you have found in steamapps/common/yourgamename and restart steam. Steam will automatically verify the game files and may download some files which are changed. And voila!!! you have saved a lot of bandwidth.

    This is not an official guide or anything. Just personal finding. If you have further information to add, you are welcome.

    edit: now i can see metal gear solid the phantom pain's installdir in configuration tab.
    Last edited by codename5302; September 14th, 2015 at 23:45.

  2. #2
    Member
    • cloaked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Vortex Series Clevo P375SM-A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 Quad Core Mobile Processor i7-4810MQ (2.80GHz) 6MB
      • RAM:
      • 16GB KINGSTON HYPER-X IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Kingston Hyper X 3k 240GB SSD (OS), 750GB WD SCORPIO BLACK 7200rpm, 1TB HGST Travelster 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • 2 x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M - 6.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX 11
      • Display:
      • 17.3 inch Matte Full HD LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
      • Sound Card:
      • FiiO E10K Headphone Amplifier and DAC , Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Superlux HD668B Headphones
      • Keyboard:
      • INTEGRATED BACKLIT KEYBOARD (UK) WITH NUMBER PAD, Newmen E370 Backlit Keyboard (US)
      • Mouse:
      • CoolerMaster CM Storm Inferno 4000 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired Controller, Xbox One Titanfall Limited Edition Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 330W AC Adaptor
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Portable USB DVD RW Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Corsair UFD3 COR Voyager GO 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Trancsend 32GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 600VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Professional (64-bit)
      • Comment:
      • I love my rig, does all the gaming....;)
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Fiber optic
      • Download Speed:
      • 130~
      • Upload Speed:
      • 80~
    cloaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    375

    Default

    It doesn't always work. Even if I get the folder name right steam still downloads from the beginning unless I have a backup of the app manifest file for the game.

  3. #3
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,980

    Default

    umm, i tried with 3 games now with deleting everything. even the manifest file you mentioned. but worked properly. which game didnt work? let me now please. if i have in my library, i will try it.

  4. #4
    Member
    • cloaked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Vortex Series Clevo P375SM-A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 Quad Core Mobile Processor i7-4810MQ (2.80GHz) 6MB
      • RAM:
      • 16GB KINGSTON HYPER-X IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Kingston Hyper X 3k 240GB SSD (OS), 750GB WD SCORPIO BLACK 7200rpm, 1TB HGST Travelster 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • 2 x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M - 6.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX 11
      • Display:
      • 17.3 inch Matte Full HD LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
      • Sound Card:
      • FiiO E10K Headphone Amplifier and DAC , Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Superlux HD668B Headphones
      • Keyboard:
      • INTEGRATED BACKLIT KEYBOARD (UK) WITH NUMBER PAD, Newmen E370 Backlit Keyboard (US)
      • Mouse:
      • CoolerMaster CM Storm Inferno 4000 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired Controller, Xbox One Titanfall Limited Edition Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 330W AC Adaptor
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Portable USB DVD RW Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Corsair UFD3 COR Voyager GO 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Trancsend 32GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 600VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Professional (64-bit)
      • Comment:
      • I love my rig, does all the gaming....;)
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Fiber optic
      • Download Speed:
      • 130~
      • Upload Speed:
      • 80~
    cloaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codename5302 View Post
    umm, i tried with 3 games now with deleting everything. even the manifest file you mentioned. but worked properly. which game didnt work? let me now please. if i have in my library, i will try it.
    I think it was far cry 3.

  5. #5
    Member
    • codename5302's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X99-UD5 Wifi
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5820K cooled by Custom Water Cooling
      • RAM:
      • 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400MHz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Samsung SM951 250GB, Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB, WD Red 6TB
      • Graphics Card:
      • Zotac 980Ti Amp Extreme
      • Display:
      • Iiyama Prolite XB2779QS, Acer GD245HQ 120Hz
      • Sound Card:
      • Fiio Andes E07K
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Logitech Z 5500/ Creative Aurvana Live/ Sennheiser HD558
      • Keyboard:
      • Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry Brown)
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G500S, Perixx MX2000B, Logitech G400S
      • Controller:
      • Microsoft XBox 360 Controller, Saitek P2600
      • Power Supply:
      • Corsair RM850
      • Optical Drive:
      • LG BluRay Drive, LG DVDRW Drive
      • UPS:
      • 2 * Prollink 1200VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64Bit
      • Benchmark Scores:
      • ????
      • Comment:
      • It works!!
      • Console:
      • 154
    codename5302's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,980

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cloaked View Post
    I think it was far cry 3.
    . far cry 3 is most probably not a steam game at all. it is a uplay game sold in steam. so steam launches uplay if you want to play this game. because i have far cry 3 on steam as well

  6. #6
    Member
    • Ehsas's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97-G45
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz
      • RAM:
      • G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 3TB/Samsung Evo Pro (1TB SSD)
      • Graphics Card:
      • EVGA Superclocked ACX GTX 980 dual SLI
      • Display:
      • LG 34UM95
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Razer Kraken Pro (green)
      • Keyboard:
      • Rosewill STRIKER RK-6000
      • Mouse:
      • perrix mx(old one) not sure the model
      • Controller:
      • xbox 360's controller
      • Power Supply:
      • Snow Silent Seasonic 750w
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64 bit
      • ISP:
      • Mazeda BD
      • Download Speed:
      • 38096
      • Upload Speed:
      • 9096
    Ehsas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codename5302 View Post
    . far cry 3 is most probably not a steam game at all. it is a uplay game sold in steam. so steam launches uplay if you want to play this game. because i have far cry 3 on steam as well
    So does this method only work for non Origin/uplay games?

  7. #7
    Member
    • Sybaris Caesar's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel DH61WW B3 Rev.
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 2400 3.10 Ghz
      • RAM:
      • Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
      • Hard Drive:
      • Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB 7200 RPM
      • Graphics Card:
      • Leadtek Winfast GTX 560 ti 1GB GDDR5 822/1644/4008
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • Keyboard:
      • Thermaltake Commander
      • Mouse:
      • Logitech G402
      • Controller:
      • Original Xbox 360 Wireless
      • Power Supply:
      • Cooler Master G550M
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung SH222 22x DVD Writer
      • UPS:
      • Orlando 800va(packet e lekha apollo)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
      • Upload Speed:
      • ∞
    Sybaris Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowy Warsaw
    Posts
    3,934

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ehsas View Post
    So does this method only work for non Origin/uplay games?
    What she clearly meant is "this technique only works for games sold in Steam and using Steam service" -_-
    My probable next build: Qisan MagicForce 68 (Outemu switch) / Teamwolf Zhuque+ 87 TKL (Outemu) / Monoprice Select series full size (Outemu/Gateron) / Drevo Gramr 84 TKL (Outemu) • Logitech G102 Prodigy • Deepcool Dukase V3 / Thermaltake Versa U21 • Superlux HD 681 • Creative Sound Blaster E1 • LG 22MP68VQ • SteelSeries QcK • Generic executive chair • others TBA

    djrock please don't bother me. You are in my ignore list so I don't have to see literal poop.

  8. #8
    Member
    • cloaked's Gadgets
      • Motherboard:
      • Vortex Series Clevo P375SM-A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 Quad Core Mobile Processor i7-4810MQ (2.80GHz) 6MB
      • RAM:
      • 16GB KINGSTON HYPER-X IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
      • Hard Drive:
      • Kingston Hyper X 3k 240GB SSD (OS), 750GB WD SCORPIO BLACK 7200rpm, 1TB HGST Travelster 7200rpm
      • Graphics Card:
      • 2 x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M - 6.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX 11
      • Display:
      • 17.3 inch Matte Full HD LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
      • Sound Card:
      • FiiO E10K Headphone Amplifier and DAC , Realtek High Definition Audio
      • Speakers/HPs:
      • Superlux HD668B Headphones
      • Keyboard:
      • INTEGRATED BACKLIT KEYBOARD (UK) WITH NUMBER PAD, Newmen E370 Backlit Keyboard (US)
      • Mouse:
      • CoolerMaster CM Storm Inferno 4000 DPI
      • Controller:
      • Xbox 360 Wired Controller, Xbox One Titanfall Limited Edition Controller
      • Power Supply:
      • 330W AC Adaptor
      • Optical Drive:
      • Samsung Portable USB DVD RW Writer
      • USB Devices:
      • Corsair UFD3 COR Voyager GO 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Trancsend 32GB
      • UPS:
      • Power Guard 600VA
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Professional (64-bit)
      • Comment:
      • I love my rig, does all the gaming....;)
      • ISP:
      • Link3 Fiber optic
      • Download Speed:
      • 130~
      • Upload Speed:
      • 80~
    cloaked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sylhet
    Posts
    375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codename5302 View Post
    . far cry 3 is most probably not a steam game at all. it is a uplay game sold in steam. so steam launches uplay if you want to play this game. because i have far cry 3 on steam as well
    It's not. But you still have to download through steam. Mine is activated on steam so I tried the method with a pirated disk I had but it launched download from start. I tried it again this time with the manifest file+ pirated files and voila it worked just download few missing files that's all.

Similar Threads

  1. Pirated game data with steam
    By Bousine in forum General PC Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 19th, 2015, 00:59
  2. Imsomniac files trademark for Another game
    By Trave160 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 28th, 2013, 09:39
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 15th, 2012, 13:10
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 18th, 2009, 03:18

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 0.22073 seconds with 15 queries.